We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Shores Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Shores Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 251: English reviews
Start your review of The Shores Hotel
 Click to rate
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband had booked this hotel for a night away via booking.com. We had received confirmation of our booking via booking.com. On arrival we were greeted by Enid, the owner. She had no record of our booking and there was no room available for us. She said she didn't understand how the booking.com system worked and she had not been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank g_and_a99
Enid H, Manager at The Shores Hotel, responded to this review

I am so very sorry about your booking mixup and i do hope that you have fond some where to stay once again am very sorry.

Reviewed 12 February 2017

Requested cash payment as soon as we arrived which wasn't a problem as they had called my partner before we arrived to request that we paid in cash, just wish we'd seen the room beforehand. We stayed with our two grandaughters aged 5 and 10 who were not impressed with the room at all as they had Blue bunkbeds. room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jillythekid P
Enid H, Manager at The Shores Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review your opion has been knoted

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for bonfire weekend with family, all had different rooms and were all great rooms to stay in,, It has very recently been taken over by new owners on 1/11/16,, A lady called Enid, her husband and grandson now run the hotel. All the previous bad comments about this hotel have all been solved by the new owners, It's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Granttanya30
Management response:

Thank you so much for your Review my family and I look forward to welcome you and your family back. Thanks Enid

liverpool
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We stayed here for the Halloween weekend. As the title suggests the pictures we seen on booking . com are not the room we got given. We had room 11 upon entry the room smelled damp / musky. The room had artex on the walls and ceiling and was pretty small. The bathroom needs updating and finishing off as the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank david1380
Management response:

Thank you David your coment will be taken into consideration

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We had a family room for 2 adults 1 child,the room was very clean and fresh,the bar and childrens play was great,the breakfast was very very good with good selection,if we return to blackpool will book shores again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank derek4boromanger
Cumbria
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We arrived after a really eventful morning, awful time. But we were welcomed by the really helpful lady owner. She was great really caring and concerned about what we had gone through. My mum arrived before me and she was shown round our room. Which was on the 2nd floor and was a deluxe 2 bedroom family room. Lovely room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona84Cumbria
Enid H, Owner at The Shores Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you Review look forword to seeing you on your next visit to Blackpool. ENID

Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

There were steep steps to enter the property, however it was a lovely gesture and of great help when the owner carried my heavy bag up the two flights of stairs to my room. The room itself was smaller than I expected, the carpet and bed headboard were stained and require cleaning, however the bed was comfotable and linen clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita B
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

i recently booked this guest house last minute for me and my grandson,the rooms are clean and well equipped and the owners and staff are extremely helpful and friendly.the breakfast set up is the best i have seen in a guest house and the kids room in the bar area is equipped with air hockey ,xbox and playstation which was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christopher a
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

In the write up about the hotel/b&b itself it classes it's rooms as 'quirky' I'd say our family room was VERY basic, especially the bathroom. Nothing quirky about it. If anything it needs to be updated - yes there was a flatscreen tv with freeview as advertised, however this was around 4 metres from our bed and being 19inch we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kat 'kitz' H
Michael W, Owner at The Shores Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kat, thanks for your review. Our write up does not describe our rooms as quirky, I'm not sure where you got this information but definitely not from our website which is the only write up I myself have written. If you read our welcome email, sent out as you book, we mention all access problems, thus giving the booker...

Peterborough
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Would recommend in a heart beat.staff were fantastic. Room was great. Kids loved it.great play roomg for them. Clean guest house. But definitely the staff (owners make it what is) I don't particularly like blackpool and won't be rushing back but if I did.... this would be my 1st choice

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mmoss_262081

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 km away
Lichfield Hotel
Lichfield Hotel
#165 of 912 in Blackpool
108 reviews
0.2 km away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#89 of 912 in Blackpool
72 reviews
0.5 km away
Willin House Hotel
Willin House Hotel
#242 of 912 in Blackpool
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Garnett Hotel
The Garnett Hotel
#19 of 912 in Blackpool
295 reviews
0.3 km away
Aysgarth House Hotel
Aysgarth House Hotel
#183 of 912 in Blackpool
100 reviews
0.2 km away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#302 of 912 in Blackpool
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ENID & LESTER welcome you to The Shores. A licensed family run Guest House situated 150 metres from Central Pier, adjacent to the Promenade and the beach. We offer a selection of rooms, from single rooms to family suites that sleep 5, all of our rooms are en-suite, have tea/coffee making facilities, Freeview flat screen TV's/DVD players, Hairdryers and Hair Straighteners. We are a short walk from Blackpool Tower, Grand Theatre, Winter Gardens and Houndshill shopping centre, bus and tram stops are two minutes from the hotel giving access to all of Blackpool's attractions, The Pleasure Beach, Sandcastle, the 3 Piers, Zoo, Casino, Farmer Parr's Animal World, Blackpool Model Village, Fleetwood Market and Freeport Outlet Shopping. Free WiFi is available throughout the premises. There is on street free parking outside the hotel but sadly this can't be reserved. We are fluent in English, Russian & Geordie! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Shores Hotel

Address: 29-31 Tyldesley Road, Blackpool FY1 5DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: RM234 - RM402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Shores Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Shores Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Girvan, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Shores Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles jillythekidp, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Please contact them prior to get a renovated room, state no artex may help!”
 of 5 bubbles david1380, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Central location”
 of 5 bubbles 147nickies, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Top floor is the quietest”
 of 5 bubbles 530kevina, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there”
 of 5 bubbles petalyndsey, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5