We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Villa Kensington

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Villa Kensington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 268: English reviews
Start your review of The Villa Kensington
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

It's really bad if you want something from the receptionist, but he is playing with his mobile phone and ignore me. I don't know his name. But he had glasses and short grey hair. I hope I won't meet him next time. Otherwise the hotel and rooms were tidy and clean. Breakfast room was nice as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank watsooon
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Visited for the Chelsea Flower Show. Great location for local restaurants, close to Gloucester Road tube for link to Sloane Square. On a side street, so much quieter than you expect, requested a lower floor room, they were able to provide this, and close to the breakfast room. The staff were very helpful and friendly, would definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel with super service. The rooms maybe small - but they make up for it by having great service and good location close to metro and sights. I gave my parents a stay as an anniversary gift /birthsday gift and to their ( and mine) big surprise, they recieved a nice bottle of champagne from the hotel. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lykke P
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to leave these nice comments. Apology about the lift; a brand new one has been commissioned, and soon it should be up and running...(fingers crossed....!). Best regards. Ferdinand. GM

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location was close to Gloucester Station, restaurants in the area. A quiet street. Not far from the Victoria Albert Museum. Our 3 bed room sufficed but the carpets needed a cleaning. Brought to the attention of the front desk that the toilet seat was broken and the shower did not drain well. The matters were taken care of immediately....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladyluckEdmonton
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us and for your honest review. Best regards. Ferdinand. GM

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The villa at Kensington, is located in a superb area. Two minute walk to Gloucester train station, so pretty central if you were to get the Gatwick express to Victoria station and then Victoria to Gloucester. That's about all. The room, was ok. The shower overflowed, and was a bit of a health hazard. We were left 2 towels, tiny-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megmillsor
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us. I do apologize about the noise and the lift, which is currently under repair. We can and we do take care of guests' luggage, that is the minimum we can do....Towels like "face cloth"? That cannot be right, our bathroom towels are quite large... Best regards. Ferdinand. GM

Dikwella, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A friend and I were in London to attend interviews at Imperial. The location was perfect, 5 minutes from the tube station and only 25 minutes from London Euston train station by tube. Breakfast was okay - had a nice selection but no hot food. The room was nice and the bathroom was very clean and lovely! Staff were friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannahtravel2017
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for staying with us. Take care. Ferdinand. GM

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointing. Possibly the smallest room I've ever stayed in - it was actually quite claustrophobic. But you pays your money...That said, the maintenance was poor. The Lift was out of action and there were an awful lot of stairs. The bathroom extractor fan was noisy (and prolonged) and the bathroom door lock was broken so it swung open. The floorboards...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry V
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am really sorry for your disappointment and I do apologize for the lift. When I came upstairs to your room, you pointed out that the bathroom door did not close properly. That was indeed the case, but I am pretty sure, the door did not swung open, or at least not when I was there. I did...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ideal location for many attractions , had a triple room comfortable and clean . Shower was good !!! Breakfast was good value for money , staff really friendly and helpful . Would recommend this accommodation , within walking distance of tube station and several shops bars and restaurants

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shell280
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2017

A great value hotel. Booked a triple room which was a good size with a small ensuite. Our room was warm & comfortable and located on the ground floor overlooking the breakfast bar. Continental breakfast included, although this could be upgraded to a cooked breakfast. A good choice of cereals, juices, fruit, coffee/tea, pastries etc. made the continental breakfast filling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZIPZIP555
Jena, Germany
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

The room was clean but tiny, staff friendly. Walls thin but it was quiet anyway. The window was draughty but it wasn't cold. Breakfast buffet was perfectly acceptable. The location is perfect hence the high prices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie N

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (47)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#426 of 1,063 in London
756 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#168 of 1,063 in London
926 reviews
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#283 of 1,063 in London
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#362 of 1,063 in London
1,994 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#514 of 1,063 in London
427 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#290 of 1,063 in London
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Kensington

Neighbourhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about The Villa Kensington

Address: 10 - 11 Ashburn Gardens, London SW7 4DG, England (Formerly Abcone Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Price Range: RM489 - RM1,088 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villa Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Villa Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abcone Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Villa Kensington staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Villa Kensington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“View over quiet street from front hotel rooms.”
C1642HClindas, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“The pictures posted are deceiving when it comes to size.”
ladyluckEdmonton, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Quiet room on the ground floor”
  • Villa Kensington
  • Villa Kensington
  • Villa Kensington
  • Villa Kensington
ZIPZIP555, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room,201, next to stairs so room only on one side.”
timothyp504, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask to see the room first if possible and don't settle for 92.”
  • Room 92
sharonfP4586NZ, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates