We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Portobello House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Portobello House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 141: English reviews
Start your review of Portobello House
 Click to rate
Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful service. This hotel is a hidden gem at the edge of Notting Hill. The staff is very nice and the rooms are clean comfy and cozy. Close to the tube and great pubs and attractions. The area offers Michelin restaurants and beautiful parks, worth visiting

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steen E
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Very friendly straff; maybe not the most professional, but very helpful and nice. Nice, individually decorated rooms with good beds and large bathrooms. Lovely towels! Small continental breakfast that is supplementary. Good location if you like to stroll Portobello Road and Nothing Hill. Very close to the Ladbroke Station underground.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cbt76
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Another good stay here, fab location close to Portobello Road and Notting Hill. Very close to Ladbroke Grove tube station. Great breakfast included. Wish I could have stayed longer! Lovely get away to London.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunshinegirls2015
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

The portobello house is a fantastic place to stay! The place itself is lovely, the staff are really friendly & really want to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The only criticism I have is that that the television signal was awful, but that could have been down to storm Dorris. Brilliant stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night as we had a special meal planned nearby (The Ledbury)... First off, it's worth remembering that this is a pub offering a B&B service so you shouldn't come expecting a hotel experience. Overall I'd describe the place as quirky (you enter the b&b reception via a fire escape) but finished mostly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cath S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay in Notting Hill within walking distance of Portobello road with all its attractions, restaurants and shops. Good size room (stayed in a club king room) tastefully decorated and with a really comfortable bed. This place is for anyone wanting a more personal experience with very friendly staff making you feel at home. Above a buzzy bar/restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lag147
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here based on decent reviews and what an utter joke and disappointment. First of all they charge 100% deposit when you book your room. During check in I was asked for an ID so they can scan and keep on file. I've stayed at tons of hotels on London and never ever had someone ask to scan my ID....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monkey168
limatad, Manager at Portobello House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We have hundreds of happy guests from all over the world so It is a great shame you did not enjoy your stay, we would have liked to make you happy too. However, we cannot refund under threat of a bad review, we did our best. We have only 1 previous person enquire about our check in and...

Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

This wonderful haunt in the heart of Ladbroke Grove is a real gem. An Italian / British family run this bistro bar. As a result , the food is simply magnificent , particularly the roasts on a winter Sunday . I love this place and so do most of the Grove's educational workforce . The food is excellent and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy T
somerset
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Chose this hotel for a one night stay for it's location,a short walk from Ladbroke Grove tube station.Strange entrance through a side door and up metal steps to the tiny reception,but once in, the receptionist was friendly and welcoming,she booked me in and showed me to my room. The room was tastefully decorated,there was the usual room amenities,although the tv...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SomersetKeithers
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here from the 6-13th October 2017 and I have to say Frankie and the team at Portobello House were welcoming and friendly. We had a great stay the rooms tidy clean comfortable and made up daily by house keeping. The restaurant bar downstairs was convenient and great after a full day of sightseeing where you can grab a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mandy S

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#579 of 1,088 in London
155 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Rue Saint Jacques Guest House
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Malt House
The Malt House
#60 of 573 in London
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kennington B & B
#50 of 573 in London
345 reviews
Notting Hill
Portobello Gold
Portobello Gold
#90 of 573 in London
313 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 573 in London
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Portobello House in Notting Hill, Hotel, Bar & BistroThe Historic Landmark that is the chic Portobello House Hotel has 12 brand new totally re-designed charming boutique bedrooms, with a Felliniesque cocktail bar and gourmet bistro. Portobello house welcomes people from all around the world with a friendly smile and a complimentary glass of bubbly or a famous Portobello House Cocktail. It is situated in Notting hill near the famous "Portobello Road market" with all its colourful buzz and artistic counter culture. Take a leisurely walk to nearby elegant Kensington Palace gardens, once the home of Princess Diana, then a stroll through Hyde Park to the Royal Albert Hall for a concert. With a good night's sleep in our wonderful Millbrook beds you will wake up in one of the most unique, eclectic and fun parts of London. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portobello House

Address: 225 Ladbroke Grove | Notting Hill, London W10 6HQ, England (Formerly Earl Percy Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: RM616 - RM1,092 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portobello House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello House Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Portobello House staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Covina

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Portobello House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room, which faced Chesterton Road, was very quiet, even with a busy pub downstairs.”
bambilinasue, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you need space, spend the extra for Room 24. If you don't care, save money for the excellent bar by booking a cozy room.”
runnergirl1970, 13 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Ask to see the room first”
Seniorhound, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
“King bed is actually the size of an American Queen bed. Bring Earplugs when you travel so that you can sleep peacefully no matter what.”
AllisonBalk, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
“If you want to try to get away from the noise of the busy street and pub be sure to ask to stay on the top floor. I can't imagine how noisy the rooms just over the pub must be.”
msmelody77, 2 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5