We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Principal London

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Principal London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,866 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Principal London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,384: English reviews
manchester, england
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I have always wanted to stay at this hotel and perhaps I had hyped it up in my own mind and thats the reason I was disappointed. Helpful receptionist - allowed us to check in early Room was clean and nicely furnished although a bit on the small size but not in a stingy way, just compact. Our shower was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renee B
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay with us. I am pleased that our Receptionist was able to provide you with an early check in as we do understand that guests may arrive earlier than the anticipated 2pm check in time. We have a variety...

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed here as my usual London hotel was fully booked and I was initially worried about the noise from the surrounding area, but after asking for a quiet room was pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was. The hotel is old fashioned but nice. The room was clean and tidy, however the bathroom was tiny, no idea how a larger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sutie76
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had a lovely, quite stay with us at Hotel Russell. We endeavour to assist all of our guest with their preferences and I am happy that we were able to accommodate your request. Due to the shape and age of the building each room has it’s own unique...

Milano
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed two nights in this very conveniently located hotel. Clean room (despite small), free Internet (despite for limited time). However, in just two nights I experienced 4 significant problems: - wrong spelling of my name on the invoice (with time lost to correct the mistake); - systematic understaffing and space shortage for breakfast. The clients either queue to access...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank HHH777M
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to learn that you were unhappy with certain aspects of your stay with us. I do apologise that your name was spelt incorrectly and I am pleased that this can be changed within a moment for you. Whilst it is beyond our control when guests may arrive for breakfast we...

London
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely traditional London hotel opposite Russell square. Excellent finish to rooms - plush opulent surroundings and the epitome of first class service - polite courteous well mannered staff. The best salad I have ever had for room service :-) Only downside - noisy as its on a busy road

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Opulence
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Russell. We are extremely proud of our rich heritage and have ensured that the grandeur of our Hotel has been well maintained over the years. We are pleased this along with the exceptional service provided by our team. I am delighted...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Our room at the Hotel Russel in London was exceptional. Very good sized room and excellent bathroom, great view over the park and a very comfortable bed. Great bar and the late night bar menu was very helpful post-theater. 2 minutes from Russel Square tube station, all round fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathon R
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell. We pride ourselves on our high standards and we are so pleased that you found your room exceptional. We are glad that you enjoyed the size of your room and found the bathroom to be excellent with a great...

Brewood, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Very handy for our trip to the tourist areas of London. Within walking distance of Euston Station, and handy for Covent Garden, and only a short taxi ride to places like the London Eye. Tube station on the doorstep.. The room was adequate, the bar very comfortable with good service. Breakfast time is very busy so be prepared to queue...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 352PeterE
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell. We are ideally located as we are a within walking distance to many of London’s major attractions and transport links. We are glad that you found our location so beneficial. Each room has been decorated to enhance the character...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Most of my hotel stays are paid on a corporate contract and I was surprised when I walked into The Russell that it was within our budget!! Everything exactly as you wanted it, clean, grand building, excellent staff service, fantastic choice of breakfast British museum just nearby, short walk to Shaftesbury Ave, Oxford St etc Excellent!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SkinnyAndy
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell. We strive to create and maintain our high standards at Hotel Russell and I am so pleased that you enjoyed the excellent service provided by our team. We also ensure that each room is cleaned immaculately as...

Cork
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere in the hotel lobby. Staff very friendly. Hotel is spotless. Rooms were immaculate. The hanging shower from the ceiling is very refreshing. It's a 3o second walk from the tube station. Only two stops from most places. Ten minute walk from Oxford street. The bar is a lovely place for a night cap. I visited from Ireland and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobbymac63
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are absolutely delighted that you had a perfect stay with us at Hotel Russell. Our team endeavour to provide an exceptional service to all of our guests as we do want each guest to have a memorable, relaxing stay with us. Our Housekeeping team also ensure that the entire area...

Marsalforn, Malta
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We are staying at the Hotel Russell as my husband is useing the facilities of a hospital around the corner. Very nice and charming Hotel in London with excellent location. Oxford Street in walking distance or by bus no. 7, British Museum only a few minutes walk away, tube station 2 minutes away. The staff is very friendly and flexible,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eike J
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell. We are pleased that you found our location ideal during your husband’s treatment and do hope that he is now feeling much better. We are ideally located to many of London’s major attractions including Oxford street and...

Stirling
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and I was pleasantly surprised with the room after reading some reviews. We had a lovely bright room that overlooked the square. The breakfast was excellent but was very busy on Saturday morning and we needed to queue quite a while to get in to the room. The rates for this hotel were very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank falcarragh
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay with us as we endeavour to create a memorable experience for all of our guests. Breakfast is extremely popular at our Hotel and our team ensure that they are efficient as possible and our guests only wait for a few minutes. We do hope...

1,169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1039)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (274)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (224)
Viewed
Bathroom (88)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (392)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (108)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#86 of 1,088 in London
327 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#326 of 1,088 in London
1,952 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#412 of 1,088 in London
953 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#305 of 1,088 in London
751 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#554 of 1,088 in London
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Russell is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, Hotel Russell is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Principal London

Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: RM431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in London
#285 Family Hotel in London
#296 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Principal London staff and other travellers.
53 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (53)

Questions? Get answers from The Principal London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“specify your view requirements!!!”
 of 5 bubbles JDon18, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“front rooms hotter in the summer”
 of 5 bubbles carletons875, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had a suit which was huge but tired - loved it!”
 of 5 bubbles JohnNerding, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Suits are a must”
 of 5 bubbles dorosweet37, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High floors great views! Really pretty Suite Top Corner under the turret”
 of 5 bubbles christinenB7733WT, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5