We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Storrs Gate House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Storrs Gate House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 375: English reviews
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My fiancée and I fancied a last minute escape to see friends locally to Windermere. We found this guest house online and the reviews were rightly excellent. We found ourselves running rather late for our arrival but I called ahead and the owners were very kind and understanding and told us that we weren't to rush (it was a 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stocky6896
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was great to know that we were able to help to provide a relaxed and comfortable stay especially after a stressful journey, and that you slept so well too! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and the Jacobean four poster suite and we look forward to welcoming you...

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Breakfast was nice but the bedroom suite was very dated . Towels old and discoloured. Bathroom had no bath and needed a refurb. Wouldn't stop again unless rooms and bathroom upgraded . Parking was also limited.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annie792
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - it was disappointing to read that you felt your suite was dated however, as all our suites are themed and advertised by name of an historical period - Jacobean, Victorian and Queen Anne, which together with the images provided, we hoped would provide a picture of a bygone era rather than portray the expectation...

wakefield
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful warm and friendly guest house. Lovely hosts Superb room and facilities, fantastic shower Excellent breakfast Altogether a wonderful place to stay, would definitely highly recommend and will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbiestu
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay - we are so pleased that you were happy with every aspect of your stay and intend to return! Thank you for your high recommendation too... please book direct with us if you choose to come back, we can offer a loyalty discount for stays of two or more nights! Hope...

Reviewed 28 October 2016

Very traditional accommodation and very clean.Hosts very friendly and helpful.The only complaint is that it is only breakfast and not many nearby places to eat of an evening without having to walk a fair distance. Yet the breakfast is very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us - we were delighted to read that you found our accommodation excellent and that you enjoyed your breakfast too. We usually try to mention that the nearest restaurant is across the road, in Windermere Marina, and we are happy to order taxis to take you into Bowness (1/2 mile)...

Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

What wonderful 3 night stay we had here for our 35th wedding Aniversary. Shirley and Vince are friendly hosts who can't do enough for you . The breakfast is excellent home made jams and marmalade. All local produce. The best bit for me was where you have your breakfast in a lovely sun room where you can look out onto...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D Elizabeth T
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

How lovely it was to read your kind review of your recent three night stay with us. Your enjoyment of our garden was a delight to read - we remember you comparing it to the "Secret Garden" when you were here, which was magical for us. Thank you too for your comments about breakfast and our hospitality - we are...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely 2 night stay here. Greeted on arrival by Shirley who gave us lots of info on the local area, recommended a few places to eat, etc. Our room was very nice, comfortable bed with lovely en suite. Even a reasonably priced minibar! Breakfast was very nice and well presented. Vince is happy to give suggestions on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyndapaul2406
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

We are so pleased to learn that you felt so welcome with us at Storrs Gate, and that you enjoyed your recent break here. We are always happy to help with any advice and are pleased that you enjoyed our recommendations for dinner. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back sometime. Thanks for choosing us!

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in mid September 2016 for out honeymoon. I must say this place is 10/10 in every-way customers service was excellent breakfast was excellent and the room we stayed in was the most comfortable room we have had in our travel. We loved the place so much that we had to extend our stay another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrs140914
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

Wow! What more could we ask for! The fact that you booked an extra night with us is accolade in itself and we could not be more pleased to know that you were so very happy with everything about your stay. We know that you are also in the catering industry and we appreciate your high regard for our house...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Shirley and Vince are such friendly accommodating hosts. We had to change our arrangements twice after booking and both times they were very understanding. Our stay was excellent, and the room was spotless, spacious and comfortable. The position of the guest house was ideal for a stroll into Bowness (not being hardened walkers) and our hosts supplied great advice on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank price859
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

After having had to change your plans twice following your initial booking with us, it was great to be able to welcome you both. We much prefer to help in this respect than lose a booking due to cancellation, and of course it benefits us all. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the Queen Anne king-size four poster...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016

This was a real treat for us as we don't get the chance to go away very often owing to the fact we have a child with a disability.. we felt so rejuvenated at the end of our break. We would definitely return to this B&B. We were in the Victoria Suite which had the most comfortable bed we've ever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to review your recent stay with us. It was wonderful to read that you so enjoyed our Victorian four poster suite, and especially that you felt it was the most comfortable bed you had slept in! Lovely too to know that you were so happy with your breakfast and our hospitality and service....

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016

we stayed in this hotel last year, it is very well located. a little expensive but it is the lakes I suppose. owners were really nice and helpful, staff were great and very accommodating to us on our stay. Breakfast was lovely and the stay was amazing thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us last year and that you were happy with our hospitality and our staff and breakfast. We have kept our prices static for three or four years now and feel we are favourably comparable with other five star establishments in the lakes, particularly those with suites. We hope...

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.8 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
555 reviews
0.4 km away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
891 reviews
3.4 km away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 111 in Windermere
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
The Howbeck
The Howbeck
#14 of 111 in Windermere
904 reviews
0.6 km away
Lindeth Fell Country House
Lindeth Fell Country House
#8 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
274 reviews
2.8 km away
Wheatlands Lodge
Wheatlands Lodge
#6 of 111 in Windermere
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bed and Breakfast of the Year - Cumbria Tourism Awards 2009.Five Stars with Silver Award - luxury accommodation opposite Lake Windermere. 15 minutes walk from Bowness-on-Windermere, our family run guest house offers personal service by friendly owners. Breakfasts feature local and home-made produce. Four poster and king-size rooms, power showers, White Company toiletries. We aim to ensure you will want to return! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Storrs Gate House

Address: Longtail Hill, Windermere LA23 3JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: RM487 - RM733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Storrs Gate House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Storrs Gate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Gate House Hotel Windermere
Storrs Gate House Windermere, Lake District, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Storrs Gate House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Storrs Gate House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 7 (Queen Anne's suite) was lovely and had a private outside space”
 of 5 bubbles price859, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 is a beautiful 4 poster suite with a separate dressing room and bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulConfused, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“There are plenty of other lovely places IN Bowness. If you stay here, get details in writing !!”
 of 5 bubbles alang184, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Looking over the back garden”
 of 5 bubbles Debby7140, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 7, the Queen Anne suite is lovely and has a small patio area in the gardens which would be beautiful in the summer.”
 of 5 bubbles JessDan, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay