We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Rainbow Tavern

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Rainbow Tavern
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

10 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 10: English reviews
Start your review of The Rainbow Tavern
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked a 2 night stay with Social Living but only stayed one night. The food was basicfayre and the bedding was clean. However the room itself left a lot to be desired. There were cracks in the walls, stai s on the ceiling from, we assumed, the en suite in the room above, a hole in the stud wallwith...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a wonderful stay at the Rainbow Tavern went with a groupon voucher which cost £69 for 2 nights which included a two cousre evening meal on arrival which was excellent I had breaded mushrooms followed by T bone steak it was exceptional cooked to perfection and also full cooked english breakfast on both mornings .Although the rooms were a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angela56186233
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Trip adviser should allow 0 star ratings as this place would be a prime example of a zero star. Called in there this afternoon for a quick bit to eat and my first instinct was to turn round and leave, I wish I had. Electric cables dangling across the wall to a lamp in the window. Just a very unfriendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mcclegend
adrian t, Owner at The Rainbow Tavern, responded to this review

Interesting feedback! So you assumed the gammon was raw but then cut into it and discovered it was cooked. Both meals were eaten and no complaint was made at the time. I am afraid that people who finish a meal and leave without complaint at the time lack credibility. Presumably none of the electric fixtures in your home plug into...

Reviewed 17 January 2017

I have just come back from a two night stay in Kendal staying in the Rainbow Tavern with my husband I booked it with wowcher for a really good price read the reviews which were all good then the day we were due to leave I read a review that had just been posted which didn't sound to good was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lizplun
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

This was a Living Social deal 2 X Nights B&B with dinner on the first night, sound great and the other reviews were good, decided to book this and part of my long weekend away after working Christmas (Christmas day off) and New Year 8 days straight.......relaxing time with my Husband........read on!!! Part of this review/complaint is aimed at Living...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank sexyrexyCheshire
adrian t, Owner at The Rainbow Tavern, responded to this review

high maintenance nuisance guests complaining about food they didnt try, please look at our other reviews and decide for yourself

Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Good find! The room we had was basic but spacious and clean. The bathroom could've used a little tlc but it had everything we needed. Great location in the heart of Kendal. Was a little noisy but then we were staying in a pub on a Saturday night so it was to be expected. Didn't bother us as so tired...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Random_laddergoat
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

People friendly though facilities in room could have been better - some needing repair, general maintenance & decor needing looked at. Great location though - very central to town and many local restaurants. Overall was perfect for a budget overnight stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lainey20704
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

When staying in the lakes we nipped in here for a bite to eat being a dog friendly pub. The bar tender was ever so friendly she provided a bowl of milk for our spoilt pooch and although we only ordered sandwiches and a drink it was very tasty and great value for money would defo return

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cazwilsd
County Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We were wandering down the street in Kendal hoping to find some place to stay and some other tavern owners pointed us to the Rainbow Tavern. I was so happy to meet the lovely ladies behind the bar who are intelligent and articulate and we had some great conversations as well as them showing us to a sweet room in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adoralix
Peterborough
Reviewed 9 September 2016

My Wife and I have just stayed for 4 days, the quality of service and welcome we received from the staff was first class. Set in the middle of wonderful countryside and town services the new management are already making positive progress in improving standards since we last stayed over a year ago. Without doubt a friendly well run establishment...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank dave576

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.5 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 15 in Kendal
954 reviews
0.6 km away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#12 of 15 in Kendal
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
0.2 km away
Shakespeare Inn
Shakespeare Inn
#6 of 41 in Kendal
71 reviews
4.8 km away
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Underbarrow
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the heart of Kendal on Highgate, directly opposite the Town Hall, The Rainbow Tavern is one of the oldest inns in the 'Auld Grey Town'. Quality cask ales are on offer, one of which is always a local brew, along with a range of beers and lagers. The Rainbow also has an extensive beer garden and well-behaved dogs are always welcome. The Rainbow has eleven well appointed and comfortable bedrooms including two family rooms. Most are en-suite or with private bath/ shower room, with accommodation available at reasonable prices. Our chefs provide fayre of traditional bar meals and daily specials, with the ingredients sourced locally wherever possible. We also have an extensive steak menu cooked freshly to order, with home-made pies also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rainbow Tavern

Address: 32 Highgate, Kendal La9 4SX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Price Range: RM183 - RM299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rainbow Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Rainbow Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rainbow Tavern Kendal, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rainbow Tavern staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
Dudley, West Midlands
1 month ago
lancashire

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Rainbow Tavern staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just avoid”
 of 5 bubbles Mcclegend, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“this is way below a budget hotel, would not recommend or ever go back”
 of 5 bubbles sexyrexyCheshire, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Absolutely love how this is in one of the historical Kendal yards.”
 of 5 bubbles Adoralix, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Good value for money so book in advance”
 of 5 bubbles dave576, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
4 of 4