We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$74*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$74*
US$74*
US$74*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

992 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 991: English reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

This is the 5th year my friends & I have stayed for the Goth weekend. Have always been happy to come back & have to say that this last visit had even improved from last year . We stay half board & the quality was very good. Think they have a new chef....all the meals we had were tasty, well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgygirl07
VickiGlen, Assistant Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Georgygirl07, It is so nice to read your kind and positive review, I so pleased you enjoyed yet another Goth weekend here with us. I shall be sure to pass you kind comments onto Karen, Chris and our chef’s who are all the same as previous years. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the...

Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Our second stay at this charming hotel Lovely sea view room (303) great view of abbey and harbour Staff v friendly and helpful Food was fabulous and waiting staff very attentive The only negative was a broken lift which was waiting for parts which meant it took longer to carry your luggage to car but on the positive side you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
VickiGlen, Assistant Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sue T, Thank you for your review, firstly I would like to apologise for the lift being out of order during your stay and for the inconvenience this may have caused you during stay / departure morning. It’s so nice to read good positive feedback like this. It is clear from your review that once again you enjoyed your...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2015

great staff always friendly and helpful when you need them, rooms clean and tidy ,good views. Vicky as usual was friendly and polite just what a manager should be. food was ok, bar prices are very reasonable and bar staff friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin L
VickiGlen, Assistant Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kelvin L, Thank you for the 5 star review, it was lovely welcoming you back here with us again. I shall pass your kind comments onto Vicki and look forward to seeing you again in April. Heidi Franklin Assistant Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2015

having spent days in Whitby in the Royal hotel have to say it was very enjoyable. The food was very nice the room was comfortable could do with new beds and maybe a new lift very noisy door banging when your trying to sleep, would recommend getting a sea view room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gillw844
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

We love to receive a 5* review so thank you. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. the lift repairs are in hand and should be completed within the next month. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon. Vicki Glen General Manager

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Just returned from a weekend break , traveled to the hotel with shearings, we was in room 312, stayed in this room before , nice room ,but is in need of update in, lovely view from room a cross to the abbey ! All staff we came across friendly ,our room was cleaned and done lovely by , ever so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann T
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your 5* review. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. I couldn’t agree more there is a fab view from room 312. I will be sure to pass your comments to all of the team especially Lorraine, Heidi and our Mr Conroy. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Vicki Glen General Manager

Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

We love Whitby and have visited a lot of times but this is the first time we have stayed over. The staff at the royal are friendly and helpful. The food was ok!. The view was amazing. The room was...... Expensive,damp,out dated,not clean. But having said that I will go back because I loved it! I don't know why I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuartcharles1
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your first stay with us and would choose to stay with us again. I’ll look into your comments regarding the room and take action where needed. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon. Vicki Glen General Manager

Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2015

This hotel obviously needs money spending on it;there is a variety of room quality throughout the hotel.So go there by all means but be warned.We really like the state of the it, it's real & lived in!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. I’m pleased to see that you found your stay to be value for money. We have refurbished a large number of our rooms over the past couple of years with more due to start next month. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon. Vicki Glen General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2015

we have travelled with Shearings to many places, even abroad but this was by far the worst hotel.we've stayed at. on booking the holiday we specifically asked for a room near the lift as i unfortunately have heart and lung problems.On checking into our room we were upset to find that it was down a corridor from the lift, through...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank dellasmith
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you were clearly disappointed with aspects of your stay. I have spoken with our Customer Care department regarding your letter and they will be in touch shortly. I would rather not go into detail here due to the inaccuracies between the letter and the review. If you wish to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact...

Abersoch
Reviewed 19 October 2015

The hotel is tired dirty and in desperate need of full refurbishment. The 1st room we were put in was small , cold and damp. It had water damage to nearly 1/4 of the ceiling. We were moved into another room were the hair dryer caught fire. I took it down to reception and they said they would sort out...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lesmarhar
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015

excellent room on the front wonderful view of the bay and abbey amazing view of sunsets and sunrising comfortable beds lovely soft towels friendly helpful staff very good food great entainment when we stayed all round lovely few days stay Thank You To All The Staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey O
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your kind comments to all the team. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal in the not too distant future. Vicki Glen General Manager

276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (266)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.8 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,964 reviews
0.5 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#16 of 20 in Whitby
205 reviews
3.9 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
781 reviews
0.2 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#9 of 20 in Whitby
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Price Range: RM434 - RM780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Royal Whitby Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Royal Whitby Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed on the third floor room 204 and it has a lovely view of the Abbey but all rooms are ok with a sea view”
187062Sandra, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Be aware that if you have limited mobility there is only one lift that holds 4 people and is also used as a service lift .”
PJandLyn, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Definitely pay extra for a sea view. The rooms at the back over look the car park and the rear of other buildings.”
palmeam, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for a sea view, its well worth it.”
colinhomes, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Sea views are obviously better but I consider expensive”
14Geoff, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$74* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$74
TravelocityUS$74
Orbitz.comUS$74
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates