We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure London Kensington

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure London Kensington
Mercure London Kensington
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure London Kensington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 891: English reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

The best: location, king size bed, the breakfast! The less: There should be the option for natural ventilation system. That would be less expensive for the hotel costs, more healthy for the guests and surely even more confortable

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank André M
Malcolm L, Management Office at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

Dear Andre M, Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that our location as well as the quality of our beds and breakfast were appreciated. Your suggestion in regards to ventilation have been noted and it is certainly something we shall look into. Hoping to welcome you another time, Kind regards, Jalila

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

This was a real last min.com booking and to be honest I wondered what I had done. Let me begin. I arrived to a hotel totally divest of staff. After 10min Victor Meldrew arrived and did not crack a smile and told me I was not on the list. I proved my booking but that was still not acceptable to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank premier1970
Malcolm L, Management Office at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

Dear premier1970, Thank you for your feedback which was an interesting read to say the least! The points highlighted in regards to specific members of staff will be investigated and the appropriate actions will be taken where necessary. We thrive to provide our guests with an outstanding customer service, be it at night or during the day. Your comments are...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

To begin with, this is a really old, crampy hotel. There is not enough place even to lay a bag opened. It's amazing to find a mini bar and some bits of food inside the wardrobe. The furnishings are poorly maintained. Paints are falling off. Even water is leaking in the toilet. Telephone not working. The house keeping is very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NaughtyStar
Malcolm L, Management Office at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, We are extremely surprised by your review as what is described does not reflect our hotel. We would therefore be grateful if you could contact us on h8064-gm@accor.com so that we can investigate the points you highlighted. Best regards, Jalila

Discovery Bay, California
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Greeted by two smiling front desk ladies, informed that we had been upgraded to a king room started our stay at the Mercure on a good note. Our room was spotless, and knowing that rooms are smaller in many European hotels. We were quite pleased. The fridge has complimentary waters, cookies, etc., and the espresso machine for the morning shot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank parkcityjanie
Malcolm L, Management Office at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

Dear parkcityjanie, Thank you so very much for your great feedback and we are delighted to hear that you have had such a fantastic with us. Kevin and the entire hotel team are very touched by your kind comments and we all look forward to welcoming you another time in the near future. Warm regards, Jalila

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We loved the area and the hotel was actually very nice. Special thanks go the barman, whose name we did not get!. He was very helpful and kind. My one BIG complaint was that I booked this hotel on the Accor website specifically because it said it had parking (paid). It was very important as we had a car with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Valerie A
Malcolm L, Management Office at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

Dear Valerie A, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and for awarding us a 5 star rating! In regards to parking, we do have indeed 2 spaces which do need to be booked in advance to avoid disappointment. We are sorry to hear that this was not communicated clearly enough. We do hope to...

Tapejara, RS
Reviewed 4 October 2016

The hotel is very good, just avoid the little rooms, even on double bed, it is really really small. The breakfast is very good. Easy to get around by tube or bus. Good restaurants in walikng distance.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marcelovrz
Malcolm L, Management Office at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

Dear marcelovrz, Thank you very much for your feedback and we are happy to hear that you found our hotel to be very good. We do offer several room categories and we would suggest one of our superior rooms for a future stay. Hoping to welcome you again, Warm regards, Jalila

Birmingham, England
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Spent 4 nights at the Mercure, Rooms a little on the small side (like a lot of hotels in capital cities), but comfortable. Hotel staff are helpful, breakfast was good. Hotel is well located you can walk to Natural History Museum and V&A within 10 minutes, similarly it is a 15 minute walk to the Royal Albert Hall. Tube stations...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Noise77
Lisa K, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

Dear Noise77 Thank you for the kind review following your recent departure from the Mercure London Kensington Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and everything that we have to offer. I do hope that myself & the team have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future. Kind Regards Lisa...

Albany, New York
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Direct and short route and mercifully smooth sidewalks from the Earls Court underground to the hotel; ideal for travel direct from/to Heathrow and cheaply too (a single underground fare on an oyster card). Connects easily and quickly to everywhere in London via Earls Court. Lovely staff, exceedingly helpful. Bountiful breakfast featuring all the English classics, in a modern yet elegant...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ahratsny
Lisa K, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

Dear Ahratsny Thank you for taking the time to complete such a lovely review following your recent stay at the Mercure London Kensington Hotel. I am so pleased to read that you had a "perfectly wonderful" stay and that you enjoyed all the amenities that the hotel has to offer. Just one quick note, all our bedrooms have fully equipped...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 20 September 2016

You cannot go wrong with this hotel, great area, very clean, great amenities. Last time flew in from Paris on business and they were happy to get me an early check in. This was very classy of them, some hotels charge, even when rooms are available.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank davejp940
Lisa K, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

Dear Dave What a lovely review. I am really pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us and that you found everything in the hotel to your satisfaction. I do hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon. Kind Regards Lisa Lisa Kearney General Manager

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Very bad service by rude receptionist who expected 4 people to sleep in 1 double bed. She argued with us and said we had only booked 1 room. We had in fact booked 2 rooms. Another kind staff member was more helpful and assisted us to move to 2 rooms that were side by side. Thank you!! He was apologetic....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AJCurri
Lisa K, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

Dear AJ I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the perceived rudeness of the receptionist who was trying to help you when you first arrived at the hotel. This is not the normal level of service that we aim to provide our guests here at the hotel and we get many letters and reviews praising the team and...

405 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (117)
Viewed
Executive Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (23)
Viewed
Standard King Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
#581 of 1,078 in London
834 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#419 of 1,078 in London
1,753 reviews
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Kensington

Neighbourhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We currently have off site parking next to the hotel at £30 a day.(T&C- Subject to availability) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure London Kensington

Address: 1A Lexham Gardens | Kensington, London W8 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park , Paddington / Maida Vale
Price Range: RM514 - RM1,249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Kensington Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#305 Luxury Hotel in London
#341 Family Hotel in London
#348 Business Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure London Kensington staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure London Kensington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms seem inviting”
 of 5 bubbles 636stevef, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check the room details on the hotel website as these are very clear and if you like more space go for more than a standard double.”
 of 5 bubbles Jule352, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High floor”
 of 5 bubbles Deceangi, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for what you need.”
 of 5 bubbles ahratsny, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a suite”
 of 5 bubbles Turzum, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay