We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Firgarth

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Firgarth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Firgarth
See the most recent reviews
Showing 170: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Firgarth was the first b&b I have stayed and it has certainly set the bar high! Upon arrival we were greeted by host Pam who was so friendly and had so much information about the local area! This was fantastic as the places recommended to us were perfect, even with the bad weather! We were also offered tea or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danielleabelle
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We wanted a good value B&B for our stay over the 2013/2014 New Year. Had read good reports so booked for four nights. All the reviews were right this was a great place to stay. Our hosts Pam and Colin were so helpful in every way, giving us suggestions for trips and places to eat. Breakfast was a highlight of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 2paint
Sydney
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here towards the end of our 4 week trip in Europe and were a bit weary by this stage, my partner also had a pretty bad cold. The host who greeted us was informative and courteous but I wouldn't go as far as friendly. We did arrive late in the day so perhaps he was...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank noemitravels
OwnerWindermere, Owner at The Firgarth, responded to this review

I will run through your comments as they have appeared in your review. As you stated you were weary when you arrived and also late, the fact that your partner had a bad cold may also had something to do with the fact that you didn't feel I was friendly, clearly my fault! Yes you were late when you eventually...

Goole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Friendly hosts,excellent food, cleanliness superb. Stayed here three nights and must say apart from seeing other guests at breakfast you would not know anyone else was there. We were in room 3 and did not hear hardly a sound. The double glazing copes well with any road noise and the room itself was spotless. The en-suite shone and the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DekMags
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned from staying at the Firgarth, can only re-iterate what other reviews have said. Spotlessly clean, great, friendly hosts, cracking breakfast. Lovely comfy king sized bed. Wouldn't hesitate to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaysedz
Worcester
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Firgarth Guest House is an outstanding place to stay – lovely bedrooms (spotlessly clean), lovely atmosphere and lovely location. Windermere and Ambleside are just a short walk away, and Orrest Head (which is just on the doorstep) is well worth the short climb with lovely views of Lake Windermere and the Coniston fells at the top. Pam and Colin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeffGeorge
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Wonderful hosts who went the extra mile.Had asked for a note of thanks to be left for my partner but Pam and Colin provided a card. To me it is the small extras that do matter. Thank you.Lovely room and a Perfect breakfast.Would recommend and stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jomacsam
Reviewed 13 October 2013

What can I say that no one else has this is the perfect place to stay when visiting the lakes My husband took me for my 40 the and I had been poorly but couldn't let him down even though still not well went home after a couple of days much better Pam is a true diamond and Colin to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephrowl
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and had an exceptional. Pam is delightful and very well suited to hosting people at Firgarth. During our welcome cup of tea, she inquired about our interest and made suggestions all of which turned out to be spot on. Pam and her partner cooked top quality breakfasts and the rooms were clean well appointed, quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oscat666
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I Booked this B+B for my wife's Birthday, and I was not disappointed one bit! The service was amazing, The room was clean and cosy, even with the room next to the main road, you can not hear the traffic at all. The breakfast was tasty with vegetarian options to suit my wife. The owners even got my wife a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ben M

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 km away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#6 of 111 in Windermere
361 reviews
1.4 km away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
657 reviews
0.1 km away
The Ravensworth
The Ravensworth
#16 of 111 in Windermere
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#17 of 111 in Windermere
175 reviews
1.3 km away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 111 in Windermere
172 reviews
0.9 km away
Jerichos Guest House
Jerichos Guest House
#11 of 111 in Windermere
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Firgarth Guest House is conveniently situated just 12 minutes' walk from the centre of Windermere, with a range of shops, pubs and restaurants. The Firgarth offers relaxed comfortable accommodation. The traditional cooked breakfast is prepared using locally sourced produce; there is also a selection of juices, grapefruit, fresh fruit salad, cereals and yoghurts. Exclusively Non smoking. All our rooms are on the first and second floors. All rooms have remote control TV/DVD and tea and coffee making facilities. Unfortunately we have no family rooms so are unable to accommodate children under the age of 16. Our last check in time is 20:00hrs and check out time is 10:00hrs. We have one car parking space for each room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Firgarth

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: RM477 - RM627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Firgarth 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Firgarth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Firgarth Hotel Windermere
The Firgarth Windermere, Lake District, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Firgarth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 7 was just what we needed.”
 of 5 bubbles 860daveh, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“At he back of the house.”
 of 5 bubbles Lizzie256, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“had a room at the back away from road”
 of 5 bubbles ROSEDALE5, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed excellent”
 of 5 bubbles Welchsherrill, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Our room was at the front but double glazing kept the noise out”
 of 5 bubbles redpoppyaustralia, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5