We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express London City

1.3 km from London centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express London City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 767: English reviews
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed here for one night during my business trip to London. The reception staff were frinedly and my check-in was very quick however I learned that despite my IHG Rewards card there was no upgrade possibility in this hotel. My standard room on the 2nd floor was small as usual for UK's standards and was facing the backstreet but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MMO_Istanbul
Crosby, Liverpool
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed here as part of a Newmarket coach trip - a switch from the advertised "Docklands" hotel. We were booked in for bed and continental breakfast, and both were acceptable. The bed was very comfortable with a choice of frim or soft pillows. The room had TV , tea and coffee, and several mirrors! the shower was a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mererid
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Dear Mererid, Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am pleased to know that you found our beds comfortable and our room overall good. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can...

Missouri
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A single night to get over jet lag before attending business sessions nearby. Arrived around 9 a.m., knew room wouldn't be available, but I was cheerfully offered breakfast - which is considerably larger than the fruit/breads/coffee I'd expected. Surprisingly good sausage - I tend to find English sausage bland - and not-overcooked scrambled eggs. The room looks pretty standard, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lemons1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Dear lemons1, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the customer service offered by our staff and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. It is always hugely motivating when...

Hull, England
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed for one Saturday night with a friend while we met our London based friends for the weekend. Arrived at 11.30am and expected a room not to be ready but reception staff allocated us a twin room without any fuss. Jade on reception was polite and accommodating. We had a 2nd floor room facing the main road but we didnt...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnHull_England
London, UK
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very welcoming, quick and efficient check-in. All public areas and room were in good condition. Breakfast room looked appealing and was 'ok' for this type/category of hotel. Only downside is that the windows cannot be opened, therefore the air is not fresh. This coupled with bedding that contains some man made fibres makes for an average sleep at best.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pro-Flyer
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Hotel is close to tube station, ideal connections. Unfortunately it is also located on a busy road, ambulacnes with sirens are constantly driving past (all throughout the night), lots of general traffic noise and lots of poeple on the road even late at night. The beds were very uncomfortable, especially the kid's bed. The air conditioning was broken and made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peb280
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Dear Peb280, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over some of the room amenities and with breakfast. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource...

Noida, India
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Somebody said that the world is book and travelling is reading a chapter. Yes my recently concluded trip to Europe by  Paras Holidays made me feel the truth in above statement. Before that I had been abroad and was rightly apprehensive about various things. Thanks to Paras holidays and I would travel with Paras Holidays always.Holidays inn Express is best Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sukhvindersinghdhill
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Comfortable room, ideal for business visit. Breakfast buffet also OK. Plenty of places to eat in area. Bathroom shower good size. Clean room and and good quality linen and towels. Reception staff helpful and generally good customer service. Picked for business visit so not sure about location for leisure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susie Q
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Dear Susie Q, We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you were pleased with the services we provide. One of the greatest rewards is receiving encouraging feedback such as yours. Our staff takes pride in creating a memorable, exceptional experience for our guests. Hearing that...

Brighton
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Go this room as was attending friends family event. Stayed for two nights and didn't try the bar or restaurant. Room was very tidy as was bathroom. However how they can charge the same amount of points as the kings cross hotel beats me as there was no gym or pool. Colour scheme of room was blue and lilac which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Big-J0ck
New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed for a week while in London for business. The rooms are very clean and modern, though the lighting is more sexy than functional. The hotel is super close to the Tube and there are a lot of great restaurants in the area for dinner. I have to commend Sojad Achach, who checked me in and assisted me during...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TD1977

344 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (233)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (87)
Viewed
Double Room With Sofabed (35)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#297 of 1,087 in London
488 reviews
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#67 of 1,087 in London
228 reviews
Clerkenwell
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Shoreditch

Neighbourhood Profile
Shoreditch
The western front of the edgy East End, Shoreditch is a perennially trendy haven for anything “street” – be it art, food, or fashion. With its handful of well connected transportation links dotting its perimeter, along with an ever increasing variety of shops, hotels, bars, and restaurants, it's easy to explore this trend-conscious and youth-oriented neighbourhood. There's a lingering post-industrial grit about Shoreditch, but because it shares a border with “The City” financial district, the influence from its upscale neighbour can result in fascinating outcomes.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Express by Holiday Inn London City. Our hotel is ideally located on the doorstep of the City of London, with the financial districts of Broadgate & Bishopsgate just minutes away for our business guests. We have excellent transport links for the London Underground and Kings Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail terminus not to mention St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. We sit on the gateway to Hoxton Square, Shoreditch & Brick Lane, whatever your reason for visiting London we are an ideal base for exploring this vibrant area of London. If culture & history mixed with London s coolest restaurants, bars & shopping is what you want then you have just discovered East is the new West! Fear not, for we are also ideally located for London s attractions such as Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Bank of England, Tate Modern, St Paul's Cathedral & South Bank to name but a few. We have just undergone a full refurbishment of our Lobby, Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Meeting Rooms to reflect the cool, contemporary urban location we reside in. We have 224 purpose built bedrooms, all of which are light and spacious with large desk space all rooms are en suite with refreshing power showers as well as a newly installed state of the art interactive television & in room movie system. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms & public areas are equipped with high speed wi-fi internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London City

Address: 275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Price Range: RM542 - RM1,227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London City 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London City Hotel London
Holiday Inn London City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express London City staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express London City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not room 516 which had heating and cooling issues.”
 of 5 bubbles michaellV3625WC, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Always check reviews”
 of 5 bubbles tosink2016, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for low floor to avoid the need to use the elevator”
 of 5 bubbles Gill68, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Back rooms quieter, I should imagine. Front rooms face Old Street”
 of 5 bubbles JonHarmonie, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room at the top and back of the hotel. Also, make sure your shower door closes properly!”
 of 5 bubbles ryank827, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5