We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sofitel London St James

Show Prices
#29 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Sofitel London St James
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,642 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sofitel London St James
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,476: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed on the weekend of 28 April. It was a birthday celebration. The one thing that most impressed us was the staff. Not once were we not greeted with a smile. Firstly this is a very French hotel in London, which we enjoy and appreciate. First language is French but once they understand your English their conversation switches into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alipet558
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I thank you for your feedback and I am delighted to hear that the team impressed you throughout your stay. I am very pleased that we were able to allocate a room on a the 6 floor, allowing to enjoy the view. I will certainly pass your feedback onto the team and hope that next time the London weather will...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We chose the Sofitel St. James as our base for our family trip in London. Being seven people, three rooms and quite noisy, we were amazed by the friendliness of the staff, the great location, and the perfect setting. The rooms were big, clean and well equipped. It helps if you speak French, but all in all a perfect stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaKe72
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel London St James and that you appreciated the friendliness of our the team. We look forward to welcoming you all back very soon, allowing to create some more Magnifique memories in London. With my best regards, Denis Dupart General Manager

Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in many 5* hotels but this was by far the best! The service was spot on and I am hard to please. The rooms are very clean & comfortable. We loved the restaurant very stylish and friendly with excellent food. Location could not be better, so central to everything. We will certainly be back :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mimileit
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Indeed we are very well located in the heart of London, very close to some of the best attraction in London. Very pleased to hear that you also made the most of your stay by enjoying food at The Balcon. Thank you also for sharing your feedback about friendliness’ of the team. We are looking...

San Francisco
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This Sofitel hotel is ideally located in the St. James area of London, within walking distance to many attractions and close to many tube stops. Hotel staff was professional and helpful, the room was well appointed with many premium features, and very quiet. The AC works perfectly, which during a London August heat spell can be blissfully welcome. Double windows...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CUinSF
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Sofitel London St James. In October 2011 we launched our new restaurant, The Balcon, a Grand French Brasserie. I hope that you will have the pleasure to come and savor some of its signature dishes when you are next in London. I am...

Cheshire, UK
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I booked the Sofitel based on the trip advisor reviews and because it was my partners 50th birthday. We received a very warm welcome when we arrived and were fortunate that our room was available even though we arrived early. The room was lovely and enjoyed all the extra touches, only disappointment was that there was not much of a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TartanD
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted to that you chose Sofitel London St James to celebrate your partners 50th Birthday. I glad that you enjoyed the extra touches, however due to our very central location, some of rooms do have restricted views. I am pleased that your stay was made even more special with the surprise birthday cake...

Reviewed 24 April 2012

Very well located down town London, close to everything you may want to visit. All rooms are good no need to pay an extra for upgrade, the bar is worth trying with welcome drink, in winter dont put the fan in the room on it only gives cold or fresh air , heating should be enough, prefer inside rooms for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adiguzel
Riga, Latvia
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Out of all hotels that I have stayed at in London Sofitel is the one I like the best. Good value for money. It is not cheap but it is London that we talk about thus location, size of rooms, service makes good price value combination. Staff was super friendly and helpful with making restaurant bookings, etc. The breakfast in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandijs
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and your positive comments our wonderful central location. I am pleased to hear that you felt that the hotel was good value for money. I pleased that you also enjoyed your breakfast in The Balcon, I sorry however if your felt it took too long, I will certainly pass your feedback onto the Restaurant Manager....

Auckland
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I spent the week in London on business before being joined by family (wife and 3 daughters, 13, 10 and 10) for the weekend. The transition from an efficient, stylish business hotel into a family friendly treat was seemless. Special mention to the friendliness of the staff, particularly breakfast in the Balcon restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased to hear that the team fulfilled your expectation both as a business and leisure traveler. Thank you for the special mention on the team, I will certainly pass this on. Kind regards Denis Dupart General Manager

Philadelphia
Reviewed 21 April 2012

As I write this I am lying in my comfy bed here at the Sofitel St. James after a long day of touring around London. I cannot say enough about how wonderful our experience this stay has been! First of all I booked on Hotwire and was so excited to have booked with a Sofitel! It was not cheap but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank corny
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your impression so quickly. I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with your choice of hotel, and that the team looked after you so well throughout your stay. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed our Marche Menu in The Balcon. I am sorry however that the weather was on the rainy...

London
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Unpretentious afternoon tea in a cosy quiet room with the harp playing in the background. None of the cakes or sandwiches were stunning but everything was nicely presented, the best bit was the lychee rose champagne cocktail which was delicious! Service was attentive albeit slow. We had a nice time but I wouldn't go again. The hotel itself is beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ldnr

1,224 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (830)
Viewed
Room/Suite (220)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (131)
Viewed
Bathroom (83)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (311)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (318)
Viewed
Amenities (86)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Room (124)
Viewed
The Hotel (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,078 in London
730 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#25 of 1,078 in London
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Cafe Royal Hotel
Cafe Royal Hotel
#49 of 1,078 in London
1,054 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#42 of 1,078 in London
2,507 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#15 of 1,078 in London
3,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in St. James's

Neighbourhood Profile
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII, the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier destination for high end craft and bespoke design. Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing junction of Piccadilly Circus at its northeast corner and none of Central London too far away, this is an surprisingly central and accessible part of town, especially given its prosperous demeanor.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Rose Lounge
The Rose Lounge
Cuisines: British, French, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon" , an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Price Range: RM1,300 - RM3,409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#29 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel London St James staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel London St James staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking Pall Mall and Waterloo are all good and surprisingly quiet”
 of 5 bubbles martinsO1228QJ, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are nice but the suites are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 820sharronm, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“See if you can get a room on the higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles juliep970, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I told the hotel my needs and they picked the perfect room”
 of 5 bubbles 599nikkiv, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I felt the rooms were too small and too cramped woth heavy furniture”
 of 5 bubbles brownpina, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay