We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge London Central Aldgate East

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Travelodge London Central Aldgate East
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Travelodge London Central Aldgate East
See the most recent reviews
Showing 359: English reviews
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Friendly and welcoming staff - and (just) under £100 a night, but thats not enough, this place is not good! On a back street on the edge of Tower Hamlets - safe enough in reality, but it will appear distinctly scary if you don't know the area or of a nervous disposition (try ton put out of your mind that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owls17
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as this does not reflect Travelodge standards. Could we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form with your review to look into...

leeds
Reviewed 19 March 2017

I Agree with The previous subscriber if you are at the back of the hotel the trains will keep you awake, it isn't just the noise, I had some earplugs but the vibrations still kept me awake. I was in room 103. The hotel should either take steps to prevent the noise and vibrations or not use the rooms at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank csteve1
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for...

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017

All the rooms to the rear of the hotel back onto the underground which runs from 05.00 to 01.30 - every 2-3 minutes therefore maximum sleep time is 3.5 hours......The hotel itself is irrelevant after this - be warned!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkB25
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. We're sorry to learn of your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. Please could we ask that you contact us via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope...

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Stayed at this hotel for a concert at TROXY, very convenient for the concert. Room was spotlessly clean, the two receptionists we spoke to were very friendly and helpful, cleaners friendly too. We booked a twin room and although it was bigger than we had been expecting the two beds were pushed very close together, didn't cause a problem for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hozzie B
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

We're thankful to you for sharing your positive experience at our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. We encourage our hotel to work hard towards providing the best experience possible for our guests, so we are delighted to hear that our hotel team was able to make your stay more enjoyable. We aim to provide a great stay to our guests...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Very polite staff, clean comfy room to stay. Easy to find the location. The bed was very comfortable to sleep in, the shower excellent. On leaving the staff member asked about our stay and was interested in our opinion.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 312anitaq
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

The hotel is right next to a set of rail tracks with the room I stayed in being about level with the tracks and about 10 meters away. The noise was so loud that sleep was more or less impossible. The traffic stopped for a few hours between 1 and 5 am, but otherwise the train traffic is pretty full...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 285eric
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

I booked the travelodge for two nights as a base to travel around London. I hade pre booked breakfast and wifi. The room was basic but adequate and served our needs. It is right next to the train tracks and you can hear the trains but it just becomes white noise. We made the mistake of eating in the cafe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stiflermanchesteruk
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Many thanks for providing your feedback with us at our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. We are so pleased to learn the hotel was an ideal location to suit your needs and your room was clean and fresh however we are so sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your meals in the bar cafe and issues were experienced...

Reviewed 22 February 2017

DLR runs just outside the hotel. With windows closed, the noise was stil terrible. Starting around 5:30, ending after midnight. So if you want to have a good long sleep forget about it. Airco was broken, Safe was broken, Water didn't get hot. (Breakfast is terrible, but that's the same for all Travelodge.) Only thing positive about this hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kokkie71
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to...

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Staff - Excellent, helpful and friendly Breakfast - fresh and child friendly Rooms - spacious, comfortable and clean Noise - very loud outside (trains) except between Midnight - 6am Other - Water pressure quite low in the shower. I'd stay here again for business when I'd be out for a meal in the evening and up early. Probably wouldn't choose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveRWigan
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

This is the 4th time I have stayed here. It is a great little Travelodge. The staff are friendly and helpful. I asked if it was possible to have a room at the back of the building and this was no problem. It is in a good location only 5 mins from Tower Bridge and Tower Hill tube. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helenanne2016
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with the location of the Hotel and that your overall experience was a positive one. Your feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments will be passed to the Hotel Manager. Thank you once again...

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#214 of 1,088 in London
3,507 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#122 of 1,088 in London
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Whitechapel

Neighbourhood Profile
Whitechapel
Whether you're here for its dynamic street life, world class galleries or famed curry houses, you're bound to be wowed by the uniquely cosmopolitan flavor of Whitechapel. Long gone are the days when Jack the Ripper stalked its streets. And despite his mysterious legacy bringing throngs of curiosity driven tour groups to its back alleys and otherwise serene garden squares, these days you're more likely to catch a cutting edge fashionista scurrying through its age old lanes than criminals of any sort.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Aldgate East

Address: 6-13 Chamber Street, London E1 8BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel
Amenities:
Price Range: RM379 - RM894 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Central Aldgate East 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Central Aldgate East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Aldgate East Travelodge Hotel London
Comfort Hotel Tower London
Travel Lodge London
Travelodge London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge London Central Aldgate East staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge London Central Aldgate East staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel”
  • Train is right next to the window
csteve1, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you still want to go here, try to get a room at the 4th floor. The noise might be a bit less.”
  • View from the first floor.
  • Safe Broken
  • Airco broken
Kokkie71, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book an early check in room. The extra charge is worth it.”
G9529FBbrianf, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid odd numbered rooms on rail side”
G436GJandrewm, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one on side away from railway line”
marionk41, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
* /night
View Deal
TravelodgeUS$52
Travelocity
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates