We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Belmont Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Belmont Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

769 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 751: English reviews
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

stayed here one night to present a conference. lovely room and really nice breakfast. warm cosy atmosphere and special mention to the lady waitresses at breakfast who was above and beyond helpful. will stay again definitely

Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As the Hilton had almost doubled its price in just under a year (with its awful location for non-car users), the Belmont Hotel turned out to be a really good and much better value alternative. It doesn't have that chain-hotel feel (though am perfectly happy in a chain hotel where the standards are good) while being clean, comfortable and spacious... More 

Helpful?
Thank Squid397
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night in a superior twin room. Room was well furnished and a reasonable size but not large. Bathroom was lovely with good shower and facilities. Beds were very soft but comfortable but not for those who like a firm mattress. We did get an early morning call at 7am despite not having booked one which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank WoodlandsOK
Waterbeach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had room 408 on the ground floor, nice room but watch the step when you enter the room plus the step into the bathroom, comfy bed, car park too small, 10 minute walk into town. Bar prices reasonable but last night no plain crisps!! Phil the barman found some small shortbread biscuits for us to nibble on, thank you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter J
UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a great hotel! Period type building on the exterior but with contemporary decor inside. Free parking, free wifi, extremely pleasant staff including both receptionists I dealt with at check in and check out and both room service staff (lovely polish young lady during the evening and young man at breakfast). Sorry I didnt get their names to name them... More 

Helpful?
Thank suitcasecarrier
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We expected more modern surroundings and rooms. The hotel was generally poorly lit and decorated. The cooked breakfast was dry and tasteless. The staff were friendly and helpful but not trained up to a standard expected of this type of hotel. The shower failed halfway through leaving me to rinse my hair under the bath taps. Extremely noisy creaking floors... More 

Helpful?
Thank stuartdeakin
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I dined last Thursday (10th November) at the Belmont Hotel before going on to a show at dMH, and had the most attentive service and best quality food we've ever had anywhere. The macerated plums were simply the most delicious sweet course I've ever had! We've been fortunate enough to eat at some excellent restaurants, but this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chrisncarrol
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent dining experience at The Belmont Hotel, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, the team and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Regards Eloic More 

Potters Bar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having arrived early, it was a pleasure to sit, eat and drink in Jamie's bar until I checked in. My room exceeded expectations with lovely decor and a homely feel - the ironing board and iron were a lovely touch. Dinner in another section of Jamie's bar was again very nice and most of the menu was available in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Leekraushaar
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review

Great review, thank you very much indeed, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed what the hotel has to offer. We hope to welocme you back very soon. Regards Eloic More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After looking on trip advisor this hotel looked very good, bit expensive maybe but went ahead. Location is good and has free parking. However the rooms were awful. Cigarette burns in the chairs, wallpaper peeling off the walls, old furniture, cracks in bathroom sink, dirty finger prints on shower ceiling. Both myself and my colleague asked for our rooms to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review

I am really sorry to read that you did not enjoy your time with us, we did not refuse to move you but unfortunately the night you stayed in we were fully booked and were unable to do so. I hope that you will still consider the Belmont when visiting the YMCA or Leicester. Regards Eloic More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just found this hotel by sheer chance. We were shown a couple of rooms on the evening by a member of staff, a couple "To be refurbished and a couple Refurbished." The refurbished were very good and decided to stay in one of those. We had a problem with a noise in the room so sleep was not great,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pmstudios
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to speak to me on check out and posting a lovely review. I hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best wishes Eloic More 

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
2.1 km away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#4 of 41 in Leicester
317 reviews
0.7 km away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
802 reviews
0.6 km away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
572 reviews
5.5 km away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Windows on New Walk
Windows on New Walk
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stylish family-owned hotel in the heart of Leicester. Pretty, leafy location, minutes from the station with free parking. Character Victorian Town House, stylish bedrooms varying from modern to traditional, with latest in WiFi access. Well located for theatre breaks (minutes from De Montfort Hall, & close to Curve theatre) and shopping at the fantastic new Highcross quatter. The place to stay in Leicester. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Address: De Montfort Street, Leicester LE1 7GR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Price Range: RM353 - RM667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belmont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Leicester
Best Western Leicester
Leicester Best Western
The Belmont Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leicester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Family Hotel in Leicester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Belmont Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Belmont Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask about those recently refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles chrisncarrol, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“avoid rooms 201 and 105”
  • wallpaper coming off
 of 5 bubbles stevekH9009ET, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with windows on the New Walk.”
 of 5 bubbles Wellgrove, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I have no idea!”
 of 5 bubbles LondonBallerina, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you have any problems with climbing stairs ask for a room near one of the lifts”
 of 5 bubbles Thomsgran, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay