We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Home London

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Home London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 148: English reviews
Start your review of Home London
 Click to rate
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a room 2 days ago but had to cancel due to a unforeseen advent Rang today to get a refund but was told it is non-refundable. They only got the payment today So I have lost over £100 It not like I left it to the last minute(the booking was for over a weeks time) I find it unfair

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliebrowne111
HomeLdN, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review. We're sorry that you had to cancel your stay and that you couldn't get a refund, our double rooms are non refundable. Have a nice day.

Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with a friend. 160£ for a bed in a tiny room with shared bath is ridiculously expensive. Dirty showers, poor breakfast. Staff was friendly at check-in, unfriendly at check out. Really good location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lala L
HomeLdN, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay and had a bad experience during your check-out. We only have shared bathrooms in the hostel and they are cleaned everyday. We try our best to offer a nice breakfast, you have different breads to toast, jams, butter, peanut...

Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

I was staying in a female dorm and was very happy with the curtains on each bunk - gives you that extra privacy. Room also featured make up mirrors and had enough space for luggages. There is free breakfast every day, offerring pancakes!!! The bar is nice for an evening cocktail, loved Bourbon Sour! The showers were closed on my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kamile S
HomeLdN, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hi Kamile, thank you for your lovely review! We're happy that you appreciated your stay in Home London. All the beds in our dormitories have curtains so our guests have that extra privacy, which is really nice in a shared room. We do our best to wake you up with a nice breakfast and help you have a great night...

Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Me and my cousins stayed two nights in this hostel in a three bed dorm and we had a very pleasant experience. The staff is super nice and the location is amazing, near Kings Cross train and metro station, and in a street full of restaurants and pubs. Breakfast was good as well. Although we had a good experience the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna O
HomeLdN, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your nice review! We're glad that you enjoyed staying at Home. We do have some renovations being made at the moment, so hopefully you'll enjoy your stay even more when you'll come back! See you soon

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel, because of the price and the location, which is a perfect place to stay in in Central London. Good points: staff was friendly, good breakfast, WiFi, worked, hot showers and friendly travelers. Good bed mattress to sleep in. Friendly laid back atomspehere, young hip travelers so you will have good mates next to you. Bad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruby_uae_xoxo
HomeLdN, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for writing a review. We're so sorry that you were cold in your room. We take in consideration our guests feedback to improve our services. We're glad that you still enjoyed your stay overall, we try to make the hostel feel like home as much as possible and it's always nice to have reviews about the feeling...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 4 January 2017

My boyfriend booked this due to its good location. Thats really the only good thing about it. We had a private room on the ground floor near reception. The room was spacious enough and had a tv. The sheets didn't seem all that clean and there was a large window behind the bed, great for light, but letting in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank galway94
HomeLdN, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for writing a review. We're sorry that you have been disturbed by some noise during your stay. We do have private rooms upstairs that might have been quieter. Thanks for your comment about our team! Have a nice day.

Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Was in a rush to find a cheap place to stay, so booked this place for 2 nights. Great location without doubt, good receptionist, mediocre facilities, messy and tiny room, poor bunk beds. The first night stay was really a nightmare, so many people were snoring and the whole room smelled disgusting. The sounds from the street is rather loud....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle X
HomeLdN, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear you did not have the best stay here. You may have seen housekeepers cleaning your room, beds are changed every time a guest checks-out. We try our best to ensure guests have a nice stay in the hostel and feel like home. We're...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Had a single room which had adequate space, it is a backpackers after all Other facilities are basic. Shower facilities very cramped. Provided a basic breakfast but you could make your own pancakes which was a nice touch. Staff friendly and helpful. Great location close to St Pancreas station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LSharn
HomeLdN, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you appreciated the pancakes! We try our best to make this place feel like home. Have a nice day.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

The staff seem nice... price wasn't bad for location... the cramped bedrooms aren't the greatest so I would hate to stay there for more than one night and sober. Having the lockers out in the hallway was a bit dodgy to me - I was a bit worried about all our stuff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helvin3
HomeLdN, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear that you didn't like the room. We do have rooms that are small which is the reason why we couldn't put the lockers inside the rooms, so we could save as much space as possible. Happy that you appreciated the team, we hope you have...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Pros: Friendly, hard working staff, good location. light and charging facilities at bed, free breakfast with crepe maker! Cons: no alcohol allowed (even though they have lost their alcohol sale licence), very very cramped, no space at all, have to pay for bag storage, no friends allowed, small common room space

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mat123452015
HomeLdN, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review. Bringing your own alcohol is not allowed since we have a bar open from Thursdays until Saturdays. We try our best to make the building feel like home so we're happy that you appreciated our team and our breakfast. Have a nice day.

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#741 of 1,089 in London
409 reviews
Keystone House
#368 of 828 in London
295 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#67 of 828 in London
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#55 of 828 in London
584 reviews
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#25 of 828 in London
641 reviews
Bloomsbury
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#64 of 567 in London
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stylish backpacker’s accommodation located 1 minute from Kings Cross and a half an hour’s walk along the beautiful Regent’s canal to Camden’s famous market, bars and nightclubs Our vibrant social areas are ideal for meeting like-minded travellers and the occasional jam session. The kitchen’s well equipped with FREE tea and coffee and the lounge is a relaxing chill-out space with a large TV and a great library of books and DVDs all free of charge. Dorm beds each with their own power, light, set of curtains and lockers are available for security. For more comfort and intimacy, our private double or twin rooms have a large, comfy double bed, desk, tea and coffee set, flat screen TV, DVD player and safe. FREE high speed WiFi is provided throughout the whole building as well as a great FREE breakfast which includes all you can eat pancakes. King’s Cross Station is 1 minute away providing fast connections around London and its airports and Eurostar Service.The British museum is a 20-minute walk away and Oxford Street is just 10 minutes by tube. Home London requires valid ID for all guests; you will be asked to provide this on arrival. Cancellation policy: Cancellations accepted by email up to 48 hours prior to start of stay. First night is payable if cancellation is within 48 hours of stay. In event of no-show then full payment will be charged for the booking. By booking the customer agrees to these conditions and the charges on the listed card given at the time of booking. If you cancel any individual night of your reservation, then the deposit for that night will not be refunded or transferred. Check In: New arrivals can check into their rooms after 2pm each day. Guests may arrive earlier and leave their luggage in our free luggage storage. You do not have to be a member of any organization to stay at Home London, however, we do require that some form of valid photo identification is presented upon check in, preferably a Passport, I.D. card or driving license. We will require a £10 cash deposit on arrival for the keycard, towel and locker hire. Check Out: Check out is at 10am and guests must hand all security cards, locker keys back to reception. Age restrictions: The property only accepts guests aged 18 years and older. Exceptions made for a 16 and 17 year old travelling with a parent or legal guardian. Please note that this hostel is not recommended for elderly guests. Group bookings policies: For bookings of 6 people or more, different rates and conditions apply than advertised on the website. 50% of the total will be charged at any time after the booking and it will be non-refundable in case of cancellation. The remaining balance will be charged 2 weeks before arrival and will be non-refundable in case of cancellation or a no-show. A security deposit of £250 (cash/card) is required upon arrival for incidentals. This deposit is fully refundable upon check-out and subject to a damage inspection of the accommodation. £10 min charge for card payments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Home London

Address: 54 - 58 Caledonian Road, London N1 9DP, England (Formerly Journeys Kings Cross Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: RM97 - RM518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Home London 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Home London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Journeys London King`s Cross Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Home London staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Home London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Single room on ground floor close to toilet and other facilities”
 of 5 bubbles LSharn, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for top bunk and a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles GandyStreet, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Its a smelly bunker.”
 of 5 bubbles carolinacO2063RY, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“For a better nights sleep I would request a room on the upper floors.Although the downstairs bathrooms are more spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles cariman2016, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go to other hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles noeliao656, 4 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5