We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Elmwood Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Elmwood Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

467 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 314: English reviews
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The guy who checked us in wouldn't stop talking on his phone while doing the check-in. He gave us a small double room with the walls that had scratches, plugs wouldn't work and the shower...let's not talk about the shower. Not worth its price - 94€ - that included a small breakfast, but that was the most decent part of... More 

Helpful?
Thank AntiaGV
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent review towards your stay at Elmwood hotel and sharing your opinion with other future travellers, we apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay at our hotel, they receptionist was talking in the hotel bussines line with booking agent , and usually as they work solo situation like that can happen, but we apologies, the call... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We barely had room to walk around the bed, had a sheet and brown blanket so was cold. Water leak to celling,damaged fire door and holes to the flooring. Our friends room was tiny and the had no hot water in the shower, so they had to borrow our. Not the relaxing start to a girls weekend.

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty B
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review towards your recent stay at Elmwood hotel. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience caused. it would be more beneficial if you have reported your issues to our 24 hours front desk to offer you immediate relief to the problem. If you please feel free to contact me direct with some details about your staybin order... More 

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The first person we meet was called John, he was like all the gentlemen on reception very polite & a pleasure to speak to. We were in room 28, it was clean, fresh white towels, bed comfortable, yes you can hear outside BUT we both slept really well, we did not eat breakfast as we had to be out for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kernow T
John G, Owner at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review towards your recent stay at Elmwood hotel & sharing your experience with future travelers. It was our pleasure having a nice couple like you in our little budget hotel. You should have told us that you celebrating your 25th anivetsity at least we would have left a simple gift for you in the bedroom... More 

St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Ritz this ain't, but you know what The Elmwood is perfect for a short break. My husband and I stayed with our 11 year old son. For the price it was brilliant for a base for somewhere like London. Yes the room was small,(double and single bed),and the bathroom was more like a cupboard, but it was ideal for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debra H
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Debra, Thank you for your kind review towards your recent stay at Elmwood hotel & sharing your opinion on line with the future travelers , we are pleased to have your family at our little hotel & in behalf of the hotel managers and staff please accept our regards until we welcoming you again in the near future. More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

La ubicacion es excelente, el personal muy amable y el desayuno muy bueno y es gratis. me fui de Londres 8 dias y cuando volví, regresé a este hotel asi que lo recomiendo. En la zona tambien hay vida nocturna. La estacion central de kings cross pancras esta a 100 metros. The ubication is amazing, the recpcionists are very kind!!!!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arucha81
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your time sharing your opinion towards your recent stay at Elmwood hotel with future travelers And thanks for giving us top stars We enjoyed having you at our place & in behalf of the hotel managers & staff please accept our regards , We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I'd rather sleep in a tent. This place was deplorable. We only stayed a night but really contemplated leaving to go to a hostel. The room was small with a soiled comforter. We opened the door to the bathroom and it smelt horrible, I can't even describe it, maybe mildew and body odors. The shower curtain had dried white...substances we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chanel J
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback towards your recent stay at Elmwood Hotel, And sharing your personal opinion with future travelers. We apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We will take the points you mentioned very serious and we will deal with it soon, to avoid the same issues to happen again in the future. One more thing ,... More 

tonbridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We stayed here on Sat 22nd and booked 2 x double rooms as some friends were meeting us. We arrived at about 13:30. Check in was simple enough and nothing really to write home about. The room we had was on the same floor as the reception. It had a double bed, tv, tea & coffee facilities and a small... More 

Helpful?
Thank gavinc
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments also sharing your opinion with our future travellers , Your comments is appreciated & truly we are a budget hotel in central London, Regarding the safe box inside the room without batteries , its is mentioned on the guest information paper inside the room that to activate the safe contact the reception staff. More 

1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Well, on the plus side the room, number 11, was dirty old disgusting dark dingy. The mattress was at least 50 years old, totally unacceptable, Not a bad if you were back packing in India but shocking for a hotel in the heart of London. It would have been far more comfortable to have slept in the car. I didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Chris, Thank you for your review towards your recent stay at Elmwood hotel, We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed of your stay at Elmwood hotel. We will take your comments very serious and we will pass it to the hotel owners in order to deal with all the weak points you mentioned as soon as... More 

1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here after coming back from Disneyland and staying here was a disappointing way to end to our time away. The only positive points was that's it's close to St Pancreas and Kings Cross and near all shops and food outlets. Arrived at around 7pm and was shocked when me and my Husband walked into what is meant to me... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh F
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Tanks for your review towards your recent stay at Elmwood hotel, We are very sorry to hear that you weren't satisfy from our service. We apologies for any inconvenience caused during your short stay at our hotel. We have taken the points you mentioned very serious and we are dealing with it now and for sure we will treat all... More 

Burnley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We booked the Elmwood Hotel because of it's proximity to St Pancras, and we didn't want to spend an exhorbitant amount. The room was down a very narrow twisting staircase, which was very difficult to get suitcases down,and a shocking fire hazard. The tiny room had 2 beds, a single and a three-quarter, and the smallest en-suite ever, the lighting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris L

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#560 of 1,078 in London
850 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#246 of 1,078 in London
1,842 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#686 of 1,078 in London
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#367 of 1,078 in London
1,367 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#63 of 556 in London
526 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#64 of 556 in London
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Elmwood Hotel is convenient for all London Travelers, leisure or Business travelers, The Elmwood hotel is located just few minutes walk from kings Cross International,National and local under ground station,where is the Euro Star Train & the Direct connection to Paris, and all the UK cities and Towns, also the very central Location of the Elmwood hotel gives you a special experience and saves your time,The hotel close and 15 minutes walking to the British Museum, and Library, also to Euston train station, and few stops to Madam Tussaud's Museum, and 10 minutes by tube to the west end, Piccadilly, Covent garden and Trafalgar Square, nothing else you need when you are in London to be in a very central location such our Location, we are proud to provide this family run business of 35 en-suite bedrooms, budget clean and nice accommodation,with free WIFI,and breakfast. All our rooms with private en-suite shower and toilet, LCD & DVD TV, coffee and Tea facilities in the room,24 hours central heating,room safe deposit,and 24 hours front office.if you think of arranging a sightseeing tour in or outside London or having a trouble to manage your trip in the City, you will find us helping you in organizing your trip and planing it for you via our helpful front office staff and our reception desk, we will great you since the first minutes of your arrival with your free London city map, and up to your departure with our shuttle bus and the direct connection transfer to your airport.Our Job is to please you and seeing you smile and returning back to us, with out 12 years hotel experience we trust and ensure that your stay is trouble free with Elmwood hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elmwood Hotel

Address: 19 Argyle square | Kings cross London, London WC1 H8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: RM293 - RM809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Elmwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Elmwood Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Elmwood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 28 spotless”
 of 5 bubbles kernowt2016, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on the top floor,request a lower floor if you don't like stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles debrahO1175UK, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Que sea en piso bajo y con ventana”
 of 5 bubbles Arucha81, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisL461, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles zoeyrobinson, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay