We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Queen's Head Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Queen\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 448: English reviews
Start your review of Queen's Head Hotel
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Clean and acceptable hotel. Breakfast let down by the lack of service, I ended up by going to find someone ! Let down by the extractor fan from the kitchen making noise most of the night. The wifi signal in the bedroom was very poor and was unusable for most of the stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
Queens H, Manager at Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Richard Thank you for your review. It is very rare we do not meet our guests expectations and would like to offer my sincere apologies to you. We have had issues with our WiFi lately and I can assure you this has been reported to our broadband provider. Unfortunately due to the age of the building noise can travel...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a really nice pub/hotel in the middle of Hawkshead. Great room and bathroom, all very clean and nicely decorated.Staff here are really helpful without being intrusive. Enjoyed the breakfast choices with a different hot choice alternative to the usual english breakfast. Particularly enjoyed the home made baked beans, egg and sour dough dish with chilli.Good selection of beers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
Queens H, Manager at Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hi John We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to serve you, we look forward to your next visit

England
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When we arrived at the pub it just looked like a bog standard pub but when we went into our room we were blown away - the room was absolutely huge and beautifully decorated, a very pleasant surprise! Luckily we'd booked a table in the restaurant for the night we arrived, good job as on the Saturday it was fully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LissaDEngland
Queens H, Manager at Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lissa Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and loved it! Rooms were finished at high standard all the staff was friendly. We especially enjoyed the daily tea cakes that were left in the room and the champagne at breakfast. Hawkshead is a good base in the Lake District

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnVV28
Queens H, Manager at Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hi AnVV28 Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely review. Our team works hard to deliver the high standards you mentioned and it's always appreciated to hear we've delivered on this. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again!! Best wishes, Alex

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are three pubs/hotels etc within two minutes walk of each other in this lovely little town, so to save all confusion, my son just reminded me of what I've always told him, 'always go with your first choice'. So we did. A great pub, run by nice people. Very busy but you would expect that during Easter half term....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UnkiFesta101
yorkshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Above average rooms - more of a boutique hotel than a pub with rooms. Very comfortable and clean. Beautifully furnished. Parking is near hotel (about 2 minute walk away). If you stay over a weekend, you MUST book a table for an evening meal (we didn't on the saturday night and ended up with sandwiches from the Co Op!). Beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lydlyd
Queens H, Manager at Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you so much for your lovely review. I will pass your kind comments on to the rest of the team. We hope you'll return in the future Best wishes

Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed for two days b&b at queens head inn in hawkshead cumbria ,service , room, and food were first class good dining times for breakfast.Had evening meal good food again.would recommend this place and stay their again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank geoff b
Queens H, Manager at Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Geoff Many thanks for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queen's in the future

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2017

The Queen's Head is an old pub with rooms. The bar and restaurant area is all beams and open fires, very comfortable. The staff are very hard working and friendly and the food is excellent. Our bedroom was very nicely appointed and the bed very comfortable but it was very small and looked out onto the rubbish bins which might...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mordart
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We had a great 2 nights here. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Got free up grade to beautiful large room . This is a lovely village and also only 5 miles from Ambleside. Rooms were spotless , bed very comfortable and restaraunt has great food. Would recommend

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank toni1041
Queens H, Manager at Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Toni Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at The Queen's. We hope to welcome you back again in the future All the best Calley

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2017

My girlfriend and I stayed at the queens head on the 6/3/17 for one night. We stayed in room 9. The room was decorated nicely and was very clean. Bathroom was modern, the bed was comfortable and the room also had tea/coffee facilities. There was also a flat tv on the wall. Went for evening meal and the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank steve9uk

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
6.9 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.7 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,169 reviews
8.1 km away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,353 reviews
0.1 km away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
331 reviews
0.0 km away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Since the early 17th Century The Queen's Head Inn has been welcoming weary travellers and visitors to the village of Hawkshead. Some things don't change, whether you want to drink, dine or unwind, you will find The Queen's Head the perfect base to explore the beautiful South Lakes of Cumbria and beyond. We have thirteen newly refurbished comfortable guest rooms all with private bathrooms and all individually styled and furnished. Free Wi-Fi is available for all our guests. Our celebrated restaurant, awarded an AA Four Star for culinary excellence, has a menu to suit all tastes. Each dish is devised and perfected by our head chef and is designed to utilise local ingredients from local suppliers. Whether it's a light lunch or an evening meal, The Queen's Head offers a warm welcome and good food to those in search of a relaxed and traditionally English environment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Queen's Head Hotel

Address: Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Price Range: RM515 - RM779 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen's Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Queen's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Windermere
Hotel Queens Head
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Queen's Head Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Chorley, United Kingdom
york
2 months ago
Chester, United Kingdom
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Bradford, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Queen's Head Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Expect a small amount of noise, it's an old building. No problems during the night, a great nights sleep.”
F7376KYjohnd, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 8 which was a twin . It had a lovely bathroom”
lyndamckee, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“book early to get the room you want”
ChrisS138, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 is fabulous.”
MargeWestYorks, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“stay away from Trout Cottage.”
559stuartn, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5