We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thistle Kensington Gardens

Booking.comUS$125*
View Deal
#292 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Thistle Kensington Gardens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,873 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thistle Kensington Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,570: English reviews
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 24 March 2017

We stayed for four nights in an executive room. Travelled as mother with a grown up daughter. First we got a rather small room at the 7th floor. Then we were moved to a bigger room at the sixth floor. We specifically asked for a quiet room, so I do not quite understand why they gave us a room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Birgitte B
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Following your recent stay here at Thistle Kensington Gardens, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. It is our passion to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of product and service at all times. We apologise for the disappointment you have felt regarding any noise issues you had...

Jerusalem Israel
Reviewed 23 March 2017

This is a fine, comfortable and clean hotel, overlooking Hyde Park. Good breakfast. Don't take connecting rooms unless you want to hear the neighbors. Wi-Fi is free but unfriendly. Keeps cutting off. Friendly staff will help you to fix it - but why not offer a better quality connection in the first place. Due to the storm in New York...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trikoJerusalemIsrael
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you had a good breakfast and thank you for recognising our team in a positive light. Due to the days of the week you stayed the rate varies however I do apologies if this was not communicated in the correct way and I will...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Took my sons on their very first trip to London and chose this hotel due to location. Directly across from Kensington Park, bus stop and underground less than 5 minutes away on foot and plenty of eateries nearby. We found the room clean, comfortable and quiet even though we faced the main road. The buffet breakfast ticked all the boxes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MushyMarsh
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are glad to hear that the location was perfect for you and your young family. I will enjoying passing on your feedback to the team regarding the room and our breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We travelled up to watch the Eng vs Italy 6 Nations match. Handy location with a couple of tube stations nearby and just above hyde park. Decent breakfast, friendly staff and room. No complaints at all. Good job!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chalk1987
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and its services. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us and that you were particularly happy with our team and our breakfast. Please do contact us directly next time you visit London. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

We had booked 5 rooms and a dinner for thirteen people on this get together. We were meeting up with a group of people we met on a trip to Italy in 2015. What an amazing time we had. The staff at the hotel went above and beyond to make the evening very special. Sandor the F&B manager could not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BJW259
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a nice comment and sharing it with us! We are happy you enjoyed your night with us here at Thistle Kensington Gardens and that everything was to your satisfaction. It is great to learn our team had all displayed such an impression throughout your visit to ensure you could have an enjoyable stay and...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Stayed here recently for a nearby conference and all worked very well. The Hotel is good value price wise and booking was reliable and efficient as was reception. Rooms was clean and well equipped and everything worked. When I lost a shirt button the staff immediately provided a kit for me to fix it. Room has all the usual fittings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MWGROVES99
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and its services. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us and that you were particularly happy with the location and the room. It will be a pleasure passing your positive feedback to our team (especially Michael). Please do contact us directly next time you visit London. We...

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Excellent service, great location seconds away from Bayswater underground, nice and relaxed bar area but that's it for £170 a night. Clean, modern and relaxed though the rooms are TINY even by London standards!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin123321
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are truly pleased to hear that you found your stay at Thistle Kensington Gardens comfortable and you found our location convenient for your visit to London. Its a pleasure to pass on your feedback to the team in regards to the service they delivered.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Stayed here on a recent trip to London having stayed here prior to renovations. For a hotel that has been renovated the rooms are very standard and poor quality. Hotel is perfectly located (beside Kensington Gardens and 2 underground stations - central line and circle and district line. Also 10 minute walk from Paddington) Beds aren't comfortable at all -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tnkrbelldcu
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Following your recent stay here at Thistle Kensington Gardens, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. It is our passion to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of product and service at all times. We apologise for the disappointment you have felt regarding the room amenities and the...

Ferragudo, Portugal
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Rooms are really worn and old. Carpets dirty , walls breiking. Also all noise can be heart really clear. Lift so small that 2 persons just and just can fit in. Bed in the room so hard that it was difficult to sleep. When asking another madress on the top to have it softer- they did not have spare! Kingsize...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hele-Hannele A
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

I got this hotel through one of the travel sites for a absolute bargain! The rooms are quite small but very comfy! The hotel looks on to Hyde park and is a very beautiful hotel inside. Right next to Notting hill and Kensington it was perfect and had parking on site too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emilysarahamber
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and its services. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us and that you were particularly happy with the location. Please do contact us directly next time you visit London. We look forward to welcoming you back!

440 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (382)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (156)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#366 of 1,090 in London
869 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#404 of 1,090 in London
286 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#201 of 1,090 in London
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Address: 104 Bayswater Road, London W2 3HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: RM662 - RM1,325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#215 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Kensington Gardens staff and other travellers.
43 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (43)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Kensington Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room 619 has a fantastic view of kensington park and further we could also saw the lndon eye. The accesibiliy was good in all floors.”
ruthmQ7250EW, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“High floor facing park good luck”
Shelter2016, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Views of the Kensington gardens get traffic too, quiet at the back on higher floors.”
GS1706, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a views of Kensington Gardens are available at an extra charge.”
nbejozi, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book as high as possible and at the front for best view, Corner suites bigger.”
294dannid, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$125* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$125
HotelQuicklyUS$152
Expedia.comUS$125
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates