We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Show Prices
#153 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,832: English reviews
Start your review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
 Click to rate
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a lovely hotel that feels cozy and small but appears to have a fair number of rooms. The room was a fair size for London, with a nice size bathroom with a nice rain shower and heated towel racks. Kettle with tea/coffee and biscuits was a lovely touch. The hotel is well-located, right by the British museum, close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beverly R
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A recent major refurbishment ( I think) has made this a very impressive place to stay - our first visit here. Quite convenient for theatres and Covent Garden and a little further for Oxford Street. The room was large for a London hotel with a well appointed bathroom. Breakfast was very good - with eggs, bacon and sausages set out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Brian S, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us at The Kingsley. I am so delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed the facilities. A lot of our previous guests have complimented us on the quality of our Breakfast and our chef...

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second stay at this hotel. It's ideally located for a theatre break - just a relaxed ten minute walk away and we were as impressed this time as we were on our previous visit. Rooms are stylish, comfortable and very quiet. Breakfast is excellent. Staff are informed, courteous and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen02ACE
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Helen02ACE, Thank you for your wonderful 5* review and choosing to stay with us again. Me and my team are absolutely delighted to read that you had a great stay this time too with us. It is always our intention to ensure that each and every guest of ours has a pleasant stay and I am happy that we...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautifull building with very friendly and helpfull staff. Room was immaculate and we'll appointed if somewhat 'cosy'. Really appreciated the bath tub. Breakfast was a little dissapointing; and could use a few more fresh elements. Otherwise very good value for money in a handy location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gia M
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Gia M, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us. Me and my team are delighted to read that you liked the facilities in the hotel and found the staff to be helpful. We really look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future at The...

Paris, France
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have been in this hotel several times, never found it great but still coming because very close to our office. I orderd some food from the room service tonight. It took 1 hour and 10 mns to get my dinner... I called the reception after 45 mns and looks like they had lost my order... Forget about this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean_Mi_le_Caribou
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Jean_Mi_le_Caribou, Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay with us. I am truly sorry that you did not have the stay you expected, and I must apologise for the issues you faced during your time with us. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss this matter with you further. I have included my email address...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and a friend stayed here for a night. We had a theatre showing booked, London eye, madam taussauds and wanted to do a bit of shopping. The hotel was so close to the theatre and just a 20 minute walk to everything else we wanted to do! Lovely, helpful staff, breakfast was beautiful and at weekends they serve it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kblade1
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Kblade1, Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback and highlighting the aspects of your stay that you enjoyed. The hotel is fortunate enough to be in an enviable location close to all the attractions and amenities. Also, as you have mentioned, we have a great choice at Breakfast and something that our guests have...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was very pleased with my stay as it was for my wife's birthday and 3year wedding anniversary they had a card of the staff in the room with some chocolates The room was clean and just the right size for what we needed Not the best view out the window but wasn't to fussed about that would recommend this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slmsste
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear slmsste, Thank you for your wonderful review. I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your preferred hotel to celebrate your Wedding anniversary. Me and my team were really excited to read that you loved the personalised and unique touches i.e. the card and the chocolates. I am also delighted to read that you found the...

ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Top marks to the (staff in) The Kingsley. I have stayed there a few times. As I am a light sleeper, I requested a quiet room. I was delighted that they were able to accommodate my request with a top floor (suite) room. The room was outstanding and I didn't hear a thing on either night. Breakfast was good, staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank killanigia
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear killanigia, Thank you for your wonderful 5* review !! Also, thank you for choosing to stay with us again. I have already shared your awesome comments with regards to the staff and their service with all my team and they were all very positively encouraged and motivated by your kind words. I am glad that we were able to...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is the second time we've stayed for an Awards Event. The hotel provides excellent accommodation. Breakfast was included but on second visit the service was poor with one particularly surly waitress. Perhaps just a one off but we expected it to be as good as first visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. I am so glad to read that this was your second visit to the hotel and hope that it forms a part of many more to come. I am also happy to know that you find the quality of our accommodation to be excellent. With regards...

Alges, Portugal
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Thistle Holbein hotel is very well located: 18 min to regent street, 10 min to oxford street. The room is very nice and the bath room. I had the chance to have a snack in the bar: good club sandwich. The breakfast is also very good, with different offers. The room ( at second floor) was quite noisy in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariana G
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Mariana G, Thank you for your lovely comments and taking the time to submit your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read that you were satisfied with your stay and enjoyed our facilities. As you mentioned the hotel is fortunate enough to be located quite centrally and close to the West End. With...

533 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (322)
Viewed
Room/Suite (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
1:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (126)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (23)
Viewed
Executive Room (28)
Viewed
Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,088 in London
3,006 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#75 of 1,088 in London
1,317 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Holborn
Club Quarters Hotel, Lincoln's Inn Fields
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#236 of 1,088 in London
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: RM822 - RM1,351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#122 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
8 months ago
Dublin, Ireland
London, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The suites are large and comfortable and quiet. They use modern heating and cooling without the use of air ducts and vents. Excellent!”
 of 5 bubbles AdamMcCoy, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't pick a single!!”
 of 5 bubbles alessandragH8422AM, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The annex is cold”
 of 5 bubbles mic19662016, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Found the room to be noisy from what ever was going on outside first thing in the mornings. Sounded like bottle banks being emptied etc!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 615bazc, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are two single travellers, make sure that you ask for the beds to be separated.”
 of 5 bubbles U5611DGtoms, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5