We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Woodside Villa

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Woodside Villa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Woodside Villa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 93: English reviews
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016

very nice hotel first time in whitby plenty to do and eat .rooms are simple but very comfey.plenty of bars very close .if you dont like walking up hills its not for you .went to a indian restaurant the service was rubish very waiterd over a hour to get a meal after ordering very poor service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KENNYTHECUE
Jalapenowhitby, Owner at Woodside Villa, responded to this review

Thank you Kenny for your lovely review, I am sure ur potential guests will note your comments about the restaurant!

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely stay here last night! On arrival we were able to park and was greeted warmly and shown around and through to our room. The place is really lovely and clean. Decorated fully throughout tastefully and of immense attention-to-detail. It felt as if the owner, Sherrie (or Sherry?), has a real eye for detail. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mattsand0
Jalapenowhitby, Owner at Woodside Villa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review, we really appreciated the feedback!

Reviewed 16 March 2016

room was good king size bed only thing we found was the steep walk to get to it but we found a bus stop just below the accomadation which was handy the lady who owned the villa was nice nothing to much trouble

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrs susan j
Jalapenowhitby, Owner at Woodside Villa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our guest house!

Reviewed 28 February 2016

Stayed at the Woodside Villa for two nights.Rooms are amazing, clean, comfortable and full of antique pieces. Not your run of the mill B&B. Breakfast is home cooked and plentiful, catering for vegetarians. Sherrie is a great, welcoming host. Nothing apeared too much trouble. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Whitby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
Jalapenowhitby, Owner at Woodside Villa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review!

Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay. My wife booked it for Valentines, and we were both so pleased she did. I don't think I have been anywhere as welcoming as this. Rooms are fantastic . Breakfast is all quality. Not supermarket Sherrie really can't do enough for you. Will be going back soon. P.S. You really have to try the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Action101
Jalapenowhitby, Owner at Woodside Villa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review

United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2016

The B&B is in a good location and is simple clean and tidy. However, we were disappointed with a few things over the course of our stay. Firstly, having the only room downstairs we could hear everything that was going on as it was situated right next to the stairs, front door and dining room!......So don't expect a lie in!!!....And...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daisy C
Jalapenowhitby, Owner at Woodside Villa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are addressing your issues.

Reviewed 13 January 2016

Hesitant to make this place public knowledge as I would be gutted if my husband and I couldn't get in when we next want to visit but seems unfair to keep it to myself. Woodside Villa is wonderful, the rooms are decorated with the utmost of elegance and style and make the perfect setting for a romantic weekend away. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
Jalapenowhitby, Owner at Woodside Villa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review

Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Woodside Villa for a couple of nights during our mini break to Whitby. We stayed in the Edwardian bridal suite - the room was massive, well decorated and the bed was so comfy! A lot of care and attention to detail had clearly gone into the room! Breakfast was delicious, and we were offered more food until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeanneV23
Reviewed 29 August 2015

My wife and I had a lovely 2 night stay at the Woodside in July. We received a warm and friendly welcome from Sherrie and her sons. Parking isn't great but that,s a common problem in Whitby, however we were advised to park for free on a street a couple of minutes walk away. We stayed in the ground floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RossoCol
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

Just spent the weekend here and it was lovely. We had the bridal suite which is huge and we'll worth the money. The bed was very comfortable. The little nik naks in the room are lovely. The breakfast was very nice and it is only a 5 min walk into Whitby centre. The Hill is a bit of a killer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo C

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 km away
Esklet Guest House
Esklet Guest House
#92 of 151 in Whitby
120 reviews
1.0 km away
Riftswood B&B
Riftswood B&B
#11 of 151 in Whitby
288 reviews
0.7 km away
The Granby
The Granby
#112 of 151 in Whitby
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 151 in Whitby
336 reviews
0.4 km away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#50 of 151 in Whitby
167 reviews
1.0 km away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#19 of 151 in Whitby
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boutique Guest House close to Whitby town centre, with some on site parking. Romantic comfortable rooms with tv, DVD, cd player, hair dryers and dressing gowns provided. Complimentary toiletries, hospitality tray, everything you would expect and more. A full English breakfast to ensure a good start to your day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Woodside Villa

Address: 16 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Price Range: RM417 - RM569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodside Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Woodside Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Woodside Villa staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Whitby
11 months ago
Whitby

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Woodside Villa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had rococo room top floor very quiet”
A3126DLrobertj, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“We had the Rococo room and it was lovely”
sarahdewsnap, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rococo Room is on the top floor but is beautiful.”
JessieBP, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“ask for room of off main road . ask for onsuit room.”
KENNYTHECUE, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“we had room on ground floor good size”
mrssusanj, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Orbitz.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates