We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grove Hill Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Grove Hill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 48: English reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

Rooms booked weeks before with a deposit and canceled two days before due date by the hotel management who has no intention to give the money back! I read earlier reviews and understand similar cases were already reported. This hotel should simply be blacklisted.

9Thank philippe c
Edwin S, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Philippe, Regarding your comment, your friend Pierre has failed to inform you of the full circumstances and therefore I can understand why your assertions are biased, factually incorrect and not objective. In order to assist further I can say that Pierre, having entered into several weeks of haggling and negotiation over the rates, agreed to provisionally book almost the...

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Been going to this hotel for 20 years and find the staff excellent an been through different ownership an never encountered any problems. Been looked after very we'll an any issues sorted out straight away albeit a rarity. Price and value for money is very good especially for London! Looking forward to my next stay.

Thank Stan e
Edwin S, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and positive review. We do aim to please and rectify any problems encountered as soon as we become aware of them. We do hope you enjoy many more occasions staying with us in the future.

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was to be a fabulous family weekend in London for my sisters Civil Partnership. I had originally made direct telephone contact with the manager of Grove Hill (Mario [--]) earlier in 2014 to book four en-suite rooms for myself and my children and their partners. I then confirmed all of my requirements by email to Mr [--] and I...

13Thank DavidCF67
Michael C, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

This review describes a 'problem' essentially created by the author's own making. Despite us doing everything to improve a difficult situation, on arrival and during their stay, with apologies and discounts, the guests left without complaining to us about their stay, and have rather, turned on us, after the event, on-line. Enquiries to reserve rooms for a wedding party commenced...

Reviewed 1 July 2014

I booked a twin room at the grove hill hotel after booking I read the review board and very nearly cancelled my booking as a lot of the reviews were so bad. I'm really pleased I never cancelled. A beautiful old end of terraced house with many of the original features. There were two lovely polish ladies who booked us...

2Thank Sharon M
grovehillhotel, Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind sentiments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are glad that you gave us an opportunity to receive you as guests. We always do try to make our guest's time with us as comfortable as possible and we endeavour to address any issues or problems as they arise, if...

Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed for 10 nights and had no hot water in my room for three nights as I work long days you would expect a hot shower when you get in , when I complained I was told to use the shower in another room then I didn't get clean towels for three days when I asked for clean towels...

10Thank Derek1234567890
grovehillhotel, General Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Derek, We are very disappointed that two months after your stay, you have vindictively chosen to publicly air your complaints, having left the premises with hardly a mention of any issues, apart from the defective shower. You have chosen to cloud the true picture with pure lies. Accordingly, I will address your points in the order that you mention...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The location is perfect, very close to amenities and shops and about 8 min walk to the station the hotel inside looked not very clean and very old I imagined it from the photos to be comfortable nice looking place, shame on the looks

1Thank Fran N
Michael C, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay with us. Unfortunately, you booked one of the only two rooms that have not been refurbished, although one of these has since been upgraded. Even so, these rooms are very clean and tidy, Tye Duty Manager checks each room personally prior to them being offered. We were entirely...

Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 13 May 2014

booked this hotel for 8 nights the manager rudly kicked us out by saying we smoked in the room which we didnt and theres a fire alarm aswell it would of gone off they called the police as the came they made a reference even said it was completly wong disagreed with the manager attitude and wanting us out with...

7Thank y-mtj
grovehillhotel, General Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

You indeed stayed with your boyfriend at our premises having booked a room at a discounted rate and had booked in for a weeks stay. On the the Thursday of your stay the Housekeepers noticed that there was a very strong smell of herbal cannabis smoke coming from your room and you were kindly asked you to stop. You were...

Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed here at short notice over the Christmas period as everywhere else was full up. Took one of the last rooms available and negotiated a better rate. It was just what I needed, clean and tidy. The breakfast was nice and unlimited free wifi. I have booked to stay again next weekend when I'm back in London.

Thank george2311
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We booked a hotel for tonight New Year's Eve we put in our deposit and it said we had booked it. We called your hotel this morning and you said you have your booking to someone else, what a joke. You have disappointed us all on a time that was meant to be our happiest. Thank you very much. Now...

5Thank Nogin131
grovehillhotel, General Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

You booked a greatly discounted room through an Agency, for New Year Eve and paid a deposit to them. You did not complete the booking form correctly and did not indicate the approximate time that you would arrive. You were contacted and changed your mind three times on throughout the day you were due to arrive. You then wanted to...

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Warm friendly greeting on my arrival. My room was comfortable and clean, with plenty of tea and coffee making facilities. Bed was comfortable with fresh linen. Room had a wall mounted free view tv. Wrapped soap bars in the sink and shower gel provided for the ensuite shower which again was clean. Ideal location for trips into London. Met with...

Thank Mark H

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (1)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Packfords Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woodford
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Ibis Styles London Leyton
Ibis Styles London Leyton
#550 of 1,089 in London
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A delightful family run, long established Guest House in a lovely part of London. Easy access to the West End and City, approximately 20 to 30 minutes. Close to the Central Line Station at South Woodford. Situated in a quiet Residential Street and yet 2 minutes walk to shops restaurants and Cinema. M25 and A406 a 5 minute drive. Olympic Park and Stratford Westfield Shopping ten minutes by underground or short drive. All rooms refurbished and great value for money. Prices include VAT, a Full English Breakfast, Tea and Coffee making facilities, Free Affinity WiFi, car parking. South Woodford is a lovely area to stay in if you want peace and quiet at night but easy access to all facilities and Central London. 400 Acres of Epping Forest is close by to explore and there is a wealth of other interesting activities close by to engage in and enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grove Hill Hotel

Address: 38 Grove Hill | South Woodford, London E18 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: RM337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Grove Hill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are nice with bathroom/ breakfast and smiles”
 of 5 bubbles emmajaneuk2016, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Talk to staff, they are happy to help”
 of 5 bubbles Ventercollectos777, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Take a mobile with you, no phones here.”
 of 5 bubbles denh347, 25 Jul 2015 | Read review
“it takes 32 mins on the tube (and takes 10 mins to get to it) to centeral London so if you are going for work, like i was, this isn't ideal.”
 of 5 bubbles Nealo1988, 21 Jul 2013 | Read review
“I shared a twin en suite on the top floor. It was quiet, roomy and well fit for purpose.”
 of 5 bubbles 838RobertR, 14 May 2013 | Read review
5 of 5