We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Glendale Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Glendale Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

397 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Glendale Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 394: English reviews
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016

I booked this lovely guest house at the last minute and wasn't disappointed. Martin and Gilly were very welcoming. Our room was immaculate and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with something for everyone. We can recommend the packed lunch Gilly made for us it saw us through a hot days walking. They even made the sun shine all weekend!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jill R
Martin L, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Glendale Guest House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The weather was great during your stay which is a real bonus. We always promise good weather, sometimes it's good dry weather, sometimes it's good wet weather but it's always good. We hope to see you again soon.

Stoke on Trent
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Stayed at Glendale primarily for the Keswick Mountain Festival weekend. We had a very good room at front of the house, exceptionally clean, very nice en suite,and perhaps surprisingly no street noise, as might have be expected. Parking right outside may be a little difficult but we were there at a very busy time. Hosts welcoming and served a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank swimbikerun61
Martin L, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Glendale and we appreciate your glowing comments of your room and accommodation. We pride ourselves on providing B&B within a short walk of Keswick Town Centre but in a very quiet location and your comments certainly justify that. The Mountain Festival weekend is very busy...

kirriemuir
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Just back from a few days in Keswick, very comfortable rooms with lovely friendly hosts, everything you would need in the rooms followed by an excellent breakfast,hope to be back sometime , we were there for a show at the theatre, lovely theatre, excellent walks in the area with plenty places to eat in the town

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank murrayfield
Martin L, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Glendale Guest House and we appreciate you taking the time to leave comments on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best wishes Martin & Gilly

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

Agree with everything said below. Our room on the top floor was compact but with a lovely big bed and tasteful furnishings. Everything was spotlessly clean and there was lots of hot water in the shower. My only disappointment was there was no bath available to people who have a shower room - given so many people visiting Keswick are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ruth A
Martin L, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for all your comments and for taking the time to write a review. We do have one room which has a bath but it may not have been available at the time you visited. We hope to see you again soon.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We had a very warm welcome from Martin and Gilly. The rooms were compact but gave you all you could want and they were spotless. The breakfasts were delicious and they coped very well with our friends asking for things not on the menu. they also catered well for our vegetarian friend.The beds were incredibly comfortable, so a good night's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moira4
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2015

We stayed 3 nights in a room on the top floor. There are 6 rooms and ours was small but very clean and quiet. Great comfortable bed and unintrusive hosts, Martin and Gilly. Great breakfast and very helpful with ideas on things to see and do.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tim L
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Steven and Julie First time stay at the glendale brilliant good size room with great facilitys breakfast to die for assorted fruits cereals english breakfast well prepared short walk into town no problems parking car really quiet area had a great nights sleep realy comfy bed would return again.excellent

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Steven B
UK
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We stayed two nights in a comfortable rom with a good en-suite shower. Very good breakfast -excellent choice. Easy on street parking and a short walk in to town -or a short cut near the church brings you out near the Theatre on the Lake. On a street and area of similar b&bs

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank r00m_with_a_view
Reviewed 8 August 2015

We've just returned from a trip to Glendale. We had a wonderful time and the hosts Gilly and Martin were very accommodating. Breakfast was fresh, delicious and there was a lot of choice, nothing was too much trouble. We had a 1 year old with us and they did everything possible to help including warming up food when needed, allowing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank No1hayleyann
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

Had a chance to get away without the children for a few days walking and R&R. Lovely B&B, easy to find, on road parking (found a space each time we needed to)....very friendly hosts, knowledgeable about area and seemed genuinely interested in reports of our day! Beautifully clean & comfortable room with great shower (we were in number 2). Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline T

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 km away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#20 of 177 in Keswick
474 reviews
0.4 km away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#50 of 177 in Keswick
158 reviews
0.1 km away
Ferndene Guest House
Ferndene Guest House
#39 of 177 in Keswick
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#8 of 177 in Keswick
561 reviews
0.0 km away
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
#71 of 177 in Keswick
249 reviews
1.1 km away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#19 of 177 in Keswick
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"The Perfect Base To Explore The Lakes." We promise a warm welcome when you arrive at Glendale. In a quiet location just a few minutes’ walk from the town centre and the lakeshore of Derwentwater. Many walks can be started straight from the door and we are happy to advise on sutable routes.This four diamond silver award guest house provides comfortable rooms with en-suite or private bathrooms. All have colour TV and tea/coffee trays and hairdryers. Our extensive breakfast menu offers fruits, cereals and yogurts and a varied selection from a hearty Full English, with local Cumberland sausage, a light continental or vegetarian option.Freshly ground coffee, and homemade marmalade are a speciality. Free Wifi available throughout the house. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Address: 7 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: RM381 - RM582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Glendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Guest House Hotel Keswick
Glendale Guest House Keswick, Cumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Glendale Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 3 which was good.”
 of 5 bubbles 590DavidC590, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“On street parking only.Wasn't really an issue as we walked from the guest house each day.”
 of 5 bubbles 179jillr, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the front (street) seem to be fine ie not noisy, rear rooms have views of mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles swimbikerun61, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front offer the better views”
 of 5 bubbles moira4, 9 Nov 2015 | Read review
“room 2 very nice”
 of 5 bubbles mattp116, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay