We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Firgarth

Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Firgarth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Firgarth
See the most recent reviews
Showing 175: English reviews
sheffield, england
Reviewed 20 February 2015

Just returned from a 4 night break at the Firgarth. The hosts Pam & Colin are wonderful and made us feel really at home. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The breakfast is great with lots of choice and large portions. Pam & Colin are very friendly and helpful. They have good local knowledge and really helped us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foolgirl
OwnerWindermere, Owner at The Firgarth, responded to this review

Thank you both for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and you would recommend us. Hope to see you both again soon. Take care Pam and Colin

Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed here over New Year with the hope of wanting a relaxed New Years break, we were not disappointed! Pam and Colin are wonderful hosts, so informative and helpful and extremely knowledge about the local area, walks and buses etc. The breakfasts were amazing! So much choice - croissants, fresh fruit salads, greek yogurts as well as a full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank londonlass100
OwnerWindermere, Owner at The Firgarth, responded to this review

Great review thank you so very much. Glad you had the relaxing break you were looking for. Always good to hear you both enjoyed the Firgarth breakfast. Thank you again for taking the time to review us we really appreciated it.

Wales
Reviewed 2 January 2015 via mobile

Pam and Col are amazing! The room was very clean and beautifully laid out! The breakfasts are to die for! This guest house oozes quality for every aspect of service. I hope we can return soon! Book here right now. Don't bother to look anywhere else! :)))

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ALWWales
OwnerWindermere, Owner at The Firgarth, responded to this review

Thank you for such a fab review. We are glad you enjoyed your New Year break with us. Really pleased you liked your room and delighted you enjoyed your breakfast. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you both again soon. Thanks again

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2014

We stayed there in August 2013, for a long holiday weekend. The room was comfortable and kept spotless clean. It was facing the road, so was a bit noisy, but Pam was very honest about it and gave us advance warning (in fact, several) while we were booking, so it was our decision to stay in it (all other rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arabesque999
OwnerWindermere, Owner at The Firgarth, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay last year in room 7. Good to know you enjoyed your breakfast and you found us helpful and friendly. Thank you again for thinking about us and taking the time to post a review it is very much appreciated. We hope to see you again in...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Having stayed here several times in recent years we decided to take a break here this autumn. We spent five nights in room 5, at the rear of the property, overlooking a stream where a deer sometimes comes to drink. The room was comfortably laid out and absolutely spotless as usual. Sadly the weather was not good but Pam and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda w
OwnerWindermere, Owner at The Firgarth, responded to this review

Hi both Thank you for taking the time to review us. As you say the weather was not so good for you this time but it never stops you guys getting out and about and we are glad you found the suggestions on things to do useful. Really good to know you enjoyed your breakfast each day. It is always...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2014

A brilliant B&B. Directions were easy to follow to the car park. The room (Room 6) and en suite were immaculately clean and the room was spacious and comfortable. It had very good facilities including free wireless internet, a hairdryer, drinks and toiletries. Upon arrival, Colin was extremely helpful and gave us lots of ideas about where to go in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
OwnerWindermere, Owner at The Firgarth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for all the positive feedback. We are delighted you both enjoyed your recent stay with us in room 6 and that you would recommend us to family and friends. We hope to see you both here again shortly. Thank you again. Colin and Pam

Reviewed 14 October 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the firgarth several times. We love it here. This visit was for our 2nd wedding anniversary, we also spent our 1st anniversary here to, which colin and pam had remembered! Its ideal and exactly what we want, peaceful and relaxing. Colin and pam are extremely helpful, friendly and always around if you need anything. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spilllane
OwnerWindermere, Owner at The Firgarth, responded to this review

Hi both, Great review thank you. We are really pleased you enjoyed your latest stay with us. Thanks again for the mince pies they didnt last too long! Always good to see you both. Hope to see you in the New Year. Thanks again for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Pam and Colin

Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2014

A total delightful stay, from which we were exceptionally impressed. Fantastic hosts, who could not of done anymore to make us feel welcome. Lovely people, lovely location, lovely hotel, and a top draw breakfast. All for a very good price. Thank you Colin and Pam for a perfect stay. Can't wait to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matthew s
OwnerWindermere, Owner at The Firgarth, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing a review on Trip Advisor much appreciated. We are really pleased you all enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to see you back here again soon. We have dropped you an email with a link to the 50k runs! Best wishes Pam and Colin

Reviewed 6 October 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend in Windermere having just stayed at the best B&B we have stayed at. Pam & Colin were so friendly, welcoming and were full of helpful tips for us to get the most out of our short break. The room was the cleanest we have ever stayed in and the bed was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveDanielle
OwnerWindermere, Owner at The Firgarth, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and are planning to return. It was really good to meet you both and we look forward to welcoming you again, maybe next time you bring your bikes! Best wishes Pam and Colin

cairns
Reviewed 22 September 2014

pam and colin are the most delightful hosts, bending over backwards to ensure that your stay is memorable. from the meet and greet, explaining about your accommodation, bus timetables and routes, restaurant reservations ,inquiring about your special needs, a fantastic choice of breakfasts...anything you may need...rooms are bright and airy. superb.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank awtil
OwnerWindermere, Owner at The Firgarth, responded to this review

Wow thank you for such a positive review and for taking the time to review us. We are so very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found everything to your liking. We are so pleased you found our suggestions useful. Good to hear you enjoyed your breakfast. Hope you got fixed up with your replacement china and...

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 km away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 108 in Windermere
372 reviews
0.1 km away
The Ravensworth
The Ravensworth
#17 of 108 in Windermere
412 reviews
1.4 km away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#11 of 108 in Windermere
186 reviews
0.8 km away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
307 reviews
0.7 km away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#19 of 108 in Windermere
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Firgarth Guest House is conveniently situated just 12 minutes' walk from the centre of Windermere, with a range of shops, pubs and restaurants. The Firgarth offers relaxed comfortable accommodation. The traditional cooked breakfast is prepared using locally sourced produce; there is also a selection of juices, grapefruit, fresh fruit salad, cereals and yoghurts. Exclusively Non smoking. All our rooms are on the first and second floors. All rooms have remote control TV/DVD and tea and coffee making facilities. Unfortunately we have no family rooms so are unable to accommodate children under the age of 16. Our last check in time is 20:00hrs and check out time is 10:00hrs. We have one car parking space for each room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Firgarth

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: RM492 - RM650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Firgarth 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your The Firgarth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Firgarth Hotel Windermere
The Firgarth Windermere, Lake District, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Firgarth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 7 was just what we needed.”
860daveh, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“At he back of the house.”
Lizzie256, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“had a room at the back away from road”
ROSEDALE5, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed excellent”
Welchsherrill, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Our room was at the front but double glazing kept the noise out”
redpoppyaustralia, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Travelocity
Hotwire.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates