We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge London Central Aldgate East

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Travelodge London Central Aldgate East
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

391 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 364: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge London Central Aldgate East
 Click to rate
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Basic place to stay. Little noisy as on the road and a lot of traffic moves around in the evening. Wifi is paid. Breakfast doesn't have muffins a basic necessity :) however rest all scrambled egg etc all available

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shagun1982
TravelodgeUK, Poppy from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

May we thank you for your review of our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast however, we're sorry to hear external noise impacted your stay. We will be sure to pass your comments to the hotel and we hope that there will be another occasion to welcome you as our guest. May...

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Don't stay at this hotel , awful location heating not working loads of noise from the railway line , we had a sick stain on the floor outside the room and even staff members just walked past and over looked it yes it's cheap but so is a campsite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are truly sorry to learn of the experience you have had whilst staying with us. We would kindly ask you contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form to look into this more thoroughly. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel, well presented, staff are lovely, breakfast was good too. The only thing that lets this place down is it's location, being near a train station is both good and bad. The noise from my room was not too bad (I was on the opposite side) but have overheard and have seen reviews from those closer to the track...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 452arnh
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

It's reassuring that our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge provided a great experience. We're pleased to learn your stay was great value and your room was clean. We aim to provide a comfortable stay for our guests, so we're happy to hear this has been achieved. Please rest assured we will pass your feedback to the hotel team, thank you...

Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelodge My travel agent did not have access to this hotel ,I now know why. I had to book it myself and had little choice since it was close to where i needed to be . Stayed at this hotel for over one week. The stay itself was terrible, added to the hotel being in a very bad and dangerous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul r
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge and taking the time to share your experience with us. We're really sorry to learn of your disappointment with your overall stay. We want our customers to enjoy their experience in our hotels so we are sorry to learn that you did not receive our high standard of...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our second stay here, this time for marathon weekend in which our daughter was competing. This hotel is in an excellent location for tourists although first impressions might say otherwise as it is tucked away down a dull side street close to a railway line. However a 10 minute walk takes you to St. Katherines Dock, Tower Bridge or The...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank colinbL7702OW
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Smoke alarm covered.. very dangerous. Noisy and tatty. Nothing seems to work or is broken. Why has a supervisor or manager inspected the room before a guest checks in? Very disappointing for travelodge

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. We're sorry to learn of your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. Please could we ask that you contact us via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2017

The location is in rather seedy back street. I can't image a lone female feeling safe walking to the hotel, late at night. Corridor leading to the room was very miserable and worn out. The room was rather tired and un-inviting. Shower body/head shampoo appeared to be filled with water. Looked like water, felt like water, smelt like water. It...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 430duncang
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for...

Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

So close to the DLR there is no way I could get a good nights sleep due to the noise from trains running every 2 mins of so. Ended up moving to a different hotel. Staff were extremely helpful though in moving me to Bethnal Green, unlike Travelodge customer services who seem to think it's my fault because their website...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank binast
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for...

Hertfordshire
Reviewed 6 April 2017

The hotel room was great - clean and fresh and well maintained. I was staying here because of a work event being held close by. Although i never got back to the room until passed midnight the trains seemed to go quiet just after but were back running again a few hours later. I am sure if i had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vacationgirl001
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. Feedback is really important to us and detailed comments like yours will help us in improving our services. We will ensure our hotel team receive a copy of your review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room and that you received a high level of service from our...

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017

some nights cheap and others not, very central, stay in front rooms as railway line at back. Air con/heating didn't work but supplied with heater and fan ok in winter. Window opened a little despite lack of handle. Very comfy beds and pillows. Extra towels provided if ask, hairdryer provided if ask. Breakfast reasonable selection and quality.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darrell F
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of your experience, in such instances we would suggest to let our reception team know so that they can reallocate your room or fix the issues you have. In any case we would like to thank you and apologise for your last stay with us and we hope to be...

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#217 of 1,063 in London
3,540 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#121 of 1,063 in London
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Whitechapel

Neighbourhood Profile
Whitechapel
Whether you're here for its dynamic street life, world class galleries or famed curry houses, you're bound to be wowed by the uniquely cosmopolitan flavor of Whitechapel. Long gone are the days when Jack the Ripper stalked its streets. And despite his mysterious legacy bringing throngs of curiosity driven tour groups to its back alleys and otherwise serene garden squares, these days you're more likely to catch a cutting edge fashionista scurrying through its age old lanes than criminals of any sort.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Aldgate East

Address: 6-13 Chamber Street, London E1 8BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel
Amenities:
Price Range: RM381 - RM943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Central Aldgate East 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Central Aldgate East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Aldgate East Travelodge Hotel London
Comfort Hotel Tower London
Travelodge London
Travel Lodge London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge London Central Aldgate East staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge London Central Aldgate East staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can stay elsewhere !”
204paulr, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
  • Train is right next to the window
csteve1, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you still want to go here, try to get a room at the 4th floor. The noise might be a bit less.”
  • View from the first floor.
  • Safe Broken
  • Airco broken
Kokkie71, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book an early check in room. The extra charge is worth it.”
G9529FBbrianf, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid odd numbered rooms on rail side”
G436GJandrewm, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
* /night
View Deal
TravelodgeUS$64
Orbitz.com
Cancelon
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates