We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Normandie Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Normandie Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Normandie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 108: English reviews
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

The Normandie hotel is a clean comfortable hotel, no real down side but the steep staircase if you are on the top floor. The staff are friendly and very happy to help, was given tube and London maps on arrival. Will stay here again! Good English Breakfast too!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LordChunky
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards

Reviewed 22 August 2016

Stayed 4 nights at this hotel and we were very happy with the place. Staff at reception very warm and friendly and it is manned 24 hours a day. Mum and daughter do breakfast and they do a great job. Hotel is centrally located, Walking distance to Marble Arch and a walk through Hyde Park to Harrods in Knightsbridge. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2345Deni
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Paddington, London. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a concert at Hyde park. The location is the only thing good about this place. I would never normally write a bad review but this place is just dirty, tatty and old! Avoid and stay somewhere else. The man who checked us in was nice and friendly enough but the curtains where hanging off the rails,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danniking80
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not happy with the room. There are fans in the rooms if you felt it was roasting. The smell of grease was from the kitchen as we cook a fresh English breakfast.

Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Basic accommodation was a bit cold but heaters were provided. Standard accommodation. Breakfast only served till 9, would be better if later option available. Check in fine. Great location as within walking distance to Paddington station.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma H
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, we turn the central heating system off as most of our guests prefer it to be cool. Again breakfast is only served until 9 am as most people like to eat early and go out for the day but it can be extended if requested the previous day!

Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2016

There is no lift to this hotel. If you are on the fourth floor with suitcases, it is certainly a challenge. And then back down again. I moved the single bed away from the radiator (rad was off and window open) to reveal debris under the bed. The hotel is a short walk from Praed Street where there are eateries...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brianjwpalacio
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we can not have a lift installed as the hotel is too small. I am surprised you found debris under the bed but I apologise.

California
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Seemed OK to being centrally located, nice people (I thought) decent cheap Hotel I guess. We went out and came back at 11.30pm and the outside of the hotel had transformed there were prostitutes all over the place and rats running around the garbage left on the street. It only got worse. Once in our room we noticed the curtains...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mtwtraveler
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Looks like mold on the ceiling. Room not filthy, but not clean (soiled wall light switches, sticky surface bedside table, etc.). Not one single touch of charm. On the other hand, the desk concierge was very helpful. Breakfast was ok--I didn't tour the kitchen so trust it was relatively clean--(no refunds available so I tried to think positive to keep...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LeahPhoenix
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Nice family run place in the center of London, polite and helpful staff. Paddington station is very close which helps the ease of transportation. Kensington Gardens and Palace is just 10 min walk from the hotel which is a pleasent way to spend your day. Hotel room was nice and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasha B
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Natasha, Thank you for your kind review. I am happy that you enjoyed your holiday and liked your room. I look forward to perhaps seeing you again now that the hotel has been renovated.

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

It's a good hotel if you're looking for something for cheap price and close to Edgware road but then again there are other hotels for same price that are better, this is a good hotel but needs upgrading, very poor bedding, heating facility wasn't very good though we were given an electric heater. I didn't really enjoy my stay, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moh K
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not completely happy with your stay. We are actually decorating the hotel now and replacing the bedding.

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Very very poor, needs a good clean, updating and new window from dripping & mouldy , it's a throw back to the 30s Chewing gum left on the head board, mouldy in corners on the carpet, could hear the traffic through the rattling Windows all night, hand towels for bath towels, no tea or coffee in the rooms, the only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen D
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you were not happy with the room . We advertise that tea and coffee is available on request as some people do not want it in their room. If the traffic noise was unbearable you could have asked to change for a room at the back. Also if you had mentioned that the taps were...

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 km away
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
#733 of 1,088 in London
375 reviews
0.1 km away
The Gresham Hotel
The Gresham Hotel
#859 of 1,088 in London
585 reviews
0.2 km away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#622 of 1,088 in London
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#648 of 1,088 in London
420 reviews
0.2 km away
Cardiff Hotel
Cardiff Hotel
#591 of 1,088 in London
726 reviews
0.3 km away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#765 of 1,088 in London
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Normandie Hotel

Address: 96 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: RM400 - RM648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Normandie Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Normandie Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Marquette, Michigan

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Normandie Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Until the intire hotel has been disinfected for bedbugs - stay away from this hotel.”
846celinag, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms 3 & 4 (ground floor). They are by the stairs door going down to the basement dinning room .. lot of noise from 7am.”
nautibuoy2015, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“no lift so if you are not able to manage many stairs ask for a room on lower floors”
little4pink, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms effected by road noise due to single glazing to windows”
brianjwpalacio, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“No room in this hotel.”
mtwtraveler, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5