We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thanet Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$143*
View Deal
#512 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$143*
US$143*
US$143*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Thanet Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 298: English reviews
Start your review of Thanet Hotel
 Click to rate
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel was a great find. Great location, bright, clean and airy and with very friendly staff who actually run the place on site. The breakfast was very good and served with a smile. The room was clean with a good sized bathroom. We will be back next time in London.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
norfolk
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

ideal location for theatre trips within walking distance to most of them, good size room, very clean ,plenty of tea, coffee milk supplied, lovely cooked breakfast as well as cereal, toast etc, friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slimonetwo
thanethotel, Owner at Thanet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. I was pleased you found us convenient for your theatre trip - we are within walking distance of many of the top shows. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast and found the staff friendly and we hope to welcome you back on your next theatre trip. Best wishes Lynwen

Birmingham, England.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked through a booking agency and on arrival were allocated a room on the third floor. The room was small, as expected for a central London townhouse. The very small shower room was clean. Grubby marks were to be found on the bedside shelves and certain areas of the room would benefit from painting. However, the sash window rattled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nasdeb
thanethotel, Owner at Thanet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and found the staff very pleasant. We were sorry to hear that you had a problem with the sash window - it has now been sorted. With thanks Lynwen

Bowral, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

What a great hotel. Nothing fancy with a tiny bathroom and no lift but it is well priced, in a brilliant location, clean and friendly. On the tubevline from Heathrow and can pretty much walk everywhere if you're up to it or buses/tube close by. They will mind bags if you get there early or leave late. A few choices...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
thanethotel, Owner at Thanet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am pleased to hear that you found us clean and friendly and we fitted the bill for your London hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes Lynwen

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 9 April 2017

I was attending a conference at SOAS (UCL) and also planned to spend time at the British Museum, and this small hotel worked out perfectly. My single room was on the third floor (British second) facing the back and wonderfully quiet. Although the bathroom was very small, the room was clean and well stocked with tea, coffee, hot chocolate, etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMA-Kunming
thanethotel, Owner at Thanet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I was so pleased to hear that you would stay here again and that you enjoyed our location - indeed many of our guests comment that for central London we are quiet. We hope to welcome you back to the Thanet in due course. Many thanks Lynwen

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

A bit of a gem. Well located between City and the West End in a pretty quiet Georgian Street. Rooms are fine, bathroom/shower a bit small but these are minor gripes. Lovely owner and a belting breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
thanethotel, Owner at Thanet Hotel, responded to this review

We loved the fact you thought the hotel was a gem - how kind - Thank you. So pleased you enjoyed the breakfast - your comments mean a lot to us. With thanks Lynwen

Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Lovely easy location this place... hotel clean and tidy.. shame about my bed really. Was on a slope so i tossed and turned..i feel a little bad picking bad faults as its a lovely place. Just attention to detail.. breakfast needs work. Boiled mushrooms no and the toast needs more colour, on a plus side there is a great book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craneleigh
thanethotel, Owner at Thanet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I was pleased to hear that you thought we had a lovely place. I have noted other points raised and if you come back again please do not hesitate to ask for your preference with toast - we are happy to help. Thanks again Lynwen

Manchester UK
Reviewed 23 March 2017

One of two things has happened here; maybe I got a room that was the exception in that it had some horrible examples of a lack of cleanliness that other reviewers didn't experience OR maybe the many quite positive reviews aren't what they seem. Just beware is all I'm saying - my experience suggests you can't take a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ITTS
thanethotel, Owner at Thanet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was pleased you enjoyed our central location and our full English breakfast. I was very saddened to hear of your main concern. What a shame you did not come and tell us at the time so I could have made immediate investigation - with this in mind it would be very helpful if you...

Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

I found this hotel on Sleeps5.com as we are a family of 5 and at last a hotel that accommodates the average family! We had a large comfortable room in the basement with a double bed and 3 singles. It had a separate toilet and shower room and was spotlessly clean. Great location on a really quiet street just off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
thanethotel, Owner at Thanet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I was pleased to hear you found the hotel spotlessly clean and in a good location. Our room for a family of five is indeed very popular as there does not seem to be many rooms for five in the area. I was also really pleased to hear that you felt you had good...

Needham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We enjoyed our weekend stay here very much. The hotel itself in on a quiet street, about a 2 minute walk from the British Museum. We found the walk to Covent Garden and St Martin's Theater to be very easy. Inside the hotel is immaculate. The lobby, breakfast room, and our room were all clean. Our room was fine for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkG64A
thanethotel, Owner at Thanet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. The scambled eggs and smoked salmon certainly is a firm favourite with our guests. I was pleased to hear that my staff helped you with your luggage as indeed there is no lift as the building is over 200 years old. We hope to welcome you back to the Thanet one day. Best wishes...

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#479 of 1,063 in London
518 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#586 of 1,063 in London
174 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#294 of 1,063 in London
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
#582 of 1,063 in London
254 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#675 of 1,063 in London
322 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#424 of 1,063 in London
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Thanet Hotel

Address: 8 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: RM629 - RM1,108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Thanet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanet Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#296 Family Hotel in London
#313 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thanet Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Thanet Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“our room was on first floor, very quiet, looked out at back of hotel”
slimonetwo, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Quite steep stairs so if you've lots of luggage ask for a lower floor”
ITTS, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I wish we'd asked what floor our room was on.. quad rooms were a long walk up 3 flights of stairs.”
MarkG64A, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“First or Second Floor”
georgee522, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If any Mobility issues ask for a room on the lower floors as there is no lift.”
Sand582013, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$143* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$143
Booking.comUS$143
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates