We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Keswick

212 reviews
Save
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (10)
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good45%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“youth hostel”(20 reviews)
“drying room”(22 reviews)
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Kitchenette
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from YHA Keswick
Special Offer: BOOK DIRECT: 10% OFF
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (212)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for YHA Keswick
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
82
89
20
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
82
89
20
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering kitchenyouth hosteldrying roomstation roadbunk bedsgreat locationroom overlooking the riverparking discbedded roombuilding workmountain bikingfirst floorno liftstayed for one nighttown centrethe ground floorrooms were clean
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Weekend Stay at Keswick YHA for Great Gable Remembrance Service. Shared, ensuite room for 4 guys with balcony and two bunk beds. Accommodation was comfortable and clean. Smart cards for security access make comings and goings really easy. Great facilities for dining and drying clothing...More

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank Duncan_McDermott
Response from keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA KeswickResponded 28 November 2017

Thanks for the kind words Duncan, we're glad we could provide you with a comfortable stay for your visit for the Great Gable Service. It's great to hear you enjoyed the en suite room and made full use of the drying room and dining facilities....More

Reviewed 7 November 2017

The hostel is very well situated in the town centre with views of the river, park and adjacent fells. The lake and theatre are within walking distance. The lounge and bar areas are very comfortable and the food and drink is good value. The en-suite...More

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank Steve P
Response from keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA KeswickResponded 10 November 2017

Hi Steve, thank you for the feedback. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our location ticked all the right boxes for you. Our en-suite rooms are a new addition this season and have proven to be quite a big hit with our...More

Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

So... I'm a local(ish) guy who has a soft spot for Keswick and derwentwater. So when chips are down and some R&R is needed, a few nights in Keswick sounds just the trick. I'd not stayed in Keswick before and wanted somewhere I could be...More

Thank Colin R
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We've stayed at this hostel a fair few times over the years. It boasts a superb location by the river, a short stroll from the town centre. Free parking (disc controlled) is readily available on Station Road, with no time restriction between 6pm and 8am....More

Thank Dash1957
Response from keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA KeswickResponded 30 October 2017

Thanks for that lovely and detailed review! We’re delighted that you think highly of our recent renovations; the new bar/café boasts a great range of wines, spirits and local ales. We agree the view of Latrigg and Skiddaw from the renovated first floor en-suite rooms...More

Reviewed 24 October 2017

We chose Keswick as out first YHA stop off in the Lakes as when we tried before it had been closed by the terrible flooding. While the hostel is in a great location close to town I just didn't enjoy it as much as we...More

Thank charliefarli
Response from keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA KeswickResponded 26 October 2017

Hi charliefarli, thank you for leaving us some feedback following your stay with us. We're sorry to hear you had a few issues with the hostel - I'm particularly surprised to hear that you didn't feel welcome as our staff are consistently praised for their...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
13456741
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$33 - US$206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
US$33 - US$206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (10)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
rosmar51
23 August 2017|
Answer
Response from keswickmanager | Property representative |
Hi rosmar51. Public transport from Newcastle to Keswick (and onwards to Wordsworth House at Cockermouth) is pretty good - during the summer months you can even catch the direct Wright Bros service from Newcastle to Keswick... More
1
Vote
EdenScott13
8 November 2016|
Answer
Response from keswickmanager | Property representative |
Hi there, Provided you book a private room, there are no problems with that arrangement. Please bring ID along with you as guests under the age of 16 cannot stay without adult accompaniment. Cheers, YHA Keswick
2
Votes
Room Tips
"Get a riverside room for a lovely view of Skiddaw & the sounds of the Greta as you go to sleep."
Read review
"Ask for a river view."
Read review
"private en-suite with balcony over the river"
Read review
"First floor en suite riverside!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing