We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Show Prices
#254 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,455 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Grand at Trafalgar Square
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,210: English reviews
Great Britain
Reviewed 1 week ago

Right in the heart of the city, this hotel couldn't be in a better location. Perfect choice for exploring London. Couple of problems with house keeping - but we had a great weekend stay and would happily return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank greenwellmrschri2016
Judith T, Manager at The Grand at Trafalgar Square, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We truly appreciate your visit and your thoughtful review. We’re glad you enjoyed our prime location and that overall you had a great stay in London. It was disappointing to hear that you experienced some issues with housekeeping. We will share your review with the team involved and we will work with passion to improve our services...

Haifa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Grand at Trafalgar is an old style hotel right opposite Trafalgar Square. We were travelling with our 13 year old grandson and reserved a room for three with a partition for privacy. It was very large and had a kitchenette which was fully fitted out with a ceramic hob, microwave, dishes, cutlery, fridge, toaster, etc. The hotel is conveniently...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S K
Judith T, Manager at The Grand at Trafalgar Square, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying at The Grand at Trafalgar Square and for your kind recommendation! We’re glad you chose to stay with us and happy we met your expectations with our guest rooms, amenities, and our prime London location. Thanks especially for the kind words you had for Maria and our staff. There’s nothing we love more...

Nags head nc
Reviewed 1 week ago

Close to everything. Large room, small kitchen with dishes and fridge and microwave. Bathroom clean and plenty big enough. Walking distant to most sites. Very easy to several different tube lines. Was in the perfect location for our visit. Felt very safe with our kids.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jahaley1
Judith T, Manager at The Grand at Trafalgar Square, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us, we are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at The Grand. We are delighted that our prime location and spacious guest rooms met your expectations, and we hope to welcome you back to The Grand at Trafalgar Square in the near future!

Maplewood, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Grand, at Trafalgar Square is literally at the center of London. From here we spent a gorgeous weekend walking all over the city - only taking the Tube to Camden Lock Market. The hotel has a nice relaxed vibe, the staff were very accommodating, especially when we asked to change rooms due to a noise we think came from...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rossamthomson
Judith T, Manager at The Grand at Trafalgar Square, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing The Grand at Trafalgar Square for your recent stay in London and for taking the time to write a review! We are very proud of our central location and so are pleased to hear that you took full advantage of it during your stay. It was disappointing to read that the first room...

Reviewed 1 week ago

its a great hotel, centrally located, ideal for theatre breaks, great room, friendly staff, made you welcome, made my nieces 10 birthday stay up London memorable and special for her, plus the little gift left for her, made her day, would recommend this hotel for a stay, very enjoyable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suedehead232
Judith T, Manager at The Grand at Trafalgar Square, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us recently and for your kind recommendation! We are delighted to hear that you had an great stay and that you chose our hotel for your niece’s birthday celebrations. We are happy that the little gift made her special day even more enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a beautiful hotel and everyone was extremely friendly. The lobby is breathtaking and the rooms were extremely comfortable and quiet. The location could not be beat. I will absolutely stay here again in the future!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dori H
Judith T, Manager at The Grand at Trafalgar Square, responded to this review

Dear Dori, Thank you for your recent visit and kind review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square! We are delighted to hear that you had a quiet and comfortable stay with us, and that you enjoyed our prime location. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand on your next trip to London!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Got a very good deal online for a one night family stopover, so we could play at being tourists in London (we used to live there). Like other reviewers we were slightly worried that the low price and central location would mean a compromise on quality, but we were very pleasantly surprised. Good room, quiet, very clean, excellent service. Enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMatt2013
Judith T, Manager at The Grand at Trafalgar Square, responded to this review

Dear Matt, Thank you for your visit as well as for your kind review - both are greatly appreciated. We are delighted to hear how you enjoyed our clean rooms, excellent service and grand bar. It certainly sounds like you made the most of our wonderfully central location! We aim to provide great value so it is very rewarding that...

Durham, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights in March 2017. We found a great deal on Expedia with airfare and was somewhat nervous that this place was going to be a dump for the price we paid. Not the case at all. The room and bathroom with shower were all on the smaller side but the space is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
Judith T, Manager at The Grand at Trafalgar Square, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to London as well as for taking the time to write such detailed feedback - both are greatly appreciated. It is our aim here to provide quality accommodations and facilities as well as useful amenities all at great value and it seems we have met all of your...

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here overnight whilst up for a theatre visit. Clean, comfortable and well appointed rooms. Pleasant lobby bar for a late night drink with a good range of spirits. Breakfast cooked to order although a little confusion with pricing of this and the buffet offers. Excellent location by Charing Cross Station and Trafalgar Square. A reasonable price overall considering the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denby R
Judith T, Manager at The Grand at Trafalgar Square, responded to this review

Dear Denby, Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent theatre trip and found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. We hope you will again choose The Grand on your next visit.

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were very satisfied with our stay at the Grand:Ideally situated in the heart of London with nice rooms and a very professional and friendly staff. We also appreciated very much Boyd's Grill and Bar on the ground floor; a nice place for a drink or small meals . A hotel we'll probably choose again for our next visit to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank VBSund
Judith T, Manager at The Grand at Trafalgar Square, responded to this review

Dear valued Guest, Thank you for your review, it is great to hear how you found our staff to be professional and friendly as that is exactly the service we aim for! We are delighted you will choose us for your next trip and look forward to your return with pleasure.

535 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (285)
Viewed
Room/Suite (90)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (201)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Club Room (32)
Viewed
One Room Suite with Kitchenette (46)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Standard Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Room with Kitchenette (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#180 of 1,090 in London
1,075 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#99 of 1,090 in London
4,458 reviews
St. James's
The Trafalgar Hotel
The Trafalgar Hotel
#355 of 1,090 in London
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Westminster

Neighbourhood Profile
Westminster
If you only had an afternoon to experience London on a grand scale, Westminster would be a wise place to start. The ornate Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey sit adjacent at a corner of Parliament Square, and a short stroll along The Mall leads to Buckingham Palace. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column are just up the road as well. As captivating as the architecture is, the wonders of Mother Nature are highlights of the area too. St James's Park (arguably London's loveliest), the expansive Green Park, and pedestrian friendly tree lined paths along the river showcase the exquisite manicure provided by English gardeners. Just beyond the landmarks and the gorgeous outdoor spaces, quiet residential squares and age old local pubs offer a more subdued take on this global seat of power in the heart of London.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grand at Trafalgar Square is a full service hotel with 63 rooms located in the beautifully restored historic Northumberland House on Northumberland Avenue. Minutes to Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace and close to Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. The Grand at Trafalgar Square is the best value hotel based on quality and prime location. The Grand at Trafalgar Square provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 10 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 1000 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Address: 8 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Price Range: RM906 - RM1,716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand at Trafalgar Square 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand at Trafalgar Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand At Trafalgar Square Hotel London
Grand At Trafalgar Square London
Hotel Style:
#190 Luxury Hotel in London
#200 Family Hotel in London
#247 Business Hotel in London
#285 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Grand at Trafalgar Square staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Akron, Ohio
over a year ago
Rainier, Oregon, Usa
20 days ago
Berwick on Tweed, null, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Sydney, Australia

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from The Grand at Trafalgar Square staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring a party of people.”
Adelaide81Broadway, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one out the back, we were at the front of the hotel and as you would expect in CENTRAL London it was very noisy all night long”
AndyHornchurchEssex, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“None as room facing street is not noisy.”
njbelmar, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The room was small but comfortable. Broken tiles on the bathroom floor, an extractor fan that didn't work and house keeping let it down slightly though. We had to ask for additional drinking glasses and the bins weren't emptied daily or the glasses washed - no big deal though we just did it our selves. We reported the extractor fan and were promised it would be fixed but it wasn't. ”
greenwellmrschri2016, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were offered a cheap upgrade to a studio room and took it. Probably worthwhile for a longer stay.”
TravellingMatt2013, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5