We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Russell

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel Russell
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,861 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Russell
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,379: English reviews
england
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We booked this hotel for a London break to celebrate our Silver wedding anniversary ! ( Jan 8th & 9th 2014 ) On arrival to reception we were pleasantly greeted by the staff , it was only mid day so were expecting a wait for our room , however the lady at reception made a call to housekeeping and informed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jinxydebbie
Bart L, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am glad that you chose to stay at Hotel Russell on such a special occasion and equally pleased that we could contribute in making your Silver Anniversary a memorable one! Thank you for such wonderful comments, it is a pleasure to know that the team accommodated your request for early...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Was attracted to this hotel by it's architecture which is fabulous. It is also close to a tube station and universities which was the purpose of the visit. The room was ok, quite spacious but dated. The noise from the road outside was quite considerable but understandable given the location and original sash windows. The restaurant was expensive and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
Bart L, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. May I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Russell . Though I am glad that your overall stay was comfortable, I was most concerned to learn that you did not enjoy certain aspects of you stay. I have noted your comments about the traffic noise...

leicester
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have passed this hotel on many occasions. We didn't think we would be able to afford it, but there was 20% off so we took the plunge. We were not disappointed.. The location is superb, only half an hour walk, if that into town, with St Pancras and Kings Cross 10 - 15 mins walk in the other direction.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doodah56
Bart L, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your time here at Hotel Russell, in a well appointed comfortable room and location was perfect as per your requirements. Thank you for commending our team, they continually strive to achieve highest possible standards. I trust we will have another opportunity to welcome you back...

Bradford
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed with a voucher 2 nights with bed and breakfast tzoo deal.We stayed Friday and Saturday night and went home Sunday 2nd Feb.The hotel is approx. 10/15 mins walk from Kings Cross and in a built up area overlooking Russel Square.We arrived at 1-15 pm on Friday and we were allowed to check in which was great,as the stated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigAlBradford
Bart L, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at Hotel Russell and the standards offered met your expectations. I am pleased that early check in at Reception was prompt and you enjoyed your stay in a well appointed, comfortable room with powerful shower. I am dismayed to learn...

Harrogate
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I have stayed here several times over the last couple of months on business. The rooms are variable in size, but all are adequate. I wanted to post this to thank Miriam and Francesca on reception for being so pleasant and so helpful in sorting out a problem with the booking - on part of the booking agent - and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BabsHarrogate
Bart L, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to learn that you frequently stay at Hotel Russell on your business trips to London. We value your custom and hope we will continue to provide the best in service and quality as demonstrated by Miriam & Francesca on your recent stay. I am glad they assisted you...

Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Me and my husband stayed for 1 night and thought it was a bargain price for central London. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and we were able to check in early. The concierge was also very friendly and we were able to leave our bags after check out. The room was average size and overall comfortable. Location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsO3011
Bart L, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your time here at Hotel Russell , located just a stone’s throw away from major London attractions and a well appointed, comfortable bedroom ensured you had a good night’s rest. Thank you for commending the team members at Reception and concierge, your comments...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I've never felt the need to review a hotel on Trip Advisor... ...until now! I stayed overnight here, as part of a 2-day conference that was also hosted by the hotel. The location was great for us, a ten minute walk from King's Cross Station and would be even closer for anyone coming from Euston. Furthermore, the hotel does look...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank ugm1iaa
Bolton
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I must admit that the first room we were allocated here was a little disappointing. I use a mobility scooter and had specifically requested a room without a step but the hotel was busy and I do not like to use my disability for special treatment. We booked online and thought the price was ok for a hotel in this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Velma44
Bart L, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read your comments and so proud that our team at Hotel Russell did not leave any stone unturned in making sure we are truly your ‘home away from home. I am so pleased that our teams did their best in offering all the possible assistance during your...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I've never in my life complained and this is the first as I just couldn't believe how bad it was.The rooms don't look like the pictures, a lot worse. It took me 4 trips to reception to get the internet to work, reception said that sometimes codes don't work and the system is poor as it doesn't have me registered...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Rebecca J
Bart L, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the difficulties encountered during your stay. We have high speed wireless in all areas of the Hotel with improved bandwidth. Currently we offer similar pricing should we compare ourselves to the local competition in the area. Free 30 minute access was previously...

London, England
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

The outside looks really up market, sadly as soon as you enter, things go downhill. For example, one evening I went to the the Tempus Bar and it was fairly busy and all the tables were taken. I went up to the bar where 2 staff were working. They didn't say hello or acknowledge me in any way. I tried...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank niceguy1966
Bart L, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to learn that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Our team members are commended on numerous occasions for their professionalism and friendliness. I am dismayed to learn that the standards of service that we pride at, were not met during your...

1,154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1038)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (273)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (224)
Viewed
Bathroom (88)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (392)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (108)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#64 of 1,078 in London
309 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#526 of 1,078 in London
3,104 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#315 of 1,078 in London
1,870 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#561 of 1,078 in London
1,838 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#271 of 1,078 in London
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Tempus Restaurant
Tempus Restaurant
Cuisines: British, International, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Russell is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, Hotel Russell is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Russell

Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: RM443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Russell 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#62 Best Value Hotel in London
#285 Family Hotel in London
#292 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Russell staff and other travellers.
53 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (53)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Russell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“front rooms hotter in the summer”
 of 5 bubbles carletons875, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had a suit which was huge but tired - loved it!”
 of 5 bubbles JohnNerding, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Suits are a must”
 of 5 bubbles dorosweet37, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High floors great views! Really pretty Suite Top Corner under the turret”
 of 5 bubbles christinenB7733WT, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Inside rooms are quieter. Single rooms can be very small though!”
 of 5 bubbles sezbert, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay