We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Canberra Hotel

View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Canberra Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 32: English reviews
Start your review of The Canberra Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Just arrived home after a weekend here. It may not look swanky and modern from outside, but once your inside its clean , warm and friendly We had a family room, it was well appointed, with a double and a set of bunk beds, flat screen tv, kettle and coffee , tea and chocolate, even complimentary mints. The breakfast was...

Thank mossCheshire
SamanthaR_06, Guest Relations Manager at The Canberra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back, we are glad you had a pleasant stay and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit with your grandchildren. Pearl

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was looking forward to stay in the Canberra hotel after looking at the picture of the room but As soon we came to the hotel it smell of food had puts me off but had no choice to stay had kids with us and paid in advance by ringing the hotel for the one nite, Staff didn't bothered giving us...

2Thank tanya a
geoffreym844, Owner at The Canberra Hotel, responded to this review

this is totally untrue as you are well aware, you booked a family room for two adults and two children, you checked in with two adults and one child and one baby. However at about 1am, you phoned to say you required a cot for the baby and only then did we discover you had two children and a baby,...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on Sat 01/04/17 for two nights and must say we were far from impressed. I'll make it short and sweet: the owner is friendly but the hotel is run down, smells awful and everything makes you not want to touch it as the whole place has an unclean feel about it. We were mislead by the photo's as...

3Thank Michael C
geoffreym844, Owner at The Canberra Hotel, responded to this review

I have no record of a Michael C staying at our hotel during the week commencing 1st April let alone that weekend and as we have to keep a record of all guests, that is a bit of a mystery, to say the least. I refute everything you have stated, we are a family hotel and we are successful thank...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

I should say that we paid very little to stay here, a bargain £59 for bed and breakfast two nights, however regardless of money there are certain standards I'd expect. Nice welcome to the place, parking consists of a few spaces next to and around the side of the street, room was first floor and although very small, there was...

2Thank LYPud
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2017

February 2017: Everything started so well. The booking went smoothly and even the journey up the M6 went quickly with no delays and we hurtled towards the centre of Blackpool. Google promptly found The Canberra hotel and we entered the address into the Sat Nav. 10 minutes later and we had ‘arrived at our destination’. Funny, the place looked closed?...

Thank k13gmh
Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

What a lovely hotel and hosts .Rooms lovely and clean with lovely touches and extras in the rooms, has car parking , large choice for breakfast nothing is to much trouble for the owners ,would recommend the Canberra to anyone ,we will defiantly be staying again .

Thank buddo11
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Just got back from a 2 night stay here, free parking outside. Close to pubs, places to eat, casino (which we really enjoyed) and tram stations which are a short ride to the tower and Blackpool centre. Rooms were a little small but we managed ok, beds weren't the comfiest but I slept ok. Nice and warm - maybe to...

3Thank Sam N
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Good location, close to Velvet coaster pub, pleasure beach, sea front, added bonus of FREE PARKING. Very friendly run B& B. 👍nice people. Would recommend to families and couples. Better than a lot of front line places.

2Thank gary g
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Just got back from a 2 nights stay not sure if i stayed at the same place as other reviewers! Room was very small the hotel seemed to be run by one woman who was very pleasant. the hotel was looking very tired. WE where woken every morning about 5am by the sound of flushing toilets and showers which sounded...

2Thank dfree2016
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We stayed at the Canberra for two nights last week,and felt like part of the family they were all very pleasant folks who are originally from down south, not your usual miserable Blackpool guest house owners, breakfast was lovely nothing was too much trouble highly recommended. So close to all the main attractions we will definitely be going back, see...

1Thank moonmuel

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (14)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Room/Suite (2)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (12)
Room/Suite (6)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Dining (3)
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 km away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#46 of 70 in Blackpool
196 reviews
3.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
3,061 reviews
2.0 km away
Canberra Hotel
Canberra Hotel
#199 of 853 in Blackpool
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Hotel Famille
Hotel Famille
#634 of 853 in Blackpool
66 reviews
0.3 km away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#228 of 853 in Blackpool
145 reviews
1.1 km away
Minotel Lucena
Minotel Lucena
#92 of 127 in Blackpool
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When we were trying to book up for our family holiday each year, wherever we wanted to stay, it was so difficult, to get a Hotel to take two adults, at least 3 children, one of whom had food intolerances and our 3 family dogs, or if there was some Hotel available, we needed a second mortgage to pay for the privilege and so invariably we ended staying in a caravan. Nothing wrong with that but when you have to cater for the family all year round, it is so nice to be waited on and have everything done for you during your holiday. Our policy as far as our Hotel is concerned is to overcome all of those problems, to operate virtually a 4 star Hotel, be spotlessly clean, cater for food intolerances and pets and all at a price that everybody can afford. Blackpool is a wonderful location for a short break or for your annual holiday, either with the family, as a couple or to enjoy between business meetings. The Canberra Hotel is in a great position, close to the seafront and all the attractions, such as the Pleasure Beach, Blackpool Tower and the Golden Mile. We are a family operated, fully licensed Hotel and have a lovely, relaxing bar area where you can enjoy a few drinks after a busy day of sight-seeing and enjoying yourselves. We offer bed and breakfast with optional evening meal and a Dining Room, serving up a wide variety of tasty options, and catering for food intolerances / preferences. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Canberra Hotel

Address: 46 Withnell Road, Blackpool FY4 1HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: RM235 - RM432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Canberra Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Canberra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Canberra Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Canberra Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go elsewhere”
michaelc914, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel if you want a good room”
dfree2016, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It's like home from home”
O4129LTsueh, 29 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Some rooms are larger and more spacious than others. If you want a more spacious room opt foor room 1, 4 or 5. Room 5 is a beautiful twin room, spacious and super clean with wooden floors. Room 4 is a large family room and is perfect if you want a lot of space or if you're a family. Room 4 is also a slightly cooler room which is lovely if you like to sleep in a cooler temperature, perfect in summer time. Room 5 has windows to the street so if you're a very light sleeper I'd recommend the rooms that face to the garden - the owners know exactly which rooms face to the garden.”
567lindar567, 18 Jun 2013 | Read review
“The 3 bed room is massive, they all have a shower and toilet except for the twin room, which just has a shower, but there is a toilet just down the hallway”
Julie190786, 14 Jun 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
US$71* /night
View Deal
View all 7 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates