We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Commodore Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Commodore Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

896 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Commodore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 624: English reviews
Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

I suffer from COPD and need oxygen 16 hours a day. I booked this hotel after going up to inspect t. I was pleased to see a ramp leading up to the entrance. I was informed by the night porter that the hotel had lifts to all floors, breakfast available from 7:30am everyday. When I came to stay I found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iain459
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear iain459, Thank you for your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your visit to the Commodore Hotel London. The Hotel's Main building has 02 Lifts that run up to the 6th Floor and access to the 7th Floor is through a staircase. The TownHouse Victorian side has no lift service due to...

The Netherlands
Reviewed 8 October 2016

What looks good on the outside, looks worse on the inside. The corridors were too tiny to drag our suitcase through, our room was dark, smelly and robustly old-fashioned. We only stayed for one night and that was more than enough. Despite its great location near Lancaster-Gate and its friendly staff, it was a disappointing stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BabuCarlos
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BabuCarlos, Thank you for your feedback and glad to hear that the location was handy to you. As for the corridors, we are sorry that you had difficulties in dragging your suitcase. The width of our corridors is around 100cm (3feet plus) which is quite normal in London, especially in Grade ll Victorian buildings. Once again we are sorry...

Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

The staff at reception were absolutely wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic, right next to Hyde park and a stroll to the underground which is extremely handy, but in the surrounding area everything closes ie bars and restaurants at 11, and the hotel does not have a bar either so no glass of wine after a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlie C, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. I am glad to hear that My Staff were wonderful, very friendly and helpful and that the location of the hotel was handy. I am truly sorry to learn about your experience and any shortcoming you had with the room that was assigned....

Reviewed 5 October 2016

We had an okay stay until i noticed that someone had been in our room and stolen 80 pounds in cash. I had hid the money in a little pocket in my bag, but that was not enough. I have read that this is isn't the first time this has happened at this hotel, so i would not recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jens A
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jens A, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. Feedbacks such as yours are so important to us. It is only through them that we are able to maintain and improve the service & the hospitality that we provide to our valued guests. My Staff and I are very disappointed to read...

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

I visited for a long weekend and when I had read the recent reviews I was worried, but I needn't of been. The hotel was extremely clean, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the location was excellent (just 5 mins walk from Lancaster Gate tube which is on the central line and one stop to the shops). Yes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose F
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rose F, So glad you had an enjoyable time at Commodore Hotel. We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Please contact us directly to benefit from local offers and discounts for all your future stays. Thank you Kind regards, Shahn Aliyar

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

The building was cool, roomsize ok, floor wirn out, room fair/ well equipped; unfortunately my room was in the basement However bed was fine, all cleaned properly. Wifi for free- but weak in the basement. Fair stay, ok to book here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mi M
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mi M, Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel London and glad you had a pleasant stay with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! Thank you Kind regards Shahn Aliyar

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Dirty carpets,uncomfortable beds,worn out antique furniture in poor state and certainly needing repair.was possibly once an interesting place but!!!!! Stay away! This cannot possibly allowed to call itself a 4 star ,more like 1 star

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank agro144
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear agro144, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thank you for letting us know. Thank you Kind regards, Shahn Aliyar

Cavan
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Hotel Location was great. I think that is as far as the good points go. Upon arrival we were asked for a £50 payment from our credit card which is supposed to be reimbursed. Never had to do this before except for maybe £1 which I appreciate is to validate my credit card. Still for any couple who may have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2niner
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 2niner, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Commodore Hotel London. We presume that this refers to the following incident as that is the only one we were able to find on our Maintenance and Front Desk log-Sheets -: Maintenance Log-Sheet entry -: Mr John Oreilly - Checked in on...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We stayed here four nights at this hotel, the location was great and the staff helpful though not all had the best English. The room though was a real disappointment. We had been warned the rooms were small so we thought it is what it is but the carpet was patched in the room, the room had a musty smell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cossie61
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cossie61, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. I am so sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay and I wonder if your dissatisfaction was brought to the attention of our staff? Also, I would appreciate if you can email us at reservations@commodore-hotel.com and let us know which room number your...

Trondheim, Norway
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The majority of my and my two travelling companions' four-night stay at the London Commodore was pleasant; the accomodations were fine, the location good, the staff helpful in pre-visit e-mail exchanges and the rates pleasant. Unfortunately, on the morning of our day of departure, a backpack and a satchel, both containing passports and valuables, were stolen from our locked room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Grevain
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grevain, Thank you for the feedback and for highlighting once again an incident that happened in the past. For a moment I was perplexed when I saw your review. All sorts of HOW, WHAT & WHERE questions started to go in circles around my brain. Especially after all the enhanced security measures implemented to ensure Guests Safety & Security...

326 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (304)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (156)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#377 of 1,078 in London
1,317 reviews
Henry VIII Hotel
#805 of 1,078 in London
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elysee Hotel
#546 of 1,078 in London
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Townhouse Hotel situated in quiet Victorian Square, just steps from Hyde Park and five minutes by bus to Oxford street and Marble Arch. Paddington station is a walk away. Commodore is renowned for it's tranquil setting, offering a homely and welcoming atmosphere in the bustling city. Originally, three Victorian Town houses, Commodore is unique in its combination of styles with traditional Victorian romantic elegance coupled with modern interior design. Its quirky charm and great location see customers returning again and again. There is also a small fitness studio. Room service is available 24 hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: 50 Lancaster Gate | Hyde Park, London W2 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: RM386 - RM1,245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#381 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Commodore Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Commodore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles 554antonyr, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“find a room with a safe”
 of 5 bubbles 6jensa, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check room before accepting what is given.”
 of 5 bubbles 2niner, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor was less noisy we moved from the 3rd floor after first night”
 of 5 bubbles rosi254, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms need to be freshened up and redecorated. Carpets should be replaced.”
 of 5 bubbles clarem702, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay