We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

PubLove at The Steam Engine

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
PubLove at The Steam Engine
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 161: English reviews
Oviedo, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was there only 2 nights, the room was clean and nice, the bed was comfortable. There were only 2 bathrooms for all floor thought I didn't need to wait to use it even once. The stuff that worked there was very helpful and friendly. I fully recommend it :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 438diana
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Cheers for the kind word! :) Come visit us again when back in London! The Steam Engine

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want cheap & cheerful accommodation in Central London & don't kind sharing this is your place. A few minutes walk from Big Ben, the London Eye & plenty of bus stops to other London destinations. London Waterloo station for underground & mainline services & Westminster underground is also a short walk fron the hostel. Others sharing my dorm...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jtimms2017
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in London and hope to see you again in the future. The Steam Engine

Friedrichshafen
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a very dirty Hostel. Me and my 5 friends stayed 3 nights in this hostel and it was horrible. Bedrooms were very dirty and the beds are not comfortable. Seems like they never clean the romms or anything. On the windows and the walls is everywhere moldiness. The rooms are very small, they are so small that everyone...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmaier_407439
Reviewed 1 week ago

Most of the staff was very friendly, except one man who didn´t help at all. I have several examples, but the most remarkable was that I did not get any help to book a taxi to go to the bus station when I checking out. Not even to confirm the address of the pub, which was given the wrong way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalia H
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback! Sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience with our night staff, we have looked into it and taken appropriate action. Hope you still had a pleasant stay in London and wish you all the best for your future travels. The Steam Engine

Hong Kong
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good value! The bed is comfortable. I had never expected that I could have a good sleep in a hostel, but this time I really had a nice one. The staff is super friendly. I feel that they were sincerely welcoming me. With such low price, I also got a free light breakfast, which I truly appreciate!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennak147
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future! Safe travels until then :) The Steam Engine Team

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hostel very close to the city center. Staff were kind and welcoming, the pub just downstairs and has discount for hostel users. No kitchen area unfortunately and not that clean... I recommend it for people who want to spend less than 3 days

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mohwhatever
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and hope to see you again in the future! The Steam Engine

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location. Great! A shared facility with the bar downstairs. Brings me back to Amy's song '' Meet you downstairs in the bar." It's a bit crowded. Breakfast. Super Early. Yet it works out in the end. With the right mind. It can be the right place. They have a lovely beer garden, that I would like to make of use...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank victorTTTT
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Cheers for the kind word :) Great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us! Safe travels for the future and come and visit us again! The Steam Engine

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are looking for a quite, nice and clean place. This one is totally not for you. It's noisy till 1 AM, my plug wasn't working, heaters from my room weren't working. Everything was dirty... i could continue.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anna b
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations and that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. The hostel is cleaned every morning by our housekeeping team and constant checks made throughout the day by our staff. I apologize if during your stay we didn't meet the standards. We had a problem with the heating one day,...

Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The beds are very comfortable, rooms are very quiet and secure. The toilets are a bit dirty but they are ok. The ground flor is a pub whit a very good environment Good location for visite the London center.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pedro A
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe travels and hopefully see you again in the future. The Steam Engine

Lille, France
Reviewed 10 December 2016

This place in not grandiose or luxurious but the roughness around its edges is what gives this place a great atmosphere. The staff were a pleasure! Had all cool people in my hostel. The place is far enough from central London that its very quiet at night yet still close enough to the tube metro system and buses. Also it...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pd_weisman
Alin I, General Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your comments. Hope to see you again

179 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (128)
Viewed
12 Bed Dorm (17)
Viewed
9 Bed Dorm (12)
Viewed
9 Bed Dorm (with shower) (20)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#412 of 1,081 in London
2,376 reviews
The Walrus Hostel
#37 of 803 in London
474 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
#121 of 803 in London
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
PubLove at the Exmouth Arms
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#141 of 803 in London
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
PubLove at the Steam Engine is an award-winning backpacker hostel above a traditional London pub. We have comfortable beds, in-room security lockers, 24 hour reception, and a great team of PubLovers to make your London experience the time of your life. We also have a 24 hour bar exclusively for hostel guests and a wide range of damned good drinks waiting for you in our glorious London pub. ... more   less 

Additional Information about PubLove at The Steam Engine

Address: 41-42 Cosser Street | Waterloo, London SE1 7BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: RM67 - RM308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — PubLove at The Steam Engine 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your PubLove at The Steam Engine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from PubLove at The Steam Engine staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from PubLove at The Steam Engine staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“it's busy and likely can be full house, stack up ear plugs, I could not warn anyone before hand, I knew I was tired and veeery sound asleep (sorry guys) :)”
 of 5 bubbles victorTTTT, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Beds were quite comfortable, however, they are bunk beds so be prepared. Always aim for the upper-most one. Well, at least that's what I do.”
 of 5 bubbles akimiski, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No comment..haaa”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for the bed in the midle, the low one is almost at the floor and the top one is very high (Im afraid of Highs)”
 of 5 bubbles GrazielleBM, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“24 beds to slep.”
 of 5 bubbles mariusenea, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay