We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Royal Alexandra Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Royal Alexandra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 265: English reviews
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with another 3 adults for two nights from Friday 7th Oct and left on Sunday morning. Rooms were basic but clean enough, plenty of wardrobe space, drawers etc. Usual tea and coffee making facilities, although because the coffee was cheap it tasted pretty horrible ! We were on the top floor in two of the 'refurbished rooms' although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuperSonic1979
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to review us. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday for the most part - Guest feedback is very important to us so we can improve. In regards to Breakfast time- Should something not be up to standard during meal times or you would like a little more- our staff will...

Barrhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Very central for everything. Room was clean and newly painted. Food was good and nothing was a problem if u wanted any more . Cheerful fun staff. Good bar prices. No complaints at all except bar / lounge got very warm at night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind review- it's lovely to hear you had a great time on holiday with us. Guest comments are very important to us and it really is a pleasure reading positive reviews like yours. Hope to see you back at the Royal Alexandra in the future, all the very best GUEST RELATIONS

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Just got back from here... after a 2 night stay all I can say was that I was disgusted in what we saw the rooms were nothing like the pictures... they were worse!!! The breakfast in the morning was shocking and wouldn't even give it to a child. The price was an absolute rip off, you hardly saw any staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Courtney G
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for your feedback. It's upsetting to hear you didn't enjoy your time away with us. Please be assured that all guest comments are taken on board so we can continue to improve. Management are working very hard to ensure issues are being dealt with. Guest happiness is our up most priority. As mentioned in previous responses-...

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Second year running (not my choice to come back) and I had hoped that my review last year was perhaps not going to reflect how I felt this year. This hotel is a SHAMBLES. Not accessible for anyone who struggles walking up narrow and crooked staircases. The bathrooms are pokey, cramped, smelly and dirty. The food is overpriced and simply...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nina N
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your feedback. We are sorry we haven't met your expectations on this occasion. We ask all guests to notify reception / ourselves immediately should you feel something is not up to standard- this way we can rectify issues to try and ensure a more enjoyable holiday. We assure all guests that comments are taken on...

Glasgow
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Good points. The cabaret bar was modern, bright, pleasant surroundings, comfortable seats and the staff were very pleasant and it had a good atmosphere, the hostess for your evening was lovely and the entertainment was fabulous, look out for Ashley and Ben if you are going to any of the Blackpool Promotions hotels, both were great singers and genuinely nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RosemaryGlasgow
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry we haven't met your expectations on this occasion- all guest comments are taken on board so we can improve. The Royal Alexandra is constantly undergoing refurbishment but as you will appreciate this unfortunately isn't something that can be done over night, all we ask is for our lovely guests...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Food was good but rooms were so small you couldn't move in them.Very closed in was like a box room we were in heating would not go off at all no button to turn it off.My husband is athematic and could not breathe was very uncomfortable trying to seep as was so small the room was like a sauna room.Staffwere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest we thank you for your review. We urge all of our guests to contact reception / management should something not be up to standard, Your happiness is our priority and we will always do everything we can to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Another more suitable room could have been arranged for you should you have made...

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Went Monday to Monday and enjoyed our stay. Room clean and adequate for our needs. Hotel in a great location for all attractions and shops. Food good and excellent service. Nothing to complain about and we would return again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann U
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your positive review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us and that you would return, please recommend us to your friends and family! We do hope you won't leave it too long to visit again, take care GUEST RELATIONS

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Stayed at this hotel from 23 to 26 September with my dad (age 77) and my son (age 12). Room was clean and fine for a short stay. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice, dinner on the other hand was a bit disappointing. There were 3 sittings available and it was anything but a liesurely meal, to keep things moving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank connorscott
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your review. We are very sorry we haven't met your expectations on this occasion. The Royal Alexandra is just one of many hotels we offer at Blackpool Promotions, i would maybe suggest either the Royal Carlton or the newly refurbished Royal Boston next time for a less hectic stay as these hotels offer a more...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

went on a blackpool promotions mega deal package so we did not know the hotel till 3 days befor we left the hotel is a bit tierd but fine no good if you have limated mobility. the staf were helpful the maid did not leave milk but I just asked at reception and she gave me a hand full food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elaine B
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. All guest comments are taken on board so we can improve on our already great product. Its great to hear that you would consider us again, hopefully soon! Take care GUEST RELATIONS

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

went on blackpool promotions,monday to Friday room was ok ,staff fine and helpful,like lots of places in blackpool hotels they try there best but paint work and such lots to be desired.breakfast cerial fresh juices .bacon beans sausage egg waffle every morning but enough for me and wendy.evening meals done in 3 sittings would recommend the last one then perhaps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Montgomery S
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We hope you will visit us again in the future, GUEST RELATIONS

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.9 km away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#30 of 72 in Blackpool
766 reviews
2.4 km away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
772 reviews
0.0 km away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#26 of 72 in Blackpool
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
#6 of 72 in Blackpool
658 reviews
0.1 km away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#44 of 72 in Blackpool
194 reviews
0.1 km away
Melville Hotel
Melville Hotel
#62 of 72 in Blackpool
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Refurbished town centre hotel right in the heart of the resort close to the Winter Gardens, The Grand and all the amusements your heart could desire,beautiful en-suite rooms for all, including our four poster, doubles, twins triples and large family rooms with cot beds, each room has refreshments and 26 or 32 LCD flat screen TVs.Our hotel serves a buffet breakfast were you can eat and drink as much as you like. Alexandra boasts a coffee shop where morning coffee and afternoon tea is served and we pride in home baking,Evening meals for fill most appetites with a choice of menu with fresh local produce daily. Evening entertainment in our cosy cabaret bar with fun and games for all, If you are peckish call room service for our 24 hour house menu. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Alexandra Hotel

Address: 74 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: RM219 - RM554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Alexandra Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
3 days ago
3 months ago
Dunfermline
4 months ago
5 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Alexandra Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great stay at The Royal Alexandra”
 of 5 bubbles 355adeled, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 313!”
 of 5 bubbles simonwZ7945KE, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“None to give”
 of 5 bubbles W8760IGlesleym, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lifts for each floor but only would accommodate 2 safely, 4 at a push”
 of 5 bubbles 360maureenb, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the back are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles hielsa, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay