We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wedgewood House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wedgewood House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wedgewood House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 196: English reviews
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2015

This was our first visit to Wedgewood House and we were very impressed with the excellent personal service, comfortable room, delicious breakfast and very convenient location. One very special and unexpected touch was that Nigel and Elspeth left a card and chocolates for my daughter's 21st birthday in our room which was a lovely surprise and very much appreciated.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CSW273
WedgewoodGuestHouse, Owner at Wedgewood House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words. We're really glad you enjoyed the weekend (and the chocs!) and it was lovely to meet you both. Hope to see you again soon

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Stayed here with my Dad for a week whilst visiting relations.In fact been coming here for many years.Nigel and Elspeth simply the best.A lovely couple.Rooms very comfortable and reasonably priced considering the location.Will be back hopefully in the not too distant future.James Wood,Edinburgh,Scotland.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank James W
WedgewoodGuestHouse, Owner at Wedgewood House, responded to this review

Thanks James! Very kind of you. It was good to see you as always. We look forward to your next visit.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2015

Both Nigel and Elspeth were very welcoming and hospitable. The room was warm and comfortable with everything you needed including a hair dryer, tea and coffee facilities. The en-suite had a lovely size shower and the whole place was extremely clean. Thank you for a great stay and would recommend it to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mumble J
WedgewoodGuestHouse, Owner at Wedgewood House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the pleasure of your company again in the future. We very much appreciate your recommendation.

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 25 February 2015

The Wedgewood House is run by a wonderful couple who will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Knowledgeable and helpful, they keep the quaint house in great shape and serve a delicious breakfast. Superb location-a quick walk to shopping and the downtown area. Not too much in the immediate area right around (within 5 min) of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank trarmst2
WedgewoodGuestHouse, Owner at Wedgewood House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you and we enjoyed the conversations that we had. We hope we will see you again one day. Thank you for staying with us!

Reviewed 22 February 2015

We recently stayed for a weekend and although the exterior looked in need of slight upgrading, don't be put off because the rooms were large and very clean, the breakfast was excellent and the hosts could not do enough for you. The location is a 5 minute walk to the town centre. Would definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie C
WedgewoodGuestHouse, Owner at Wedgewood House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We made a start on the outside of the house last year so the immediate frontage of the building where you enter has now been decorated. The rest of it will follow after we have made some planned alterations which will hopefully take place fairly soon. We're obviously delighted to hear that you were...

Somerset
Reviewed 28 December 2014

What a delight ! Extremely convenient within easy walking distance of all the City centre amenities. Room was cosy, comfortable and clean. Owners were both welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfasts were great - wide choice, quality produce, and as much as one could eat. Excellent value and recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DennisSomerset
WedgewoodGuestHouse, Owner at Wedgewood House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. It is much appreciated. We're delighted that you were happy with your accommodation and hope we will see you again when you are next in Norwich.

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2014 via mobile

The reviews were spot on, it is a very welcoming and warm place to stay. Quite peaceful too, despite being very close to the city centre. Friendly and helpful greeting. Great breakfast, no complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blame79
WedgewoodGuestHouse, Owner at Wedgewood House, responded to this review

Thank you! We hope you will come back again! Kind of you to write the review for us and we're delighted you were happy with your accommodation.

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2014

We stayed at Wedgwood guest house on Wednesday 26th and Thursday 27th, November 2014 Nigel and Elspeth made us very welcome and gave us any information we needed. The room was lovely, clean and with a en suite bathroom spotless. Now the breakfast that was superb cereals fruit, yogurt toast, jams, we had the full English breakfast, 2 back bacon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie s
WedgewoodGuestHouse, Owner at Wedgewood House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are obviously delighted to hear that you were happy with your accommodation. We have to admit that we like living here too because of our location - it's so convenient for everything. It means you can pop in and out of the city with shopping and just walk home from restaurants and...

Maresfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2014

We tried to book 4 rooms but our booking was refused! We are a group of pensioners and partners and we meet once a year at various places in the UK. For the first time in our lives we have been refused rooms because there is 8 of us. Rooms are available at the Guest House on the days we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank G26_10
WedgewoodGuestHouse, Owner at Wedgewood House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your disappointment at being unable to book your accommodation with us. Every business has its policies and rules and one of our policies is not to accept groups larger than 4. We make no apology for this and in fact thank you for highlighting it. This policy is for the benefit of us, our staff and...

Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2014

wish I had found this place earlier as we go to Norwich few times a year.perfect room spacious big wardrobe tv tea making,lovely bathroom/shower.nigel&elspeth realy friendly. Breakfast very good and plenty to keep you going.also great knowledge of area nothing to much for them.few pubs just opposite. T urnright out of house under subway and you are beginning of town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john s

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
1.3 km away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,069 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
586 reviews
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere at this superbly located, city centre Edwardian house. Short walk to restaurants, theatres, cinemas, shops and historic city centre. On bus route to university and hospital. Enjoy homely non-smoking comfort and cleanliness in thoughtfully equipped and attractive bedrooms. Freshly prepared English breakfast using top quality, locally produced ingredients. Vegetarian alternative available. Parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wedgewood House

Address: 42 St. Stephens Road, Norwich NR1 3RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Price Range: RM404 - RM488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wedgewood House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Wedgewood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wedgewood House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3 was large,comfortable,and although at front of house we found traffic noise not an issue and slept well”
 of 5 bubbles Johnbaynes, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rm 5 has a slow shower due to water pressure, but the water is hot.”
 of 5 bubbles 254christine, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are way from the road”
 of 5 bubbles blowfish, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 large room”
 of 5 bubbles pauliner413, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are fabulous even the ones at the front on the road”
 of 5 bubbles mandalunap, 8 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5