We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sofitel London St James

Show Prices
#28 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sofitel London St James
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,754 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sofitel London St James
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,541: English reviews
New York City
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We've been staying at the Sofitel for years and usually go 2-3 times a year as it was our favorite London hotel. But this last visit was a disappointment. The restaurant management has changed hands and the quality of the food has gone down. Tea in the Rose Room was marred by the noise from the large groups that were...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank newyorkanya
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I thank you for taking the time to tell me about your experience. Your constructive feedback is much appreciated. I am truly sorry for the trouble caused during your last stay. You came during the busy period of the Olympics 2012. The hotel was indeed busy. Despite the numerous number of guests we have carried on delivering high standard of...

Narbonne, France
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Everything was perfect, elegant, skill, charming . We have been 3 days at Sofitel Saint James and it have been a fantastic week end . The staff was charming allways here when necessary with simplicity and efficiency. I try to find something which could be no perfect , but I don't find .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bernard187155
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

It is really rewarding for us to hear positive feedbacks from our guests and I thank you for taking the time to point your satisfaction out on TripAdvisor website. Our priority is to have all of our guests have a magnifique experience at Sofitel London St James. I am proud of my whole team who have met your expectations in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed as part of a 3-for-2 chocolate deal, probably wouldn't have stayed here otherwise as its a bit pricey even for London standards! The breakfast is INCREDIBLE - even years later I still remember the perfect breakfast in the middle of a cold bitter London winter. Really warms up your whole day. Very good location right next to Piccadilly Circus...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ach0087
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. I am glad to hear that you have had a most enjoyable experience at Sofitel London St James as we have provided you with high level of services. Our central yet quiet location is also one of our assets. I am sorry to hear that you have found your room a bit...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 July 2012

What a fantastic place to stay. Location, location, location. The rooms are immaculate. I recommend having breakfast, one of the big draw cards for staying here on numerous occasions. Each time I have stayed with family the staff have been extremely Helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eurostylin
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I thank you for appreciating our high standard of service. Our utmost reward is to hear our guests enchantment as they are being indulged on every occasion. I also thank you for recommending TripAdvisor surfers to have breakfast in our restaurant "The Balcon". Our Executive Chef prouds himself in offering the freshiest seasonal products on the market. We look forward...

Brisbane
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Location was perfect for anything you want to do in London. A very elegant hotel with friendly helpful staff. Only question mark would be the size of the room, for the money we paid I expected something bigger, but the Olympics are on so the prices may be different to usual. Shower over the bath, which is one of my...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank helper01
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I thank you for your positive feedback encompassing flattering words regarding our high level of service. We genuinely love take care of all of our guests. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused with the size of your room. Indeed European rooms are smaller than Australian ones. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed the atmosphere implemented at...

Burnaby, Canada
Reviewed 21 July 2012

All I want to say about this hotel is: This is a place that makes me feel like being at home, Friendly and thoughtful staff and services makes me, a stranger in this gigantic city, feel like having good friends and family around me. So, must I spend time searching for a hotel for my next visit? No! This is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bigmamadcc
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

You could not make all of us happier and the whole Sofitel London St James team thank you for this. Indeed our daily main concern is to have satisfied guests who can rely on us to spend the warmest and most enjoyable experience. I am truly pleased to hear that we have achieved our aim! I also thank you for...

Fresno, CA, USA
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Perfect location! Attentive staff! Great Value! That pretty much sums up our 3 day stay at the Sofitel London St. James. After a two week cruise we ended our vacation with a short stay at the Sofitel. We've stayed at other Sofitel properties and frankly this one is one of the best. It's not their newest by any means but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CruiserDeluxe
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I thank you for all of your complimentary and kind words regarding our high standard of services. We genuinely have a passion for all of our guests and I am glad that they can feel it like you did. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in May 2013. Kindest regards, Denis Dupart General Manager

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Only an overnight stay, but everyone went out of their way to be courteous and friendly. The room was spotless and everything replenished after the evening turn down. The bar staff were knowledgable, and the choice and presentation at breakfast was probably the best I've seen in th uk. Thankyou, we will certainly stay again next time we have a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave W
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

It is quite enjoyable to hear that we have met and may I say exceeded your expectations in terms of standard of services. We genuinely and kindly serve all of our guests and the team and I appreciate your complimentary remarks. The Executive Chef, Vincent Ménager, was glad to read that you have had such a pleasant experience for breakfast...

Melbourne
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This hotel is located right next to Piccadilly tube and Soho so has lots of great restaurants incl. Chinatown, and walk to the best musicals in the West End, Buckingham Palace, the famous parks and the red light district (if you like)! The rooms are comfortable without being amazing and the views are limited. The breakfast and gym is good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tania d
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I can tell that you have been all over Sofitel London St James areas. Thank you for letting TripAdvisor surfers know about your satisfaction regarding our high standard of services. And thank you also for such compliment related to our So-SPA. It is indeed one of the most enjoyable ones in London according to our guests. I look forward to...

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed three nights here and there was not a single thing to complain about. The view from my window was not so good but that was not what I expected. The room was spacious compared to other London hotels and it was very clean. The service was excellent , and I had a dinner and breakfast which I highly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Naoko O
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I am truly grateful for your feedback. It was a real delight hosting you at Sofitel London St James. We genuinely love to indulge all of our guests and it has been a honour to meet your expectations in terms of level of services. We have put a lot into the refurbishment of the restaurant The Balcon. I am so...

1,274 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (875)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (144)
Viewed
Bathroom (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (228)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (333)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (318)
Viewed
Amenities (86)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Room (124)
Viewed
The Hotel (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#11 of 1,088 in London
754 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#23 of 1,088 in London
1,066 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Cafe Royal Hotel
Cafe Royal Hotel
#55 of 1,088 in London
1,112 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#40 of 1,088 in London
2,658 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#14 of 1,088 in London
3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in St. James's

Neighbourhood Profile
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII, the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier destination for high end craft and bespoke design. Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing junction of Piccadilly Circus at its northeast corner and none of Central London too far away, this is an surprisingly central and accessible part of town, especially given its prosperous demeanor.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Rose Lounge
The Rose Lounge
Cuisines: British, French, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Price Range: RM1,516 - RM2,622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel London St James staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question
Adelaide, Australia
6 months ago
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 month ago
7 months ago
Orange County, California

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel London St James staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“great service, luxury, style”
 of 5 bubbles mattmE6258YS, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want a street view ask for it.”
 of 5 bubbles 469tony, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“corner suites, if you can afford them, are AMAZING”
 of 5 bubbles Ghiato, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book directly through the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles brink27, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room size varies a lot according to price. Some rooms don't have a view, though these are often quietest so we don't mind them.”
 of 5 bubbles traveller_constant, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5