We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Generator Hostel London

AMOMAUS$35*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$61*
US$35*
Great Deal
US$37*
US$59*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,266: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

All the generator hostels are good. The rooms are clean and spacious enough. It's located in a very good area, you have access different metro stations and it's also located walking distance to different neighborhoods. The staff is friendly ans you have different areas to chill and relax.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aranchime91
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Aranchime91, it is great to hear that you think well about all the Generators and that the room sizes and cleanliness is good. We are happy that you had good use of our location and that you enjoyed all of our common areas available to relax and hang out in. Lastly we are excited that you thought our staff...

Villena, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very surprised. You can reach the hotel from different metro lines, and that has saved a lot of time. Full of young people and a very pleasant atmosphere. Every night there is music in the bar and you can dine there. Breakfast is cheap and it is in comparison to what you can find in London

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anabelfs
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi guest, we are happy you very pleasantly surprised and that you enjoyed everything Generator has to offer such as our location, the atmosphere in the common areas and the food, Thank you for staying with us - and we do hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes - Generator London

Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hostels has its pros and cons Pros Very good location close to all major train stations and underground Cheap Fairly clean ( although i found a lip gloss from the previous tenant under my mattress) and quite for a hostel Nice staff more or less Cons Very hard to reach if you re going with a taxi no place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mhamadkh
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are happy that you tried to stay at our hostel and that there was a couple of things that you were happy about such as our nice staff. We are sorry that you did not feel there was enough plugs in each room but there is plenty available all around the common areas and a charging station...

Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an excellent stay here- everything was very clean, I feel like almost every time I went into the bathroom there was a staff member cleaning and keeping the floor and sinks dry which was great to see! What would have made it even better would have been plugs in each of the bunks for easy access/also not waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarahHinton13
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear SarahHinton13, we are thrilled that you had an excellent stay with us and that everything felt very clean. Unfortunately it is not possible for us to have plugs by each bed but we do have plenty all around the common areas and a charging station right next to reception. We are happy that you thought our prices was decent...

Eibar, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had really nice days. Is a good place for every type of groups. It doesn't matter if you are staying with your family, friends or couple. Is good for everyone. The location is perfect and the environment of the hostel is really good! There are some activities that you can take part on! The rooms are really well and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 65arri
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi 65arri, we are very happy you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the atmosphere of the hostel. We are thrilled that you thought our staff is really nice and pleased that you had a good time participating in the activities that is happening. Thank you for staying with us - we hope to welcome you back again...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall I would say Generator is a solid hostel. The location is very convenient but still quiet and tucked away from the street. It was one of the quietest hostel dorms I've ever stayed at, though it still felt vibrant and lively on the main floor. The only thing I found disappointing was the bathroom. The ones on my floor...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anoota
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Anoota, we are sorry about the extra amount of people due to an issue with the bathroom - it is all fixed now. We are happy you had good use of our location a little tucked away from the street. It is nice to hear that you had a quiet room and that you enjoyed our lively common areas....

Cannes, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

All staff are very friendly,nice hostel,very near at the metro station "russel squire" just few minutes to walk...going to the center of london...i recommend this hostel ...ill be back here..when i come in london...;)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reylan C
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Reylan C, It is great that you were able to explore the city easily from our location, we know how important this is especially after a busy day sightseeing. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Best wishes, Generator London

Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely and lively place with very friendly and helpful staff that are happy to have a chat! Clean and great facilities in a great location (Bloomsbury, very close to Euston station). Would definitely recommend!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marleen A
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello Marleen A, We are so pleased that you were able to share your London holiday with our staff they love to hear about our guests travels. Thank you for recommending us! We hope we can see you again soon. Best wishes, Generator London.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Why does the heating came on in the room at 12.15am until 2.15am on the hottest day of the year so far. Despite asking for it to be turned off on three separate nights. Sadly, despite being assured it would be sorted it wasn't.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi David H, Please accept our sincere apologies that your heater was not switched off when you requested. This has been discussed with our reception and maintenance teams to ensure there is no miss-communication again. Best wishes, Generator London

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hostel to stay at prior to departing on a college trip to New York. We had a group of 17 students who were tired from a long trip to London. The staff on reception were very helpful to our needs. As we needed to be setting off for Heathrow early, they prepared a packed breakfast for all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny R
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Danny R, We are thrilled that you and your group were able to get packed breakfasts for your departure, we know how handy this can be. Thanks for your suggestion regarding the plugs, this has been passed onto our maintenance team. Best wishes, Generator London

596 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (461)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
1:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (249)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Viewed
Four-Bed Dorm with Shared Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Six-Bed Dorm with Bathroom (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Two-Bed Dorm with Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Two-Bed Dorm with Shared Bathroom (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#16 of 837 in London
1,122 reviews
Bloomsbury
Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#44 of 837 in London
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator London was the very first Generator and you’ll find it in the area of Russell Square in the heart of the West End. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy London from, everything you need to see is minutes away by tube. You’ll never run out of things to do in the UK’s capital. You just have to decide where to start and we can help you with that. When you have seen and done it all for the day head back to Generator and unwind. It’s a destination in its own right and a great place to socialise and reflect on your experiences of the day. Head to the bar and chill out areas to get yourself a well deserved drink or two. It’s lively, friendly and un-missable. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying London life in the most authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private rooms with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll have to stay longer to fit it all in but you’ll not need convincing of that. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel London

Address: 37 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: RM140 - RM745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel London 2*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Generator Hostel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel London Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel London staff and other travellers.
80 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (80)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“6 bed with private bathroom”
Aranchime91, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book far in advance for best rates. Bring your own towels unless you're happy to rent some from the hostel.”
MegG360, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I was at 4th floor on a 2 beds room, so might have helped for the good experience there.”
adelinul2000, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“great location”
BabouWang, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get the room on the first floor so you don't have to use stairs all the time.”
230danyr, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
AMOMA
US$35* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$37
Orbitz.comUS$59
PricelineUS$61
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates