We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lairbeck Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
23/06/2017 24/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Lairbeck Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Lairbeck Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 195: English reviews
West Lancashire
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Well positioned about two minutes off the A66, about three minutes drive from Keswick centre and five minutes walk from a great pub - The Pheasant. In its own beautiful grounds with plenty of tables and seats, with great views of the fells, and plenty of car parking. All public rooms were well maintained and reception a stunning area in...

Thank Unhb
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and helpful feedback. Room 2 is our smallest room but does provide a single room option with full en suite at the same price as sharing a standard double (no single room supplement). Our WiFi does occasionally seem to be patchy in one or two rooms and we will improve this shortly. We do have...

Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed 5 nights in late May here, in the Drawing Room (#4). The property was just what we were looking for. It had all the charms and character of an older manor house, with a little history, all the comforts, personal attention, and everything else we were looking for in a B&B in the beautilful Lake District. The location...

2Thank dougle96
MalcolmHutchinson, Manager at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and appreciative review and the time and care you applied to it. Also for your kind comment in our guest book. We enjoyed your company very much and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Lairbeck at any time. Best wishes.

Reviewed 21 May 2012

6 of us stayed for a business trip and we really can not falt this hotel. The owner was extremely accommodating and keen to help us out with any of our requirements. We did not eat "In house" but heard fellow guests comment on the tasty food. Breakfast was served quickly and tasted lovely. Grannies room has a fantastic bathroom...

1Thank gilesmad
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. Best wishes to you and your colleagues. We look forward to seeing you again. Jennifer & Malcolm

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed for two nights as a couple over the easter weekend, and loved it so much we stayed for another. Gorgeous place with beautiful garden and nicely decorated rooms. Great proximity to both Keswick village and amazing walks, so could do everything we wanted to without having to travel anywhere during our stay. Highlight of the stay was definitely our...

1Thank xeve7
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you very much for your feedback. We greatly enjoyed meeting with you and we would be very happy to welcome you back to Lairbeck.

Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of March- would happily stay again. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, all individual. Check the room descriptions- some have showers, some baths, and some have shower/bath tap combination. We had the latter and the sign saying "watch out for sudden temperature changes" was about right... Wifi is an extra £5 per...

1Thank HfromBath
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your kind comment in our guest book. We would just mention that we do not charge for WiFi it is free as indicated in our advertising. Best wishes Malcolm

Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here with our (adult) daughter during August this year on our way back south from Scotland. We had originally booked to stay at another hotel in the area which didn't come anywhere close to our standards, and rang hoping for a night's stay. The owners not only had the two rooms we required but also...

Thank AJ_n_Cee_D
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Best wishes Malcolm

Reviewed 6 November 2011

poor Pr ,from the manager, a complete control fanatic ,not a relaxing stay,superficially helpful,small bath towels no glass beaker or biscuits in the room on the last day. not to be recommended

11Thank ConwyStatham
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review

It may help potential guests to evaluate this review if I explain that this guest was angry because I refused to waive our late cancellation policy. He was extremely rude on check in and continued in this manner throughout his stay. We know that the provision of room facilities was not deficient since we did extra quality checks in his...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Lovely hotel, warm hospitality and great atmosphere. We really enjoyed our holiday in Lairbeck Hotel but we wish it was a bit closer to ... Italy! Grazie to Malcolm, Jennifer and Karen.

Thank Manuela B
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Ciao! Thank you for your kind review. We were so happy to meet you all and much appreciated your great company, happy spirits and warm smiles. Grazie! We wish we were closer to Italy too!!

Reviewed 26 September 2011

I think that there are a couple of individual features about this hotel to note; both could be seen as either positive or negative depending on your perspective. 1) The evening meal arrangements: if you take an evening meal you are presnted with the menu at breakfast and make a selection from 4/5 starters and 3 main courses - all...

2Thank milordbyron
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your wife’s very kind comments in the guest book about our food and ambiance. We try to take improvement points from all reviews and so far as our food is concerned, particularly our Michelin commended dinners you seem to be very happy for yourself but worried that other guests with different perspectives might be...

San Francisco, CA
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This is a wonderful Inn to use as your home base to explore the North Lakes Area and within an easy commute to the South Lakes. We arrived frustrated and fatigued from our first experience of driving on the other side of the road (Yanks) from Penrith train station. We were met by Malcolm who offered kind words of understanding,...

Thank SouthBay_Traveler
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope you have forgiven the Lake District for the weather you experienced whilst at Lairbeck. At present we have a mini 'Indian Summer'! Still we know you 'got out there' and experienced some of the breathtaking beauty of the Lakes (even in the rain). Along with the Brits & the Australians...

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (25)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
View from Room (3)
Room/Suite (6)
Bathroom (2)
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (25)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Dining (2)
Room/Suite (3)
View from Room (1)
Other (15)
23/06/2017 24/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.1 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.4 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
592 reviews
0.9 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
678 reviews
1.0 km away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
374 reviews
5.1 km away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy a relaxing holiday in a Victorian Country House in the heart of the English Lake District. Lairbeck is a 3 Star Visit Britain Hotel beautifully set in a quiet, secluded garden 10 - 15 minutes walk to Keswick, Derwentwater and the Theatre by the Lake. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lairbeck Hotel

Address: Vicarage Hill, Keswick CA12 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: RM643 - RM727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lairbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lairbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lairbeck Hotel Keswick, Cumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lairbeck Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
San Francisco, California

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Lairbeck Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Have stayed in two different rooms both excellent,would expect all others to be the same standard”
shetland62, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not all rooms have showers only baths”
richardandrews521, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room was very comfortable we were on the top floor, attic I think.”
poppaul21, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Email the hotel for specific information.”
91maik, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I have read other reviews about the Skiddaw room being small, but I have to disagree. It is a wonderful room and should not be overlooked.”
5rc1991, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
View all 9 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates