We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thistle City Barbican

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Thistle City Barbican
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,769 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thistle City Barbican
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,423: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in the hotel for a hen do weekend. Check in was extremely slow - they couldn't find our group booking and then had three people trying to check us in all getting confused on room numbers/key cards etc. The whole ordeal took about fifteen minutes, although I must credit them that when we requested one of the rooms to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JodieKeith
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. Please accept my apologies for the issues at checkin but glad we managed to move the rooms as requested. I was also pleased...

Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was here when I was in bussness trip , It is ver big hotel , no bad one and not the best one I liked very much singing waiters during breakfast There us spa in hotel also not bad and not the best but I think thius hotel is value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IgorG855
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. For the best deals, including free breakfast, please visit...

Brighton
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked here for a special treat - The Red Shoes at Sadler's Wells. Our room was clean and in good condition, albeit on the small side. The facilities were good, with a bar and café available. The breakfast was really good - up there with some of the best I have had in a hotel. Plenty of staff around,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian004
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. As you mention the hotel is in a great location for Sadler's Wells which is about a 15 walk, or a 5 minute...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Tiny rooms, and terribly hot - old radiators and a ceiling fan, which I haven't seen in London in years. Asked reception to order a taxi which never appeared. Breakfast was average at best. Will not be staying there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KittyTrigger77
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. In order for me to investigate the issues with your stay further particularly the issue with the taxi I would be grateful if you could contact me on...

Bromley
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Bit run down, nice lobby etc and friendly staff, nice breakfast but room amenities somewhat lack lustre. Iron didn't work, TV had limited sound and furnishings very basic with lamp hanging off the wall. It was clean though if a little over priced.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather W
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. In order for me to investigate the issues with your stay further particularly the room I would be grateful if you could contact me on the email address...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Staying for a few days for a course. Room is a reasonable size for a single. Staff very helpful. Hotel is well sited just a 10 minute walk from Old Street station. Good facilities. Overall a pleasant stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 244davidaz
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. As you mention the hotel is easily accessible to Central London with Old Street and Barbican underground stations about a 10 minute walk...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Ignore the word "Barbican" in the hotel name. It's a 15 minute walk, which isn't the end of the world but nor is it close. The rooms appear not to have been refurbished since the 90s: * tired, worn carpets that retain the smell of a thousand previous guests * windows that let in all the noise from the street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vectorclock
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. In order for me to investigate the issues with your stay further particularly the room I would be grateful if you could contact me on the email address...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

I stayed here for 1 night as I had an early euro star to Paris in the morning. Hotel was clean and pleasant. Staff were friendly and efficient considering how busy the check in was when we arrived. The room was small but enough for just 1 night. Room was clean and tidy. Location was good as it was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NefertitiRass
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. As you mention the hotel is easily accessible to Central London with Old Street and Barbican underground stations about a 10 minute walk...

Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Hi, Just want to say a big thank you to Thistle City Barbican for hosting an amazing Xmas party from start to finish, The food was delicious and the stuff was amazing especially the barman (Melu) what a great character and a gentleman made us laugh all night, only down part it finished to early but Melu advised us the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a short break to London with my wife and ten year old son. Hotel situated near Old Street tube station and perfect for Central London. The room was a Premier room and was just fabulous. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. My son just loved the pool which is larger than the average hotel pool....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark E
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that the team looked after you. I was also pleased that you liked the new menu as we have only recently rolled this out! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the...

412 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (371)
Viewed
Room/Suite (101)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (51)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (174)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#418 of 1,080 in London
597 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#295 of 1,080 in London
469 reviews
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#228 of 1,080 in London
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: RM484 - RM957 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle City Barbican staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle City Barbican staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we had a premier executive room, which was large and clean. Beds were fine”
 of 5 bubbles lvdb1970, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid unless last minute, and nowhere else to stay stick to the budget rooms as all the rooms are apparently budget, so why pay more?”
 of 5 bubbles tomm263, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“See parking tip in review”
 of 5 bubbles Ian004, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Floor five on the corner was nice.”
 of 5 bubbles samanthak459, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the main street”
 of 5 bubbles RalphB270, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay