We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Lion

Hotels.comUS$112*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$130*
US$112*
US$130*
US$112*
US$130*
US$112*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Black Lion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Black Lion
See the most recent reviews
Showing 172: English reviews
Province of Ferrara, Italy
Reviewed 30 January 2016

Spent 4 nights with 2 friends, family room. Very comfortable, this room in particular has a nice bathroom en-suite, basic forniture but for turists who spend all the day outside it's good enough. Room cleaned every day with a change of towels. The staff is kind and patient and makes you feel welcome. The pub on ground floor is amazing,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yoko891
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear Yoko891, thank you for your lovely review. It's so good to hear that you had a great experience at the Black Lion and enjoyed our restaurant also. Hope to see you again soon. Best regards, the team at the Black Lion.

Westport, CT
Reviewed 27 January 2016

there were three of us single ladies traveling and stopped in London for a few days. We needed a place that was reasonable after spending 2 weeks traveling in Eastern Europe. They had a room with three twin beds at a reasonable rate. Bathroom was small but was clean. We took advantage of discount to eat in their restaurant and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Warpraise
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate all feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed your time here at the Black Lion and experienced our delicious menu. We hope you return to see us again soon.

Ireland
Reviewed 18 January 2016

I stayed in the black line on the 1st of december and i was very dissapointed to discover that i was bitten by bed bugs my room was no.5 my daughter stayed with me and she was also bably bitten by bed bugs (fleas). I was on hoildays there visiting my daughter who is in college in london.when i confronted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ita700
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. We take matters of health and safety very seriously and our guests are our priority. We have measures in place to monitor such situations and work along side our pest control company and are compliant with prevention procedures. We had received...

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 15 January 2016

The room was clean! It´s so close to the underground station. People are nice. Realy! It was a very good place. I´d come back, for sure! There is a pub together. It was very good because it was soooo cold and we could get beer just going down. It wasnt noisy or something like this. The breakfast was good too!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AmandaYano
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this review

Hi Amanda, thank you for such a lovely review! It's great to hear you had such a good time at the Black Lion. We hope to see you again soon. The team at the Black

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2016

As the price for London was reasonable the rooms were adequate and basic. Electrics a little scary(plug sockets loose) a good nights rest though. Breakfast included in the price was basic but that's to be expected for the price paid. Morning staff could benefit with having some hospitality training as they were not communicative. However I would stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie B
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear Julie, thank you for taking the time to leave your review and feedback, it is greatly appreciated. With regards to the electrical socket we have addressed this issue and it has now been resolved, we apologise that the socket was in this condition during your stay. Our staff are on hand 24/7 to help with any queries or concerns,...

Paphos, Cyprus
Reviewed 14 December 2015 via mobile

Obliged, with others, through circumstance to make an overnight stay. The room was spartan and tired. The over bed light did not work (a sign of lack of attention to detail). The sign outside the window squeaked and groaned disturbingly all night. The breakfast was meagre and unappetising. Others in our party experienced faulty plumbing which required attention and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear Barry, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of your disappointing stay. With regards to maintenance issues we address these with immediate action and appreciate any issues being communicated to our team. Please be assured the items mentioned in your review have been addressed. The breakfast on offer is a continental breakfast with a wide variety...

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 26 November 2015

The Black Lion is a great place to stay if you don't want to be "down town" London. It is in Zone 2 and very close to the tube. The pub is lively and has fantastic food both in the pub and in the dining room. The continental breakfast was excellent and was all you needed. I am Gluten Free...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback/comments on your stay here at The Black Lion. It is great to hear you had a lovely stay with us. Contact us direct for your next stay and we can arrange which room you would prefer. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Disappointed we tried to book a double but could only get a twin, but on arrival it turned out to be a triple room, bunk beds and a single bed, not much good for a romantic weekend! Room very small, bathroom very small, lots of small towels, room bedding was clean. Had an evening meal which was very nice, breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate all your comments and feedback. It is disappointing to hear the room in terms of 'room type' was not suitable. However we would recommend booking with us direct in the future and we will ensure you have the accommodation you require. It's always good to hear...

Bangor, Wales
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Single traveller penalised again. Room large enough but not a patch on the double rooms that were seen. The separate bathroom was not cleaned after my first night there, neither was the room. Half used toiletries (presumably from the room's previous tenant) left on the sink. Screen on the TV disappearing in the corners.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank catrinl516
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we welcome all comments and reviews. It is disappointing to hear your stay was not satisfactory, we are meticulous with the Housekeeping here at The Black Lion and it is very rare that we have a report of this kind, however we will investigate why this happened and ensure...

BOLTON, Lancashire
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Waited ages at Reception for Tired room with broken Socket Outlet, outdated electrical appliances, beds were past their best, small bathroom with noisy Saniflo and a sign saying you would be charged if it got blocked, it looked like It would be used by Builders staying over, Breakfast was overseen by a rude Security Guard, Certywont be staying here again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevemblack
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments and feedback. It is disappointing to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We regularly update our rooms including the beds in order to provide a comfortable stay for our guests, however we are always striving to improve our service and take on board all feedback. Thank you again for taking...

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
1.4 km away
Windmill Hotel
Windmill Hotel
#244 of 555 in London
241 reviews
0.3 km away
No photo provided
Iverson B&B
#385 of 555 in London
2 reviews
2.1 km away
The William IV
The William IV
#314 of 555 in London
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Dawson House Hotel
Dawson House Hotel
#251 of 555 in London
124 reviews
5.4 km away
The Castle Bar
The Castle Bar
#112 of 555 in London
135 reviews
3.6 km away
Croft Court Hotel
Croft Court Hotel
#74 of 555 in London
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Lion Guesthouse is a beautiful period building based in Kilburn, North West London. We combine a bar and restaurant downstairs with stunning features and Grade II listed interior with 14 guesthouse rooms above. We are proud to offer affordable quality accommodation. The bar is friendly and popular and directly opposite London’s famous Tricycle Theatre. The bar also serves a range of premium dishes.Perfectly placed for your visit to London, we are very close to both Kilburn Tube Station and Brondesbury Stations. We are also well served by local buses that run from our door step to Marble Arch, Paddington & Victoria. The night bus from Central London also passes our guesthouse door, making travelling around London when staying with us very easy and your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Lion

Address: 274 Kilburn High Road | Kilburn, London NW6 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: RM411 - RM992 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Black Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lion Guesthouse Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Black Lion staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Black Lion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's a very old pub hotel, very quaint. We were there on a Monday night and it was quiet.”
233janetl, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Book elsewhere”
  • Right hand chair was broken and a table from where , notice the heater we were given .
  • Large shower unit , OK for a smurf or child .
  • Again supposed to have been refurbished , our rooms window
  • Notice the large gap under the room entry door
  • Supposed to have been refurbished , hmmm
  • Look how clean this is NOT .
  • Taps that move from side to side .
  • Very small
mm3pts, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Quieter at the back overlooking a park”
oldandbold, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room facing the Park is good away from the traffic noise.”
haddletonmrrogerh, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“First floor facing the park.room 10”
MikeE334, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$112* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$112
Hotwire.comUS$112
CancelonUS$130
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates