We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Cameo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Cameo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Cameo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 56: English reviews
Silloth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2016

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this friendly guesthouse. The room was spotless. All amenities were there plus one of the best showers we have used. Breakfasts were well cooked and presented. We also had an evening meal one night which was excellent value and all fresh produce. The location is very good, a 5 minute... More 

Helpful?
Thank Q4693EDchrisj
leicester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

we had a short mon-fri break here for half term and loved the hotel. we was able to take our dog also and janet didnt charge any extra like some hotel do.. breakfast was beautiful and the evening meal was ample. rooms was spotless and we was im the top floor and we had no problem with the wifi whatsoever.... More 

Helpful?
Thank xxxxkerryxxxx
Janet D, Owner at The Cameo, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I'm pleased you enjoyed both the accommodation and the food. Welcome back any time! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

I spent two nights in The Cameo with, my partner. We were greeted with a very warm and welcoming smile, which didn't seem to go away! The landlady was definitely the most pleasant I've ever met. She showed us to our room (as you would expect) but talked us through everything, and told us that we would need to run... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank safcturbo
Janet D, Owner at The Cameo, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I'm pleased the food and accommodation met your expectations. I always get a bit nervous about cooking for chefs! (I'm pleased it didn't show!) Best Wishes. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

Myself and 2 others stayed at the Cameo Hotel and were delighted to find the accommodation spotless and our Landlady most welcoming and good company as well as the lady who helps with breakfast and cleaning rooms who was always cheery and helpful. The hotel is situated close to the main shopping area as well as being only a few... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaxMaxine68
Janet D, Owner at The Cameo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review; sorry it's taken me so long to respond! I'm very pleased you and your party enjoyed your break. Best Wishes. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Spent the bank holiday weekend at the cameo really enjoyed it.The room was spotless excellent shower and the breakfast was great.Janet is a lovely lady will definitely go back again.You are within walking distance of the Tower and the beach. Chris and Ann

Helpful?
2 Thank CHRIS K
Janet D, Owner at The Cameo, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review; sorry it's taken me so long to respond! I'm very pleased you appreciated both the accommodation and the breakfasts. Hope to see you again some time. Best Wishes. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

For the price this hotel is good. When you pay £45 per night you don't expect the Hilton and I think that some people can be far too critical. Janet was very friendly and welcomed us all in a prompt fashion. The room was nice. Small bathroom, but well laid out for the space available. The hotel was also very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NeilLulaB
Janet D, Owner at The Cameo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the breakfasts! You're right! I can't do anything about the very few establishments in the surrounding area who still take stag and hen parties (who tend to be up until most people's breakfast time) but unfortunately, it only takes one large, rowdy group to keep the whole... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

We visited here for the weekend, on arrival we were locked out the b&b for 30 mins as the owner had gone out. The place is clean and tidy, Janet runs the place alone and does a good job of breakfast although the portions are bit shy. If you drink alcohol your best off telling her in advance as doesn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank saraho861
Janet D, Owner at The Cameo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, even if I do find it unduly negative. The only reason I was out (max. 20 mins.) was because I wasn't expecting you to arrive several hours earlier than you had originally told me. I checked my emails immediately before I went out and the email you sent whilst you were on route hadn't reached... More 

derbyshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Hi what a lovely three days we spent at this b+b rooms spotless food excellent Janet is such a lovely person This b+b allow small dogs as I took mine as long as they are good and don't make to much noise The only prob you will have is parking on the street but I suppose that's blackpool for you... More 

Helpful?
Thank jujuju65
Janet D, Owner at The Cameo, responded to this review

Thank you, Julie for your lovely review. The dogs were no bother! At least Yorkies don't shed hair everywhere! Pleased you enjoyed your stay. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2015

I recently stayed at the Cameo with two adults with learning disabilities. I found the owner to be personable, and completely at home talking to my clients like anyone else, which is rare. The breakfast was prompt and good, there is a tight window for breakfast, but as it's all made fresh i understand and it tasted good for it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Intellitubby
Janet D, Owner at The Cameo, responded to this review

Thanks for your favourable (and very detailed) review! I'm really pleased that you and your 'charges' enjoyed your stay and appreciated the facilities and service. I have a nasty habit of treating people with 'special needs' as normal, run of the mill guests; after all, they've paid to stay here and deserve the same service and courtesy as anyone else!... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile

Good quality and value for money guest house. Room was clean,tidy,modernised, comfortable bed and ideal en-suite.Breakfast was spot on with plenty of choice.Close to all amenities and shops.will definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Robert D
Janet D, Owner at The Cameo, responded to this review

Thanks, Robert, for your positive review. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Suggestions for improvements are always welcome! Best Wishes, Janet. More 

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.5 km away
New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
1.2 km away
By The Seaside
By The Seaside
#86 of 915 in Blackpool
265 reviews
3.1 km away
The Corona
The Corona
#25 of 915 in Blackpool
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Newholme Hotel
The Newholme Hotel
#480 of 915 in Blackpool
26 reviews
0.0 km away
Kenilworth Hotel - Hornby Rd.
Kenilworth Hotel - Hornby Rd.
#499 of 915 in Blackpool
14 reviews
0.0 km away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#26 of 915 in Blackpool
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
3 Star Visit Britain guest accommodation. Good central location. Licensed. Fully renovated and modernised. Ten double glazed, en-suite guest rooms. Standard breakfast comprises fruit juice or grapefruit segments, choice of cereals, full English cooked breakfast, toast with preserves, tea and fresh coffee. Special diets, such as gluten free, vegetarian or vegan can be provided on request. Families, couples, singles, dancers, conference delegates and contractors welcome, but no stag or hen parties. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cameo

Address: 30 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: RM269 - RM325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cameo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cameo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cameo staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Cameo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 2 is a single room, with a double bed.”
 of 5 bubbles 85joan, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the rear are very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 520joanl, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“ask for a lower level room for better wi-fi reception, though the top floor does get it, it's a weak signal.”
 of 5 bubbles Intellitubby, 8 Jun 2015 | Read review
“all rooms I been in are great”
 of 5 bubbles 830paddyp, 28 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Parking available on Reads Avenue Secure Car Park, cheaper than the Central Carpark and more secure”
 of 5 bubbles bladerunner79, 28 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay