We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Poplars

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Poplars
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 189: English reviews
Start your review of The Poplars
 Click to rate
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night back in march Nice room on the top floor with a view over looking the city and sky TV free wifi and toilets are shared but very clean would recommend this hotel beautiful breakfast room catered well for dietary needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YouKnowCarter
Angmering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Small friendly b&b in ideal location close to cathedral and castle but steep climb up hill from station. Key codes on doors require careful attention and not ideal after beer or two. But otherwise great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We turned up the night after the booking, which was embarrassing. But the owner of the B&B offered us a room in one of their self catering houses near by - which was very kind. I think I'll be very careful with my booking dates next time!! We really appreciated the help and continued on to have a lovely weekend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheLostBlonde1970
Rosemont, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

No. #1, the staff are friendly and very helpful. My room was lovely, roomy, clean and warm. There is a refrigerator in the sunny breakfast room that can be used by all of the guests. Breakfast is self serve with fruit, bread and local jams available. All of the rooms and the main door have keypads so I felt very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SUE_JAN226
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017

My husband spotted this on booking.com and said it seemed to have good reviews, so I didn't question it when he booked it for a one night stay, following a family funeral that day. I have read other reviews on Trip Advisor and I do not understand why people would give it such high praise. It is a scruffy, run...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheila H
Cornwall
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Lovely B&B, lots of nice touches to make guests feel comfortable. We were only staying one night but it would have made a lovely base to explore Lincoln for a few days. WiFi was good. Shared bathroom, but very near. Good hot shower. Lovely continental breakfast with opportunity to boil eggs and make a cafetiere coffee.Yes, the drive is narrow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank XWCornwall
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed 1 night in a double with shared bathroom and loved it! Our room was small and cosy with an extra room leading off it which had a futon and wardrobes. Everywhere was clean and in good repair including the bathroom which looked like it had been refurbished in the last couple of years - the poor reviews I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna J
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this review

Many many thanks, we really enjoyed reading your positive review, we do a fair bit of traveling ourselves so hope to share what we would expect without breaking your budget. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Hard to find on Google maps. Drive access for your car is horrendous as is really narrow and we almost lost our wing mirrors! The photos on Booking.com are quite deceiving. It was clean and tidy but nothing like the boutique feel and look that they are trying to sell it as! Breakfast was a disappointment as it was just...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ktarchie75
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Booked the Poplars at short notice for a short break in Lincoln. Location was absolutely perfect - right next to the castle and the town centre. Was met by lovely staff member that showed us our room and all the features. Very helpful and informative and really made us feel welcome. The room was lovely. The decor and victorian features...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Shared Bathrooms !!! The walls of the rooms are too thin and you can't have a minute of silence. One of the worst places i've ever been Uncomfortable, smelly, the ramp of the parking lot its too steep (I broke the car's license plate). Breakfast at inconvenient hours. I will never go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GiovanniVeMi
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this review

Giovanni, you booked a discounted non refundable Shared bathroom room through booking.com. You were upset when you realised you had not booked an en-suite. Rather than seeing if we could accommodate you in one of our en-suites or an apartment you left. As you know or maybe not as you didn't stay the walls are not thin, the rooms are...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.6 km away
202 Guest House
202 Guest House
#5 of 53 in Lincoln
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Rest
The Rest
#2 of 53 in Lincoln
421 reviews
0.3 km away
Pemberton House
Pemberton House
#47 of 53 in Lincoln
12 reviews
0.4 km away
Cathedral View Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Poplars

Address: The Poplars Beaumont Fee, Lincoln LN1 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Price Range: RM239 - RM350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Poplars 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Poplars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Poplars Hotel Lincoln
The Poplars Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Poplars staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Poplars staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top Floor Bedroom For Good View”
 of 5 bubbles YouKnowCarter, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room was a good size and we had all the facilities required in the kitchen, but the en suite was bijou....”
 of 5 bubbles TheLostBlonde1970, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A room on the second floor would help you to avoid another flight of stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles SUE_JAN226, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor gives lovely views of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles XWCornwall, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They all seem good”
 of 5 bubbles petertC8499LR, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5