We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ England
13 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$207
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/08/22
Expedia.com
US$207
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/08/22
Trip.com
US$203
View deal
Hotels.comUS$207
PricelineUS$207
ZenHotels.comUS$284
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1680)
Room & Suite (883)
Dining (147)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 27/05/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Park Plaza London Riverbank
Updated 27/05/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#339 of 1,196 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated in the heart of London on the bank of the River Thames, Plaza on the River provides 90 generously sized suites with exquisite views of the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben. You can enjoy sophisticated amenities, such as free Wi-Fi, a fitness centre, business services and the Pan-Asian Chino Latino® restaurant and bar. A short walk from Vauxhall Station, our South Bank hotel puts guests within easy reach of the famous West End, the financial district, Westminster Abbey, the London Eye, Tate Britain and other beloved attractions. Visitors in London for business, pleasure or romance can enjoy relaxing accommodation with a view at one of the finest hotels in London—Plaza on the River.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Kitchenette
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Laptop safe
Refrigerator
On-demand films
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
4496Reviews66Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,653
  • 883
  • 427
  • 288
  • 249
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Carl P wrote a review Today
1 contribution
Dissapointed with our stay as had booked a superior room off the back of the description on the website which stated that a key feature was having a bath in the room, We did not (presumably because they put us in an accessible room for some reason) and when we pointed out that the room had been mis-sold reception advised that the bath was an optional feature and I had not requested it. unbelievable!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Imre-Gustav Vellamaa wrote a review May 2022
Tallinn, Estonia177 contributions107 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Our 1st stay there. Despite of some small shortages – I would not reduce 20% of points in the 5-stage scale thus happy to give 5. Ready to stay there again. Location: a good location with a view and ca 10min walk to Westminster. Vauxhall Underground station is ca 5min walk (NB! Google maps gives bus no.77 the most comfortable way to reach the hotel but Underground is more comfortable according to my opinion). Some small shops nearby and also The Rose Pub that I really recommend. Personnel: professional and friendly. Obviously after C19 it takes a bit time to organize the working processes with the new stuff to the highest level. For example I asked an extra blanket and heater from the reception. The reception lady finally found a piece of paper to write it down but after 2 hours there was nothing so I called from the room. Then we got the heater but no blanket. Finally we got the blanket also. Also there was a kind of confusion with heating. We had 2 rooms and it worked in 1 room only. The FM-guy told the summer season started and it should not work there neither. In the lobby we were told that heating should work. Anyway – we got a heater and it helped. Breakfast: on the 1st floor (and also on the 12th floor’s executive lounge with a great view. I do not know why we were offered one breakfast there but we are grateful for that). Good selection, very tasty. Specially I would like to mention about bacon – it was tasty and juicy, not overcooked like in many cases. Also fruits were very tasty (so juicy and sweet plums were a real surprise!). Also a coffee was very good! Room: big (incl for morning exercises), clean, comfortable (incl for office work). Free&fast internet. Night-curtains (with remote closing-opening). A fridge for beverages. Bathroom: big, clean, well equipped. A basin’s sidetable – there was even more free place after my wife unpacked her cosmetics. A bath. Shower enclosure with a thermostatic mixer and surprisingly strong water pressure. Just a toilet brush was missing. Sleep: one of the most comfotable beds and pillows I have ever had in hotels. Specially I would like to say good about the pillow. Spa: a swimming pool with some sunbeds, steam sauna, Finnish sauna. Lockers for your belongings. One evening Finnish sauna was ca 90C, then next evening for some reason just 50-60C (seemed to be turned off but actually it was just at ca 19.00). Towels and drinking water available. Gym: a well-equipped hotel-gym. Some gym mats would be good to have also (probably removed due to C19). Drinking water and lockers available.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from CustomerService PPHE, Owner at Park Plaza London Riverbank
Responded 13 May 2022
Dear Imre-GustavVellamaa, thank you for your review. We are pleased you loved your stay, however, we are sorry for falling short in some aspects during your visit. Our Housekeeping team is willing to provide anything missing in the room as toilet brushes and amenities, so please feel free to contact them on your next visit and they will be more than happy to assist. Please rest assured we will share your feedback with our team to review it and take appropriate action. We do hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Irene
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary S wrote a review Yesterday
Perth, Australia151 contributions63 helpful votes
Loved this hotel. The staff were super friendly and the location was easy access to everything. Wonderful breakfast. Lots of restaurants and delis close by if you needed anything. I would definitely stay there again. Try and get a room on the higher floors. They have been renovated.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
taiwo shittu wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions2 helpful votes
I had an amazing time the service was good and Jessica was excellent and very helpful The view was amazing the food was excellent. I recommend this hotel any day anytime. Melody and erdal were also very helpful and polite.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
JBP wrote a review 15 Aug
Newington, United Kingdom1 contribution4 helpful votes
I was treated to a night at Park Plaza Rivebank and was so amazed by what a lovely hotel it is and the guest experience to go with it. From our check in to our check out all the staff were attentive and friendly. I arrived melting from my commute to the hotel to be welcomed by a big smile, a glass of iced water and to top it off a little tub of ice cream to cool down - what a nice touch; can't say I know any other hotels offer that! Room was very stylish, modern and very clean. Everything in the room was thought out well. The breakfast in the morning was a great spread from Continental items to English breakfast hot items. We had breakfast whilst watching the boats go by on the Thames can't think of any other way better to start the day This is now definately my favourite hotel in London to stay in as when you find somewhere that the staff go that extra mile along with the high standard I'll definately be back sooner than later!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from CustomerService PPHE, Owner at Park Plaza London Riverbank
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your fantastic review, O5201YJbp. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that our lovely colleagues provided excellent customer service. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Natacha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Moses Solomon wrote a review 15 Aug
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Fantastic stay, great location, comfortable and clean rooms, fantastic breakfast, courteous staff. Went to London for a theater show and chose to stay at the Park Plaza riverbank, Must say had a fabulous stay
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from CustomerService PPHE, Owner at Park Plaza London Riverbank
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your review, 485mosess. Glad you had a wonderful stay with us, and our hotel's location was convenient for your journey. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Natacha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nathanb172022 wrote a review 15 Aug
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Location was amazing. Check in wasnt a great experience. Room was nice, bath robes missing. Sauna/pool was nice but steam was not working. Room service (breakfast) was cold and they didnt have everything on the menu. Given the price i'd expect more.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from CustomerService PPHE, Owner at Park Plaza London Riverbank
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your review, Nathanb172022. While I am happy our hotel's location was to your liking, I apologise for the incidents during your visit. I wish we could turn things around when you were still with us. We hope to see you again when the travel brings you to our area. Kind regards, Natacha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David wrote a review 15 Aug
2 contributions4 helpful votes
Decided a short break away in London was long overdue and found this absolutely ideal hotel. It’s based in a great location on the banks on the River Thames only a few minutes walk from Vauxhall. I’ve seen a few reviews mention it’s a bad location but have to disagree. We arrived by tube at Vauxhall so only 5 minutes walk along the Thames. During our stay we also took the Uber River taxi (opposite side of Thames to hotel at Millbank Tower) down the Thames and had the benefit of catching the 77 Bus back to the hotel that stops right outside the hotel. The hotel itself is very clean and modern and the staff were very attentive and super friendly, which working in hospitality myself I always critique but top marks for this hotel. Bradley at Concierge gave us lots of ideas and advice of what to do during our stay – super knowledgeable. Definately felt all staff went above and beyond during our stay - made it feel like a home from home! The room itself was wonderful, very large and bright (Have stayed in some broom cupboards in London) had all the modern amenities you’d expect of a hotel of this standard and air conditioning which made the room very comfortable to stay in at this time of year. Room even had a separate bath tub and walk-in shower that made it feel extra luxurious. We didn’t have an opportunity to experience the Spa facilities but definitely will when we return here. We were unsure what to do for Friday night for dinner and decided to eat in their restaurant on the 1st floor Chino Latino. What a hidden gem of a restaurant; serving what only I could describe as a mixture of East meets West cuisine. If like us you are unsure where to go recommend you give it a try, don’t think you would be disappointed. Best Sushi I’ve ever had and the steak on the hot rocks was amazing. This was all topped off with some amazing live entertainment, which added to the great experience had! All in all I’m definitely coming back to this hotel and have already recommended to all my friends and family. Can’t wait to come back here and thank you to all the staff for making our stay so memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from CustomerService PPHE, Owner at Park Plaza London Riverbank
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your fantastic review, H9872HFdavids, and for recommending us. I am glad our friendly colleagues made your stay enjoyable and memorable. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Natacha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deborah S wrote a review 15 Aug
Belfast, United Kingdom106 contributions44 helpful votes
Stayed as a party of 5, 3 adults and 2 children, over 2 rooms. Room 1 was a superior twin room, room 2 was a 1 Bedroom suite. Both on the 6th floor. Room 1 (628) had an internal view of an opposite apartment block so no view as such but was absolutely beautifully decorated with a control panel to operate the lights, air con, curtains etc. This room wasn't serviced at all during our 4 night stay despite being advised it would be after day 3. Anytime they needed towels etc we contacted reception. The mini fridge was broken throughout our entire stay, not ideal when London is experiencing a heatwave. It was initially reported and we were told it had been fixed, but this was not the case. Further advised reception and various members of staff were sent to fix but it wasn't rectified for our entire stay. The one bedroom suite (657) had a beautiful view of the Thames. The kitchenette comprised of a microwave, toaster, fridge with small freezer section, 2 hobs, kettle, coffee machine and a washing machine. Control panels for sir con, lights, curtains etc were fantastic. Room was beautiful and very comfortable. On arrival there were balloons and a small cake in our room for my little girls birthday which was such a lovely gesture and much appreciated. Breakfast was plentiful with cooked and continental options. Staff extremely helpful. Bar area was very relaxing and the bar man was very helpful and polite. With a view of Westminster. This hotel is in an excellent location on the Riverbank. Turn right and a short walk will take you to the London Eye, London Dungeons etc. The docks for the Thames River Cruise is also here. Turn left and a short walk will take you to Vauxhall tube and train station. There Is also a small Tesco extra about 500 yards from the hotel. We had a fantastic stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Higher floors on the right hand side of the hotel will have better views
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from CustomerService PPHE, Owner at Park Plaza London Riverbank
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your review, deborahs970. While I am happy you had a pleasant stay with us, and our friendly colleagues made your daughter's birthday memorable, I am sorry for the incident with the Minibar. Our engineer is looking into this. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Natacha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
2bapackard3 wrote a review 14 Aug
Las Vegas, Nevada33 contributions18 helpful votes
We stayed in this hotel for 8 days while touring London and few days in Paris. This hotel is overpriced by a lot and I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all. We paid for a balcony suite which did indeed have a balcony but you cannot use it without having the management unlock it and lock it each time you use it. That is a serious inconvenience so what was the point especially when you pay for that privilege in the room cost. The suite was adequate but there were some issues: A kitchen is included which would infer that is was stocked with supplies and that is not true. The refrigerator worked which was a good thing. The washer/dryer all-on-one machine was awful and did not dry your clothes even if you had it running to 2 hours. The lighting was on a set up in several places but it automatically shut off everything after about 20/30 minutes and you had to go turn it back on again. There was a shortage of lighting in the living room area and where there is a desk for your laptop with the appropriate plug outlets there, there was no lighting whatsoever in that area so I had to turn on the flashlight on my phone when it got dark in order to use my laptop. The bathroom supplies were low and I had to ask for some things like toilet paper and such. They also do not carry washcloths at all which you would use with body soap and such (if you do not use a sponge). This is the first and only hotel where I have not seen these present. The shower was big, however there was only one small area to place your shower things like shampoos, body washes and/or soaps in. I had to use the shower floor for some items. A fire alarm went off late at night and this showed me that the hotel staff has not been trained properly and that is a danger to all. Not everyone left there room, there were NO announcements made which would be heard in each room nor did anyone say anything to those of us who waited in the lobby for close to an hour on this issue and there were NO security who when up to each floor either. This turned out to be not a major event but if it had been, lives might have been lost. The only person to speak to us at the end was the Fire Marshall or the head Fireman at the end of the emergency. No management spoke to us at all. Breakfast which was included in the price was nice and there was an abundant variety to choose from, so that was appreciated. Room service dinner however, was mediocre at best and cost way too much. Example - we purchased 2 burgers with fries and 2 diet cokes - this cost 60+ pounds. The location is not good at all. It is not near any shopping or sites to speak of. However, it is right next to the Thames and you can see Big Ben, and the Parliament Building which is nice to view. There is a local market a few blocks down which is nice, but there is nothing else around. It is not in the the best of neighborhoods from what I can tell and have been told either. One of our tour guides did recommend some places to eat that are not too far away - across the bridge - we could walk there in about 10 minutes or so. We did do this and found a small local Italian food restaurant that locals use. It was excellent! They have a tremendously tasty spaghetti Bolognese that was really good and there was a lot of it for a small price - 11 pounds. We would have just gone and ate there if we had known sooner. Adding up the pros and cons - I would not recommend this hotel because of the cost and the poor location.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: My tip is to choose a different hotel in a better location.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from CustomerService PPHE, Owner at Park Plaza London Riverbank
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your review, 2bapackard3. I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations this time. I wish we could resolve these incidents when you were still with us. The management team reviews your feedback and will take appropriate action. We hope to have another chance to welcome you. Kind regards, Natacha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$237 - US$308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
plaza on the river - club and residence hotel london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Park Plaza London Riverbank
Which popular attractions are close to Park Plaza London Riverbank?
Nearby attractions include Tate Britain (0.4 km), Above The Stag Theatre (0.4 km), and Newport Street Gallery (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Park Plaza London Riverbank?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Park Plaza London Riverbank?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Park Plaza London Riverbank?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Park Plaza London Riverbank?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Park Plaza London Riverbank?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chino Latino, Riverside Cafe Lambeth Pier, and The Black Dog Freehouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Park Plaza London Riverbank?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Park Plaza London Riverbank?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Park Plaza London Riverbank offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Park Plaza London Riverbank?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Park Plaza London Riverbank?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (1.3 km), Tower of London (3.6 km), and Houses of Parliament (0.9 km).