We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Generator Hostel London

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,105: English reviews
Thimphu, Bhutan
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very efficient and fast service. Clean rooms, clean washrooms and comfortable. Good location. Despite having a dorm, the others were very considerable and friendly. Good coffee and excellent croissant fro breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Went to London for a gig and stayed here, the place was very good, immaculate clean and all the staff were spot on. Bar staff very friendly and the night staff ensure everyone stayed safe. A good place to stay over night. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Got a private room with bathroom. Felt just like a hotel but way cheaper. The room was very clean and the bathroom was quite big, not much space in the room but enough. Not a fan of the breakfast though, but the location is great and lots of other places to eat around! Will be back for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Val B
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear guest we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy that you enjoyed our location - we have a couple of different breakfast options so next time you can try something else! We can't wait to welcome you back again in the near future. Best wishes, Generator London

Paris
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My room had no heat for 4 hours and despite complaining several times at the front desk I was told there was nothing that could be done and I would have to wait until the heat time went on... I was given I guess this could be great if you're student on a budget. The design is appealing and puts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julietcapulet2
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to write us a review - we value your opinion a lot. We are really sorry that you were cold - our heaters are on a specific time schedule in the whole building to prevent the rooms from being too warm. We have passed to message to management to try and make...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall, I had a good stay at the Generator Hostel in London. It is located very central but quiet. The thing bothering me was however our very small dorm room. My friend and I were staying in a 4 bed dorm room and the only thing that could fit in there were the two bunk beds. It was not possible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 76SW268318534568
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are happy that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We are happy that you took advantage of our very central location. We do have security walking the halls at night so next time please do not hesitate to contact them or our reception team and they will help you right away! We hope to see you...

Lurgan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed in a twin room on 4th floor Pros: close to 2 tube stations (Russell square underground slightly closer). Clean room and shared showers/toilets also clean and modern. I seen other reviews complained about the heating, I was out for most of the day but at night the room was lovely and warm. Beds were comfortable, you have to make...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caoimhe S
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear guest, we have let management know about your comment with the shelves in the shower rooms, they will take a look at the possibility for adding that option. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and had good use of our location. We are happy that you had a good experience with our staff! We can't...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The worst hostel experience ever. No heating during the winter, with the employees not caring for the situation and doing nothing to change it. Not even giving extra blanket. Dirty showers and bathrooms. The worst experience in this beautiful city

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dimitris D
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Dimitris D, We are very disappointed to read your feedback. We have heaters in each room which automatically switch on in the afternoon and we have a maintenance team working every day who can check the heaters are in working order. Ofcourse we can also provide extra duvets and we apologise that this was not done for you. Best...

Monbulk, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good hostel nice and clean, beds comfy but severe lack of power points in the room. Not to mention that there was only one toilet to service 10 or so different rooms unless you walked across to the other side of the floor where the larger bathrooms were. Showers were small and had no where to put clothes or anything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jsagg
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi jsagg, We are pleased that for the most part you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes lately on Saturday nights we have been fully booked, makes the bar fun to hang out. All your feedback has been shared with our team here in London and discussed. Best wishes, Generator London.

Nürnberg
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for a weekend with my two sisters and had a lot of fun. Private 4-bed room, big enough, clean and beds were pretty comfortable. Toilets and showers were always clean. The included breakfast wasn't really good - better get breakfast at the Generator Café. Would definitely come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dania B
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Dania B, Its great to hear from you after your girls getaway. Yes our private rooms are popular with groups of friends or family travelling together, it is fantastic that you liked it. Hope to see you again soon, best wishes, Generator London.

Zajecar, Serbia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at the mixed dorm. People were cool and friendly. The staff was very helpful. I tried their breakfast once big enough, but not so tasty. The only thing that this hostel lacks are good showers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zeldica
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello Thank you so much for your review and high rating. We are really glad that you've enjoyed your time here. We are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations regarding the breakfast. We are currently working on some improvements in our breakfast menu. Your comment about showers has been already passed along to our Facilities Manager. We hope to...

573 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (438)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
1:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (227)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Viewed
Quad Non-Ensuite (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Six Bed Ensuite (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Twin Ensuite (14)
Viewed
Twin Non-Ensuite (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#346 of 1,078 in London
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#17 of 792 in London
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator London was the very first Generator and you’ll find it in the area of Russell Square in the heart of the West End. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy London from, everything you need to see is minutes away by tube. You’ll never run out of things to do in the UK’s capital. You just have to decide where to start and we can help you with that. When you have seen and done it all for the day head back to Generator and unwind. It’s a destination in its own right and a great place to socialise and reflect on your experiences of the day. Head to the bar and chill out areas to get yourself a well deserved drink or two. It’s lively, friendly and un-missable. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying London life in the most authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private rooms with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll have to stay longer to fit it all in but you’ll not need convincing of that. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel London

Address: 37 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: RM148 - RM864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Generator Hostel London 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel London Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel London staff and other travellers.
65 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Charlotte, North Carolina
pembrokeshire
Portland, Oregon
1 month ago

See all questions (65)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is an elevator but getting to the room can take a bit of walking. It is quite large,”
 of 5 bubbles AndersE663, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For the love of God, DON'T DO IT”
 of 5 bubbles Chloeonfire32, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lower floor rooms because lifts can get very busy”
 of 5 bubbles GraciedeGracia, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bar noise travels up at least 3 floors, on that side of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles ChiefSasquatch, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Main floor is noisy! To leave/enter the hostel & bar at night you use a different door - this hallway is by the main floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles amcoss, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay