We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Wellington Hotel

Show Prices
#495 of 1,080 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Wellington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

450 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 378: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Work Christmas party so was not in the room for long but served a purpose. Room layout certainly deals with providing comfort and most mod-cons in a compact room, Bathroom is a testament to efficiency. Décor works and over all the place provides good value for money for a central London (Southbank) location. You are over the road from Waterloo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HRM135
Roseville, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Another great stay at the Wellington. Location to Wellington Tube/Station is the key here (right across the street), which gives you easy access to the stations pharmacy, grocery store, and quick snack/eating establishments. Had the quad room (27 I think) again. And we love it - pull out couch makes for the 4th bed, and works great for us. Do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank THEMKP
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to do this review and just to let you know I look and read all reviews or at least I try to . The room you was in was 23 and just to let you know I was aware of a few issue with the room so as it happens this Thursday the...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great pub good atmosphere close to station waterloo bridge would consider staying in the hotel next time when visit Waterloo as in walking distance to waterloo bridge for easy access over the river etc and imax cinema is a few minutes walk - less than 5 mins

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya Z
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Afternoon Tanya Thank you for the review I believe you said it all we are close to everything no more to say but may I wish you a very happy new year and I hope 2017 is a good year for you Kind Regards Mark Leeds

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although the location is great the room was very disappointing. Bathroom was fine but the bedroom was tiny. The twin beds were on a rug that had stains on every visible inch of it. Breakfast was served in the bar where Sky News was blaring from about three different TVs. Not the most relaxing start to the day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Anne Thank you for taking the time out to do a review I am so sorry we did not meet your standards . I have taken actions on your comments about the carpet in your room just to let you know with regards to the T Vs in the morning please why did you not say anything you see most...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Wellington for three nights over Christmas and enjoyed the experience. The location was ideal as I was going on a Thames cruise from Westminster Pier on Christmas Day and going to a show at The Festival Hall in Boxing Day. I was greeted by a friendly receptionist and check in was easy. There were a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulieJ48
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Afternoon Julie Thank you for your review on your stay here with us at the wellington I will pass on your comments to the rest of my team please take care and I hope we get to see you with us again Happy new year Mark Leeds

France
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Dreadful room, narrow single pull-down bed with sagging mattress, dirty stool as only chair, non-functioning TV, non-functioning bedside light. Was nearly in tears and requested different room (being too late to get a different hotel entirely). After some rearranging, the hotel management did kindly change me to a better room (6 instead of 5). I stayed for 4 nights but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I have just seen your review I am shocked at what you have said ! now I am going to look into your booking and do a full investigation PLEASE get in touch with me ask for mark I am the Manager and let me show you the real wellington . I am so sorry you had a...

essex
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Great location for the Royal festival hall with only a few minutes walk. Very friendly helpful staff. Nice clean rooms with ensuite shower room, would be a problem if you find it hard to walk up a few flights of stairs. Good bar menu but it can be a bit hard to find a table to eat at. breakfast ok...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lionhall
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to do a review I will look into the tables at breakfast and I am so sorry about not having a lift but like me the wellington is a old building . Merry Christmas Mark

UK Southampton
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Wellington for one night, pub looked grea, top floor so lots of steps, room was small but very nice, there was a bit of road noise from drunk people shouting etc but I knew that was a risk before booking, all in all a great hotel for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrinceyNaz
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Afternoon thanks for the review I am sorry about the noise but it being Christmas does not help as well . As for the steps I cant say a thing . I hope you have a very merry Christmas Kind Regards Mark

durham uk
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

It's just outside Waterloo station so is ideally located for pre rugby drinks before catching the train to Twickenham. It's got all the usual offerings at reasonable for London prices and although we didn't sample the food it all looked ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunlunlad
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rugby fan a big thank you for the review I hope you enjoyed the game the England team done us proud have a good Christmas Regards Mark

Howell,NJ
Reviewed 18 November 2016

This hotel is very centrally located to all the top attractions in London. The prices were very fair for a city hotel. The rooms were adequate. However, try to get a room on a lower floor, as there is no elevator and the stairs are quite narrow & steep. Breakfast was included. It is part of a pub and near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hwllmary
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Morning thank you for the review and like you say we are close to everything ! sorry about not having any lift but this is a very old building just like me . Have a very merry Christmas Mark

395 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (44)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (245)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Luxury Double Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Single Room (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Twin Room (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
The Mad Hatter Hotel
The Mad Hatter Hotel
#203 of 1,080 in London
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#609 of 1,080 in London
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family hotel with restaurant, near London Eye Free full breakfast and WiFi Main amenities: 25 smoke-free guest rooms, restaurant, ATM/banking services, tour/ticket assistance What’s around: In South Bank London Eye (0.4 mi / 0.6 km) ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: 81 - 83 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: RM555 - RM952 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#276 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wellington Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Wellington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lower floors, as there is no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles hwllmary, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room LOWER than 3rd floor”
 of 5 bubbles trishc2013, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms seem to be the same quality . if a light sleeper train noise may annoy but did not bother any of our party in any way”
 of 5 bubbles hardman2015, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“be prepared for general London noise.”
 of 5 bubbles vickyw123452016, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Obviously rooms on the higher floors are quieter, but no lift means not ideal for people who have trouble with steps.”
 of 5 bubbles hitman22, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay