We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (3)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby
Overview
  • Excellent96%
  • Very good4%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“leisure centre”(19 reviews)
“fresh fruit”(17 reviews)
“georgian house”(6 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
You may also like:
See all
Nearby
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Six Castlegate
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
192
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
192
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centrefresh fruitgeorgian housefree parking passbiscuits and bottled waterbright roomquince medlarlovely accommodationdelightful townperfect hostsfew minutes walkset us up for the daylovely bedroomexcellent breakfastlovely placelarge comfy bedtown centre
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
71 - 75 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We have stayed at Six Castlegate many times before, and are delighted to see that Mat and Sam are continuing the excellent high standards set by the previous owners. They are warm and friendly, and serve an excellent breakfast, especially their poached eggs! They are...More

Thank Managra
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Found Six Castlegate by accident on Internet . The pictures undervalue the actual reality. This is a quality listed property that is filled by the warmth and professionalism 9f the hosts Sam and Matt. Our room was well proportioned and spotless. Crisp new bed linen...More

Thank Paul L
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

Had a truly lovely Easter weekend. This is described as a b&b but feels like a high end boutique hotel. Most comfortable bed, brilliant breakfast. Location is perfect as you're so close to town but the rooms are really peaceful. If you're staying in the...More

1  Thank Jon P
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Had a gift of a trip to Lakes Distillery so chose Cockermouth as a nearby place to stay. Found Six Castlegate on Trip advisor -we were not disappointed. Lovely people lovely food and lovely accomodation. Highly recommended if you are planning a trip to the...More

1  Thank Malc-Andrew
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Stayed here twice in the last month and on our second visit we felt as if we were visiting old friends. Mat and Sam are doing a fantastic job in their new venture! Everywhere is spotlessly clean and decor is most relaxing. Rooms are equipped...More

1  Thank dizzydeborah
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Cockermouth
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
US$88 - US$133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
6
Reservation Options
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Six Castlegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Location
United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ann T
25 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Hashtagski | Property representative |
Hi Ann, I've replied to you via booking. Best wishes, Samantha.
0
Votes
RandSHowell
10 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Hashtagski | Property representative |
Hi, parking is at Cockermouth Leisure Centre, about 50m away from us. We provide you with a pass for your windscreen and you can park there free of charge for the duration of your stay. Best wishes.
2
Votes
Jean R
15 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Hashtagski | Property representative |
Hi Jean, huge apologies for the delay in responding to your enquiry. We do indeed have a single room, the price is £55/night including breakfast. We also offer single occupancy of a double room for £60/night including... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"We love the king-sized bed room, Blencathra, and stayed in it both our visits."
Read review
"Book early to avoid disappointment"
Read review
"Book early"
Read review
"We were very comfortable in Melbreak on the first floor, good bathroom, quiet and very spacious."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing