We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hilton York

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton York
Hilton York
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton York
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,383: English reviews
South West
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

I don't even know how to start! This was my 2nd visit to a Hilton and most certainly will not be staying in any of their hotels again! We arrived at 4 o'clock because traffic and the weather were awful so it did take us a lot longer then planed, no signs for the valet parking so I had to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TerryLan123
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear TerryLan123, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on this website. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we sincerely apologise for the disappointment with your stay. We will be sure to take your comments about our property under consideration as we re-evaluate guest needs and continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will...

Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

The Hilton was most definitely not worth the money we paid to stay here. The quality of the rooms let us down greatly for they were small and crammed. Furthermore, the staff were unorganised and unhelpful. On arrival we were supposed to have a gift hamper and platter of fresh fruit for they were paid for with the room booking,...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Siân T
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Siân T, Thank you for your review following your visit to Hilton York. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the areas our services failed to deliver to your expectations. I sincerely hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future where I am positive we can show...

State of Sao Paulo
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

This is a good hotel in a good location - walking distance to most major touristic attractions in York. However, it does not meet the usual Hilton standards.The room is rather small and the furniture, albeit not functional, takes up most of its space - so much so that the only way we were able to make our luggage fit...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MariaJamile
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear MariaJamile, Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Hilton York. Pleased to read you enjoyed our central location for exploring York and found my team to be most friendly and polite. I am proud of them all as they work extremely hard delivering great customer service. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in...

London, England
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

Returned for a short stay and disappointed to see the hotel had not improved from last visit in 2014. Friendly check in but our non smoking room reeked of smoke and we had to change immediately. Do the housekeeping team not report to management when a room has been mis-used? No one came to see for themselves. The hotel felt...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ilovetotravel21
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Ilovetotravel21, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I would like to apologise for the fact that you did not feel that it was of a standard that you would expect from Hilton. Your comments are invaluable to us as they will help us to avoid a recurrence and to improve our service...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2015

We loved the location of the hotel and that it takes guests with pets. The hotel was very good, the staff were friendly, very accommodating and efficient. The room was nice, clean and comfortable with a nice view and the restaurant food was delicious (well done, chef!). The breakfast buffet was as expected and overall we enjoyed the stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie M
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Lizzie M, Thank you for your five star review. It is a pleasure to receive such great feedback. Delighted you enjoyed our location and found my team most friendly and efficient. I have passed your comments on to my team especially the Head Chef and his department as it is great to receive such complimentary feedback. We look forward...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Broken Plug in the shower which at 1am after getting there was a pain. Promptly fixed next morning but wasnt offered another room for my stay. Wifi was also intermittent on 3 devices. But the stay was awesome overall, Room was comfy, staff were friendly, Breakfast was great. Service at 1am was awesome and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samuel P
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Samuel P, Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay. Pleased to read you had a great stay and found the room comfy and my team friendly. I am sorry to learn of the issue regarding the plug but happy that my team fixed it straight away the next morning. I hope we have the opportunity to...

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

I booked 2 rooms for daughters graduation. One of the rooms was not available when we arrived but we were upgraded for free. Our room was very nice (if small) but had air-con which was needed on a hot weekend. The room for my son and daughter was larger, but with no air-con was very stuffy. Rooms were well sound...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jakubowm
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Jakubowm, Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor, both positive and developmental. Pleased to learn that my team upgraded you and you enjoyed the breakfast. Unfortunately conditioning is only available in our Deluxe rooms, however we do provide fans in all rooms to help maintain a more comfortable temperature. Your feedback is much appreciated and thank you for...

Suffolk
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Next to Castle but parking charge of £18 per night added. Park right outside hotel on double yellow lines in busy road, unload if you can find a spot and hand keys to reception for valet parking. Disclaimer notice required for car which possibly invalidates insurance! Excellent breakfast and service. Ask for a high room at front for views to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weemick
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear weemick, Thank you for your review following your stay at Hilton York. Pleased to read that overall you had a good time and enjoyed our great Hilton breakfast and views of Cliffords Tower. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Martin Bradnam Hotel Manager

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2015

went here for 2 days in July and i was disappointed as i expected THE HILTON as one of the best hotels around i found nothing here better than the premier inn. The bedrooms are warm and comfortable and they were clean but the food i thought was nothing like what i expected i had a salmon starter which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrewg10_12
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Andrewg10_12, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following you recent stay. I would like to apologise for the fact that you did not feel that your visit was of a standard that you would expect from Hilton Hotels. Your comments regarding the food have been noted and passed on to the Head Chef for his...

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Booked me and the wife for a three day break,lovely view looking over clifford tower the room was very clean,comfordable but could do with updating.The staff were fantastic could not do enough for you there were great.the hotel is in a great location parked the car in the hotel did not get it out tell we left everthing to see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlieR073
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear CharlieR073, Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay at Hilton York. Delighted to learn you had a great three day break and enjoyed our central location and lovely views of Clifford's Tower. I am pleased that you would recommend the Hilton York and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind...

434 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (291)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Other (124)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (105)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Family Room (23)
Viewed
Suite (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (10)
Viewed
Twin Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.7 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton York

Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: RM482 - RM1,199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton York staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure if there are any nice rooms here!”
 of 5 bubbles EmmaF596, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the front offer the best views. We had rooms at the back of the hotel which looked onto the kitchen roof.”
 of 5 bubbles mak15381, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check in online 24 hours before stay and you can choose your room/ floor of choice.”
 of 5 bubbles Nick_J55, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book a room overlooking Cliffords Tower - worth the extra money as the room is much bigger and beds larger,”
 of 5 bubbles tankgirl25, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles LandJ1526, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay