We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Black Lion Guesthouse

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Black Lion Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 163: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Im stunned and speechless, I had a late flight so I left my luggage at reception until the evening, went for a pint and some idiot spilled it over me, so I came back to the hotel and even though I didnt have a room, I was offered one for free, to take a shower and change. It was prompt,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex B
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Me and a friend stayed here on 26/27 Nov. I read up on some of the reviews and was a bit worried,I had no need to be. We were greeted politely and had no trouble checking in.We went up to our room and while it is outdated for the £30pn price which included breakfast then i thought we got a... More 

Helpful?
Thank scunnyman
County Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Black lion is a nice little b&b Very dated but clean.The attitude we received from manager Amaletta at reception when we arrived was absolutely a disgrace,i booked through agoda.com and paid 2 days prior to arriving.Amaletta informed payment had not been made she got very rude & arrogant.Eventually, which should have been done straight away in a polite manner she... More 

Helpful?
Thank eileen190

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for the weekend. We booked an Executive Double room however was given a room with 3 single beds in it with no explanation. The pub itself is lovely however the same cannot be said for the staff! Breakfast dreadful...rubber cheese and plastic salami, hardly anything else except bread and yoghurt. No teaspoons and when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tattybogul
bm202, Manager at Black Lion Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologise that you didn't have a good experience whilst staying at our hotel but due to system error we occurred this problem. We ensure you that in future if you like to come back we will provide our best services to you. Regards, Hotel Management More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would love to go into detail about the actual conversations with staff,but I dont have the time right now. Simply put - a discount was offered on meals when staying at the hotel. This was not given directly at time of paying for food. There was also a service charge added to the bill at the till (before eating)... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank waynep406
bm202, Manager at Black Lion Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologise that you didn't have a good experience whilst staying at our hotel but due to system error we occurred this problem. We ensure you that in future if you like to come back we will provide our best services to you. Regards, Hotel Management More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We booked through a 3rd party website for a double room a month in advance. It was for a date night for myself and my other half (very rare as we have a young a daughter) and our stay was really disappointing. I'd like to stress on the booking it clearly confirmed we requested a DOUBLE ROOM. I called the... More 

Helpful?
Thank honest_v
bm202, Manager at Black Lion Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologise that you didn't have a good experience whilst staying at our hotel but due to system error we occurred this problem. We ensure you that in future if you like to come back we will provide our best services to you. Regards, Hotel Management More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at the Black Lion before and always found it great value for money and always perfectly adequate for our needs whenever we need to stay over in town. We stayed last night and it was a disaster. Firstly, despite us calling the B+B earlier in the week to check everything was ok with our booking, we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris L
bm202, Manager at Black Lion Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologise that you didn't have a good experience whilst staying at our hotel but due to system error we occurred this problem. We ensure you that in future if you like to come back we will provide our best services to you. Regards, Hotel Management More 

Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Amazing trip I ever had at the hotels. Normally I avoid to stay in hotel due to so many issues but this was fantastic. Everything was cool and price was so reasonable in the heart of London. Surely come back and recommend to all my friends and family. Bar is so nice and the interior of bar reminds you Victorian... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheila_826
bm202, Front Office Manager at Black Lion Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to write it. We hope to have you again as our guest in the future. More 

North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We arrived at the Guesthouse & we were given the key to our room which was on the 1st floor, Continental breakfast was included located in the restaurant downstairs. The room was clean, good size tv, bedding was very clean & bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean & the shower pressure was very good. The food in the restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Haddleton;Mr.ro... H
bm202, Manager at Black Lion Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for being our guest. More 

1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

If we had planned to stay here I would have awarded 4 or 5 stars for the staff and customer service alone. Thanks to Rocco and the team😊. Unfortunately we were booked in to stay somewhere else, found ourselves double booked and spent half of our day in London being booked in and transported to the black lion from their... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan C
bm202, Manager at Black Lion Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much dear guest. we look forward to seeing you again. More 

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Windmill Hotel
#173 of 556 in London
213 reviews
The William IV
#278 of 556 in London
176 reviews
Earls Court
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#134 of 556 in London
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Russell House
Russell House
#60 of 556 in London
49 reviews
Paradise Accommodation
#188 of 556 in London
12 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#19 of 556 in London
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Lion Guesthouse is a beautiful period building based in Kilburn, North West London. We combine a bar and restaurant downstairs with stunning features and Grade II listed interior with 14 guesthouse rooms above. We are proud to offer affordable quality accommodation. The bar is friendly and popular and directly opposite London’s famous Tricycle Theatre. The bar also serves a range of premium dishes.Perfectly placed for your visit to London, we are very close to both Kilburn Tube Station and Brondesbury Stations. We are also well served by local buses that run from our door step to Marble Arch, Paddington & Victoria. The night bus from Central London also passes our guesthouse door, making travelling around London when staying with us very easy and your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Lion Guesthouse

Address: 274 Kilburn High Road | Kilburn, London NW6 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: RM258 - RM634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Lion Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Black Lion Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lion Guesthouse Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Lion Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Black Lion Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room facing the Park is good away from the traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles haddletonmrrogerh, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“First floor facing the park.room 10”
 of 5 bubbles MikeE334, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Needs decorating ”
 of 5 bubbles kirstym419, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The room was fine and very quiet, considering where we were. Lighting wasn't great. However it was clean. Bed was comfortable and shower was to our satisfaction.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahbV1324XO, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room away from the front of the guest house/pub”
 of 5 bubbles barmat1, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay