We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Generator Hostel London

Booking.comUS$42*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$102*
US$42*
Great Deal
US$51*
US$98*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,448 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,300: English reviews
Start your review of Generator Hostel London
 Click to rate
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Best getting a room with 8 of you and you everyone in there. Makes it so much more fun! Really cool place and really cheap for the area! Highly recommend! Reasonable bar prices and friendly staff too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy44135
Paris, France
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

No privet curtains, no bedside lamps while it was written on the webside. The breakfast not worth the money !! Very noisy (because of our rude neighboors), and it was too hot in the rooms. Otherwise, it's okay, the bedding is good and service is very good ! At last, the location is perfect !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurapnd
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi laurapnd, unfortunately we do not have curtain on the beds but we are happy that you still thought the bedding was good. We are sorry your room was hot - next time please do not hesitate to come see our reception team working around the clock as they can have a fan put in your room. Thank you for...

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had a great experience here! The room and bed is cozy. The reception is nice. The only drawback would be the number of shared shower room. There is a lot of people sharing a limited number of shower rooms. But other than that, everything is great! :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 蕙伃 蔡
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi guest, we are happy that you had a great experience staying with us and that you thought your room and bed was cozy. Next time try to go to one of the other floors we have plenty of bathrooms all around the building. We are a thrilled that you thought the reception was nice. Thank you for staying with...

Oshawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hey so ill start with the cons: paper thin walls, no complimentary break and the one they sell is £6.50 so $10 dollars. There is no place to store your food or cook. So if you wanted a bowl of cereal in the morning no fridge for milk. The hostel is undergoing construction and it gets loud in the mornings....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello Glenn W, Generator London would like to thank you for your feedback it is really important for us to understand what we could improve for your next visit, we'll keep working hard to make sure you'll have the best experience next time. In Generator Hostels we do not have a kitchen but we prepared a Menu for our guest...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When you travel you should just be going to your hostel/hotel for showers and sleeping. Otherwise you aren't doing something right. The hostel served it's purpose. Nothing extraordinary than others but it was nicely themed/decorated. My first time staying at a hostel. I like that so many different people are around you. Gives you the opportunity to meet others around...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 29adar
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello 29adar, Great to hear from you, in Generator we always try our best to make sure everyone feel welcome and we are happy to hear that you did. It's also great to hear you got to meet new people and enjoy your time in London. We hope to see you again Regards

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

When you get to the hostel from the outside looks like a regular hostel but when you open the door is where the magic happends. Is one of the best hostels i ever stay before. The decoration is awsome, the customer service the food options the rooms. Everything in every corner is great, they have all you need. Looks clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Jean D! It's Amazing to hear from you, thank you for taking your time to share your experience and review us, we are really happy to know you enjoyed your time in GEN LDN. Hope we'll see you soon :)

Maple Ridge, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Generator hostel on and off for the month I was traveling around Europe. This hostel was not only clean and reliable to everything local but the staff were extremely helpful when I was in need. I felt like I was staying at a resort half the time because everything was right at my finger tips. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cailin C
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear Cailin C, we are happy that you liked staying with us for a month and thrilled that you had a good experience with our extremely helpful staff. We are excited that you felt like you were staying at a resort and that you had good use of our location with easy access to the tube and shopping. Thank you...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Although there are many students living in this (and probably other hostels too) trying to find a place to live in London, I thought that it was a really nice hostel. The common areas were really cool to hangout in such as the big room with couches, and there always seemed to be a party happening in the restaurant and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie, we are happy that you liked our hostel even if there was a couple of school groups staying as well. We are exited that you enjoyed yourself in our common areas and that the cafe. We are also happy that you liked your bed and the cubby - if you want anything in your room to be done...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lets face it, London is expensive and sometimes unnecessarily overpriced. The Generator in London was everything but that! I stayed here for 5 days and have no complaints. It was very well maintained, had polite staff and most importantly it was only a 3-5 minute walk away from two tube stations that connects you to most of the city. To...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rahuldev2017
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi rahuldev2017, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and thought that it was good value for your money. We are pleased that you had good use of our location close to a couple of tube stations so it is easy to get around. We are also very thrilled that you thought our staff was polite. Thank...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here with 3 friends for the weekend. Location is great, really close to kings cross station for trains and underground. Hostel itself is really modern. There's a bar that stayed open until 3am with pool tables and chill out areas too. The dorms were a bit in the small side but clean and our one had its own sink...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne F
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are sorry that you did not have a good experience with our security staff we apologize on their behalf and will let them know about the comment. Besides that we are happy that you had good use of our location close to King's cross station. We pleased that you had a good time in our bar and...

601 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (466)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (20)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
1:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (252)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Viewed
Four-Bed Dorm with Shared Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Six-Bed Dorm with Bathroom (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Two-Bed Dorm with Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Two-Bed Dorm with Shared Bathroom (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#17 of 824 in London
1,139 reviews
Bloomsbury
Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#45 of 824 in London
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator London was the very first Generator and you’ll find it in the area of Russell Square in the heart of the West End. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy London from, everything you need to see is minutes away by tube. You’ll never run out of things to do in the UK’s capital. You just have to decide where to start and we can help you with that. When you have seen and done it all for the day head back to Generator and unwind. It’s a destination in its own right and a great place to socialise and reflect on your experiences of the day. Head to the bar and chill out areas to get yourself a well deserved drink or two. It’s lively, friendly and un-missable. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying London life in the most authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private rooms with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll have to stay longer to fit it all in but you’ll not need convincing of that. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel London

Address: 37 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: RM126 - RM732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel London 2*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Generator Hostel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel London Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel London staff and other travellers.
85 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (85)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Amazing common rooms”
EstefaniaB106, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Breakfast in hostel not so good, across the street at Valencia great full English.”
tinavd, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“6 bed with private bathroom”
Aranchime91, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book far in advance for best rates. Bring your own towels unless you're happy to rent some from the hostel.”
MegG360, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I was at 4th floor on a 2 beds room, so might have helped for the good experience there.”
adelinul2000, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$42* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$51
Hotels.comUS$98
Expedia.comUS$102
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates