We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

YHA Keswick

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Keswick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Keswick
See the most recent reviews
Showing 130: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2016

As the Youth Hostel had been damaged and there were no catering facilities all I can comment on is the accommodation, which is very comfortable for a Youth Hostel and has good facilities such as a TV lounge, reading room and kitchen. However, the best asset is the location, as it is literally a 5 minute walk into the town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martyn A
Orla S, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at YHA Keswick. We're glad you found the hostel to be comfortable and enjoyed our location close to town. We're working hard to refurbish the hostel after the damaged sustained during the winter floods this year so we hope you'll be back to check us out after it's completed :-) YHA Keswick...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Great hostel coping with floods and being refurbished so temporary kitchen etc and amenities GREAT bedroom overlooking the river and large too. Very welcoming staff . Great location in centre of town Family rooms as well as normal dorms and X4

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joy A
Orla S, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at YHA Keswick. It’s great to hear you enjoyed the view from your bedroom and our great central location. We hope you’ll be back to check us out after our refurbishment has been completed. YHA Keswick Team

Eaglescliffe
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Left work late with the knowledge of Thursday off. Arranged our booking on the A^^ as we drove to the lake district. The hostel was warm and we had a great welcome from the staff. The rooms were good, clean & tidy but typically hostel rooms. We stayed for Breakfast which was also very good both in quality and price....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DGY-Eaglescliffe
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a great review of YHA Keswick. We certainly agree with you on the tip about the balcony, just pop down to reception where we have a selection of drinks on offer and then relax on the balcony listening to the sound of the river. YHA Keswick Team

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

We were on a stag do stayed at YHA Keswick. Lovely location right next to the river. Only 5 minute into Keswick. Nice and tidy hostel with breakfast Also which was basic but all the same it was ok.staff were nice and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paradiseash
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of you stay at YHA Keswick. We’re please to hear you enjoyed our fabulous riverside location and hope to see you back again soon! YHA Keswick Team

Manchester
Reviewed 23 October 2015

Stayed here with friends whilst on a walk. It's in an excellent location, a short walk into town and set on the river opposite a park, a lovely spot. Accommodation is basic of course, we were in a 6 bunk room and there isn't much space but the view and sound from the river was great. Ate out in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelTidge
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review of YHA Keswick. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our riverside location and breakfast for £5.25. We hope to see you back at YHA Keswick soon. YHA Keswick Team

Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Having been members for years, we hardly used the hostels because In Those days they didn't accept children. What a great holiday for families now. Even though we had no kids with us this time we had a great stay. Central, offering good value rooms, evening food, and wine! Breakfast was disappointing, 5.99 but a few grapefruit segments and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walker3467
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

It’s great to hear that you feel YHA offers a great holiday for families with good value rooms and evening meals. I’m sorry to hear that you felt breakfast was disappointing, we always ask that you let us know of any problems at the time to give us a chance to offer a solution. Our breakfast costs £5.52 for adults...

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Stayed here with my brother for one night after walking "The Cumbria way"..I had reservations on booking this town centre hostel but could not obtain a guest house for one night only at weekend. The situation is adjacent to Fitz Park, town centre area. The river Greta flows by it's side. The book in was easy enough, the six bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valuematters
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at YHA Keswick. As you mentioned we are a town hostel which means we accommodate both walkers and people who are here to spend time in the town of Keswick. The front door is locked from 11.30pm to 7am and accessible only by using a door code which we...

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Cracking location,5 mins into the centre of Ksewick. Just what the YHA is about, Clean and tidy and as normal great value for money and friendly staff. Will stay again without a doubt. If you wanta posh hotel or B&B then go and book one but for a vlaue stop its a cracking place.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TomHill77
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a great review of your stay at YHA Keswick. Hopefully it won’t be long until we see you again! YHA Keswick

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Nice central location, by the river. Staff were helpful and friendly. Place, bedding etc is clean. Showers were good (though too few). Unfortunately, hugely let down by the following: Was in a south-facing room, hit by the sun all afternoon (though only 15 degrees outside). The room was no bigger than ten feet by ten feet, but contained three pairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plumjam15
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at YHA Keswick. I’m glad to hear your liked our central location, helpful staff and good showers. I’m sorry to hear you found the room to be stuffy. The reason the windows have a limited opening is a health and safety one. All of our bed rooms are on the first floor...

sheffield
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a mountain biking weekend! Being a hostel, we expected bunk beds and shared facilities! But they were clean and tidy! The breakfast was brilliant for the price, perfect start to the day as we went to Grizedale afterwards! The only thing that let's it down is the car parking! trying to park...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank myke12
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at YHA Keswick. It’s great to hear our breakfast kept you going while biking around Grizedale. Unfortunately as you’ve mentioned we don’t have any onsite parking. There is road side parking availible around Keswick however due to recent road works this has been a little squeezed. At reception we are always more...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.3 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.3 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
685 reviews
9.4 km away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 22 in Ambleside
316 reviews
17.1 km away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
11.2 km away
YHA Buttermere
YHA Buttermere
#1 of 1 in Buttermere
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge

Additional Information about YHA Keswick

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: RM94 - RM630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your YHA Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Keswick Cumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Keswick staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Keswick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for top floor over looking the River Greta”
 of 5 bubbles joy211, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Take a drink on the balcony overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles DGY-Eaglescliffe, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Go to a B&B instead!”
 of 5 bubbles valuematters, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
“If you don't want to share, get a separate room, the extra price is well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles R610TIstevenm, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Wi-fi only available down stairs. Code given on arrival.”
 of 5 bubbles JacquelineS913, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay