We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Oak at Keswick

Hotels.comUS$115*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Oak at Keswick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

584 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Oak at Keswick
See the most recent reviews
Showing 579: English reviews
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

My partner and I fell in love on a date to Keswick and this was by the fire at the Royal Oak (Keswick lodge) in 2011, we come back yearly. We stayed for two nights (6/7th feb) we stayed in room 9, small double and my only negative would be the size of the room but as I am a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jojo m
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Hi Jojo Thank you. What a wonderful review. It makes me feel warm inside. It's a wonderful story to hear about you falling in love here and coming back each year to celebrate. Next time you come book with us direct and let us know who you are and there'll be a bottle of champagne in your room for when...

Wigan
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Went as part of a (civilized) Stag Do. 10 hungry lads were treated to some great food and nice beer. Couldn't fault the place, food was hot, tasty and quickly served. Staff too were excellent. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the great review. It's nice to hear that you all had a great meal. Mark

Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

You can feel the love that has gone into the decor, so many personal touches for a country boutique feel. Bar down stairs is also lovely with very friendly staff and welcome. Bed soft and comfortable surrounding really pleasant, no noise, wi fi In room, clean and tidy xx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quail12
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Hi thank you so much for the fantastic review. It makes it all worthwhile when people appreciate what we do and it gives all of us a real lift in spirits after a busy day. Mark

Northants
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with 2 dogs for a walking holiday. Hotel was very welcoming with friendly and informative staff. Room was very clean. We picked a larger room which was very spacious. The hotel were genuinely happy for our dogs to stay and made them welcome with a couple of treats for them whilst we sat in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bongohunt
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Hi thank you for the fantastic review, very much appreciated. I hope we see you again soon. Summer in Keswick is great and sometimes it even stops raining. Mark

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed with our two grown up children for one night. We booked a double and a twin room. Our room was quite cool so my Husband asked someone to help. They brought us a portable fan heater straight away and apologised. When we went for our evening meal there was a very loud birthday group near our table, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monalisap
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Hi Thank you so much for the lovely comments in your review. I'm so glad that you had such a wonderful time. We do always do what we can to make sure that people enjoy their stay with us. Simple things like nipping out for soya milk is no problem at all. Sorry it's taken a while to respond. A...

Cornwall
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

Had dinner here with friends on their recommendation for a dog friendly pub. Food was brilliant with massive portions - we even managed to feed the dogs on the leftovers. Very friendly and helpful staff. The ribeye steak was particularly delicious and the steak and ale pie was packed with steak.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NewfyFan
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Hi thanks for the wonderful review, it gives all of us a real lift and makes all the hard work worthwhile. Mark

Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

My partner and I booked one night on our way up to Edinburgh, Scotland for New Year's Eve. While the room we stayed in was generally clean and tidy, it did look a touch tired. The toilet seat was also unfortunately broken. Breakfast was a definite plus point though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bigtallguy
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the review. We've got an ongoing maintenance plan to keep the rooms refreshed and to fix little niggles like the toilet seat. I can only say sorry that it wasn't right when you stayed. Mark

Reviewed 11 January 2016

Stayed here 9th January 16. What a lovely place. Our check in was easy and simple and had a nice welcome. Our room was a lovely cozy room, looking out to the side and was clean with tea/coffee/hot chocolate/biscuits etc. (our mistake though was not reading the bit that if you wanted milk in your drink, you got it from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jackie L
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Hi Jackie I just want to thank you for the lovely comments in your review. It's a real lift for all of us and makes all the hard work feel worthwhile. mark

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this delightful dog-friendly Inn 24-27 Dec 15. In the build up to the visit we had been concerned about the terrible floods and the impact that it had had in the region. Mark, one of the Managers, allayed all of our fears and kept us informed on developments. Excellent. The hotel itself is excellent. Whilst our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Hi Chris Wow, thank you so much for the wonderful comments in your review. It's taken me a while to respond because I've been locked out of our homepage due to a mix-up with the password. It was pleasure meeting you and I hope we see you again soon. Mark

dumfries
Reviewed 5 January 2016

As regular visitors to the Lake District we decided to treat our selves to a wee trip away. We picked the Royal Oak hotel primarily because it's pet friendly and because of the location, right in the middle of Keswick. If you're going expecting large rooms you will be disappointed because most of them are rather small but as this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moira605
TheRoyalOak_Manager, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Hi Moira Sorry it's taken a while for me to respond. There was a password mix-up which meant I couldn't get onto our TA homepage until now. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I'm eve more pleased to hear you'll be coming back. I never did work out where that noise was coming from...

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Other (45)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
585 reviews
0.1 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
723 reviews
0.1 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.5 km away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
678 reviews
0.2 km away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: RM522 - RM753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick
The Royal Oak At Keswick Cumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Oak at Keswick staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Washington DC, District of Columbia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Oak at Keswick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room looking over the market square which got a bit noisy but they provide ear plugs and an eye mask - nice idea”
germanshep, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 18 was quiet and had mountain view”
366marianne65, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask to have a room where your sleep will not be disturbed by the bin lorry debacle!”
Chris-the-Stokie, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No elevators.”
raquelchia, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“My room on the second floor was quiet.”
ros2010, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$115* /night
View Deal
HOTEL.INFOUS$123
Expedia.comUS$115
TripAdvisorUS$115
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates