We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Oak

Hotels.comUS$98*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Oak
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Oak
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The review written in 11 May below is very actuate. I had the same room and the same issues In desperate need of modernising. My room was over the bar and you could hear people below. Also there were bright pub light right outside my window. Not value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niall M
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived at 8pm, just as the kitchen had closed, but they welcomed us in, and cooked a fantastic Sunday lunch, at great value. The Yorkshire pudding especially was so gooooood! Great staff, and good food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timuslloyd
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review I'm so happy you enjoyed your visit and we were able to fit you in just as we finished service. Your comments have been passed onto the team and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future Thanks Mat Country Village Inns

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just returned from a overnight stay in room 3 and had a few problems.1.The room is at the front and has a lovely aspect but the windows were filthy! 2.The matress on the bed was well past its sell by date.3 The bathroom door wouldn't close fully which made the drip drip of the toilet cistern most sleep destroying!4.A hand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review I'm so sorry we didn't meet with your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback Is important to us and it has been passed onto the team to investigate. We hope that you try us again in the near future Thanks Mat Country Village Inns

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful place and the food was lovely and good value for money. We were a fairly big table which meant they opened a closed section to cater for us which was nice. However, the guy serving us seemed annoyed that he was serving a large group and seem quite intolerant to our request for extra bread rolls!! It made us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachaelk937
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review I'm sorry you didn't quite experience what we aim to deliver. Your feedback and comments have been passed onto the team to investigate and resolve. We hope that you try us again in the near future Thanks Mat Country Village Inns

Whitwell
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights while visiting the area. Our room was very comfortable, so ok it isn't the lap of luxury but for the cheapest room in town very good. We had breakfast both mornings which was excellent. We also had an evening meal which was lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ducati749r
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon Thanks Mat Country Village Inns

Tingley
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Wet day with family popped in to the Oak for lunch Friendly welcome even with Baby and pushchair Great service and superb lunch . Roast chicken for me , succulent and tasty other party members had steak and kidney pie which was described as delicious. We arrived early and got a great table and within an hour or so the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrisbBakon
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review i'm so happy you enjoyed your visit and your kind words and comments will be passed onto the team. We hope to see you again soon Thanks Mat Country Village Inns

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at The Royal Oak. Staff were very welcoming and friendly throughout our stay. Room was ok (room 5) but shower was awful as it was just a trickle rather than a shower. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Would stay here again but would ask for a different room because of the shower. Settle is a beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tricia T
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review I appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. Your comments have been passed onto the team. Our rooms are due a refurbishment very soon so we are hopeful that the little niggles will be resolved Thanks Mat Country Village Inns

Reviewed 26 March 2017

The staff were very helpful, the breakfast was outstanding, the room was very nice with a comfortable bed. The hotel is in a very nice area and I would recommend this place to anyone around the area. Very happy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret D
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review i'm so happy you enjoyed your visit and your feedback has been passed onto the team Thanks Mat Country Village Inns

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Had a great stay at the Royal Oak Mat,Sophie,Tracey made us very welcome we really enjoy'd the live band what was on good choice . Jimmy was well happy with them . slept very well bed comfy just a shame shower slow but wont stop us coming back thank you for the drink Sophie you didn't have to. good breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _kathfromthestar
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

HI Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit to us. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team and we hope to see you again soon Thanks Mat Country Village Inns

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Staying near Settle last week on our walking holiday in the Yorkshire Dales, we went into the town one evening for a meal. We plumped for the Royal Oak, which turned out to be a great choice. It was a quiet Monday, so we had no problems getting a table in the spacious dining area. The interior has a very...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Steve W
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review We are so happy you enjoyed your visit and your comments have been passed onto the team. We hope to see you again soon when your next in the area Thanks Mat Country Village Inns

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.1 km away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
467 reviews
0.7 km away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
312 reviews
1.7 km away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
568 reviews
9.2 km away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
500 reviews
2.7 km away
Littlebank Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of the picturesque North Yorkshire market town of Settle the Royal Oak is a must on everyone’s itinerary when visiting the area. The Royal Oak offers a fresh looking country inn packed with character and ambience. Our professional team is ready to greet you and take away your daily stresses ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: Market Sq, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Price Range: RM359 - RM450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Settle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Oak staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“very good place to stay.”
_kathfromthestar, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were in a room facing the main street was not noisy view of the market square - all rooms in use on the first floor - no lift.”
740neill, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 doesn't have the best Wifi Connection.”
redsterfootball, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
bfitzm, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay overnight”
colnagokid04, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$98* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
TripAdvisorUS$98
Orbitz.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates