We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Horseguards

CancelonUS$263*
View Deal
#104 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$349*
US$263*
Great Deal
US$268*
US$268*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Horseguards
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,517 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Horseguards
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,154: English reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2015

First off - this is a good hotel - safe, quiet, clean. Breakfasts are excellent. A couple of downside points. First it might be worthwhile taking a look at a room if the staff say it doesn't have much of a view. The one I was offered first was looking into a back space about 10' across - on one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thegrebe
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear thegrebe, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. Please be assured that I have shared your kind feedback with our Food and Beverage Operations Manager regarding the excellent breakfast, to...

Zug, Switzerland
Reviewed 22 June 2015

A great hotel for its location. You are at 5 mins from the National Gallery, it is very convenient. However, if you are allergic to dust, it might be problematic, due to the carpets (everywhere). However, the service was not exceptional and certainly not friendly, which was disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dom_Bourgeon
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Dom_Bourgeon, Greeting from London to Japan. Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. Indeed our location is one of our greatest attributes within walking distance of London’s attractions such as Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden and the National Gallery. I was disappointed to see that the service delivered to you upon...

Guildford
Reviewed 21 June 2015

We booked for proximity for Horseguards Parade but found this quiet location also really handy for the riverboats from the Embankment and about fifteen minutes walk to Covent Garden, ten to Houses of Parliament, closer to Trafalgar Square. The first impressions are really good; the hotel is in an iconic building, presumably formerly government offices, the lobby is spacious and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travelfromhampshire
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Travelfromhsmps… Thank you so much for taking the time to share your 5* review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read your amazing feedback and I am pleased to hear that you had an amazing stay with us. Indeed we are perfectly positioned in the historic heart of London alongside the River Thames and opposite...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 June 2015

This is a charming, old-style hotel with all the modern conveniences such as wifi, flat screen TV etc. The rooms are spacious, very comfortable and well appointed. The staff were very helpful and the overall hospitality was most warm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CherylJ123
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear CherylJ123, Greetings from London to South Africa, Thank you so much for sharing your 5* review. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel to which you enjoyed the flat screen TV in your bedroom. Please be assured that I have shared your kind feedback with the team who...

Switzerland
Reviewed 19 June 2015

Classic British hotel, 5 stars à la London. Expect the usual cold drafts through poorly closing windows, heating through inverted air conditioner. Upon arrival given large room with opaque windows as they were facing another similar room on the courtyard. Complained was then given tiny room with a window on the street. Decided to go along when I entered the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AsiaLovers
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear AsiaLovers, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am disappointed and sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your stay due to the windows and the view from your bedroom. On a lighter note I am delighted that you had spoken with...

Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Royal Horseguards as a birthday treat for my husband. .and as always it was beautiful, this hotel is fantastic but the welcoming hospitality from the staff (particularly Jamie) make your stay extra special, so thank you Royal Horseguards once again for a beautiful room, excellent food and drink but most importantly that personal touch that makes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tina R
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Tina R, Thank you so much for your 5* review. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us especially for your husband’s birthday. I am pleased that the team went above and beyond to make you feel very welcome, especially James our Guest Relations Manager who strives to deliver the best possible experience for...

Milan Italy
Reviewed 19 June 2015

I was welcomed by a lot of people as I walked through to reception, and staff were attentive enough to take my bags. The hotel is in a great building and perfect location and the reception and lobby are luxuriously decorated, but unfortunately not all is great with this hotel. I’ve spent there only a couple of days for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ForeverDyO
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Borracha, Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us, to which the team were very attentive upon your stay. Indeed our location is one of our greatest attributes within walking distance of London’s attractions such as Trafalgar...

Swindon
Reviewed 18 June 2015

We booked RHG earlier in the year not realising that it was the day of Trooping the colour and so we decided to take the tube from Paddington rather than taxi to try to avoid the crowds. This worked pretty well and we were able to leave our bags as the room was not ready as we arrived early. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CharlieCB
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear CharlieCB, Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. Please accept my most sincere apologies for any disruptiveness and downfalls in service that you have experienced with us. I would like to assure you that I take all guest feedback into serious consideration and have reviewed...

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2015

Visited RHG in June for 1 night with my sister and our 2 daughters. We had booked 4 weeks previous and asked for adjoining rooms/next to each other. We booked in at 3.00pm and were told that 1 room was on 6th floor and 1 room on 8th floor. Obviously very disappointed the receptionist advised that the 8th floor room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry and Val S
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Barry and Val S, Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. Please accept my most sincere apologies for any disruptiveness and downfalls in service that you have experienced with us. I would like to assure you that I take all guest feedback into serious consideration...

Lincolnshire UK
Reviewed 18 June 2015

husband booked this hotel for his parents and ourselves for a joint anniversary weekend. beautiful hotel. very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. very clean. entrance area was beautiful with big flower arrangement and candles and the most wonderful smell ( some kind of air freshner or scented candles) The door man was a pleasure to talk to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank karen c
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Karen c, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your 5* review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had an amazing stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. The team here strive to deliver the best possible experience for our guests and I am pleased to read that...

2,224 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1631)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (292)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
View from Room (177)
Viewed
Room/Suite (379)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (118)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (588)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (527)
Viewed
Amenities (82)
Viewed
Executive Child Friendly Twin with Interconnecting King Room (63)
Viewed
Executive Double Room with River View (64)
Viewed
Executive Double Room with Street View (61)
Viewed
Executive KIng Room with Romantic Turndown (73)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)
Viewed
The Waterloo suite (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
3,595 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#18 of 1,063 in London
2,446 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#48 of 1,063 in London
2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,063 in London
3,878 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,063 in London
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Westminster

Neighbourhood Profile
Westminster
If you only had an afternoon to experience London on a grand scale, Westminster would be a wise place to start. The ornate Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey sit adjacent at a corner of Parliament Square, and a short stroll along The Mall leads to Buckingham Palace. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column are just up the road as well. As captivating as the architecture is, the wonders of Mother Nature are highlights of the area too. St James's Park (arguably London's loveliest), the expansive Green Park, and pedestrian friendly tree lined paths along the river showcase the exquisite manicure provided by English gardeners. Just beyond the landmarks and the gorgeous outdoor spaces, quiet residential squares and age old local pubs offer a more subdued take on this global seat of power in the heart of London.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
One Twenty One Two Restaurant
One Twenty One Two Restaurant
Cuisines: Contemporary, European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Price Range: RM1,209 - RM2,234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#92 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Horseguards staff and other travellers.
80 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (80)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Horseguards staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do more home work re value for money”
juliejM9327VR, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on a high floor because the view won't be obstructed by trees.”
travelrascel, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Caution - do not accept suite 912 unless they have replaced its shower design!”
DennisB477, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“get a river view”
eastwind, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Higher rooms on one side have a view of the London Eye.”
misplacedmaritimer, 21 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$263* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$268
Expedia.comUS$268
TripAdvisorUS$268
View all 15 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates