We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hilton York

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hilton York
Hilton York
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,500 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton York
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,453: English reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We stayed in double deluxe with a balcony. Ideally located near york castle museum. Clifford tower is what you are looking at. Very efficient staff ...prompt check in. Excellent welcome pack. Room was spotless and very comfortable. Suggest. . Bistro table and chair on balcony. It was a deal with evening dinner. We were not impressed with the limited choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kazzi25
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Kazzi25, Many thanks for your five star review. Thank you for complimenting the hotel location, the team on their first class service, and room quality. Acknowledgements such as yours are a great motivation to us and it is indeed a pleasure for me to note that overall you enjoyed the Hilton York experience. Your comments regarding the quality of...

Dublin
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

I regularly stay here on business when in York and have yet to have a bad nights sleep. It's in a great location under the tower and a stones throw from this fantastic city with a few great restaurants. I have found that prices go u and down and dinner is average at best In the hotel bar but it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niall S
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Niall S, Many thanks for your kind comments following your stay at Hilton York. I am happy to hear you enjoy your stays with us and I’m pleased that you are extremely satisfied with our location. Your comments regarding wifi have been noted and we are currently investigating this small issue to make sure all our guests have good...

UK
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

A balcony room which boasted a stand alone shower and a bath looking out over the 'castle ' was small but clean and tidy and comfortable . It had a small balcony over the front door and called itself the 'Rockingham Room' to no doubt give it a 'special ' feel . It wasn't and certainly was not worth £245...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank imhonot
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear imhonot, Thank you for your comments on your experience at our hotel. I would like to apologise for the fact that you did not feel your stay was of a standard that you would expect from Hilton Hotels. At Hilton York we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected and your feedback will help...

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015

We stayed for 2 nights Friday and Saturday and even though we were in the centre of a very busy city with lots of hen a stag parties going on the hotel itself was quiet and comfortable. I'm not a big fan of buffet breakfasts but considering the number of people that had to be served the breakfasts were quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy W
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Timothy W, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at Hilton York. Delighted to read you had a good stay and found our central location quiet and great for walking round the lovely city of York. Should your travels bring you back to the area I hope we have the opportunity to welcome...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

The good. Lots of friendly foreign staff eager to serve and help you. They're busy but they'll still give you the time of day with a smile. The breakfast was exactly the thing to set you up for a days walking around the city - and there's a lot to walk to in York! They whisk your car away from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark0381
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Mark0381, Thank you for your positive feedback of Hilton York Hotel. It is really rewarding to receive such kind comments about our hosts and the service they deliver, which I will be sure to pass on to them all. I am pleased that we left such a positive impression on your stay and also appreciate your feedback regarding our...

Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

Firstly we were greeted at reception by a gentleman behind the desk, he was lovely and very helpful (couldn't see his badge so don't know his name). Room was spotless with the robes, towels and bed linen smelling so fresh and lovely! The only fault was that the pressure in the shower was extremely low so showering was a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurenkaty1988
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Laurenkaty1988, Thank you for your five star review. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for recommending Hilton York and we can't wait to have you back to stay with us again in the near future. Kind regards, Martin Bradnam Hotel Manager

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Good location, good service and good nights sleep - the only down side is the hotel doesn't have on site parking as such and a car valet system operates which is ok but if you are nipping in and out its a real issue as your car has to be brought up from the bowels of the earth and you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swift314
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear swift314, Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay. Pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and had great service from my dedicated team. Your comments regarding the car park have been noted and we will be reviewing the situation when peak times occur with the Front Office Manager to make sure all guests cars are...

Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

You only pay for the name! At just under 400 for 2 nites 2 people was just the same as a premier inn which are lovely if its the same price also ! No air con was red hot to try and sleep bathroom awful 2 beds in our room ... No need ... No space also car parking £18...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Leanne C
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Leanne C, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed that we have not been able to fulfil your expectations of what you have come to expect from Hilton Hotels. Our deluxe rooms have air conditioning and we do provide fans in all our other rooms to make sure that...

yorkshire
Reviewed 7 September 2015

W e stayed at this hotel for one night on 6th sept to celebrate my birthday and our 19th wedding anniversary. we booked a suite which came with free Wi-Fi a basket with slippers , fruit, water, wine, chocolate and a view of Clifford's tower and dressing gowns. We arrived at the hotel early and were told we could leave...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YorkshireBadger
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear YorkshireBadger, Thank you for your five star review and congratulations on your wedding anniversary and birthday. I am delighted to read that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the suite with the extra amenities. Pleased to learn that my team went above and beyond to rectify the teething problems and 'made it right' for your stay. Once again,...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

Had a very pleasant stay here. Excellent central location. Valet parking at £18 , I thought was reasonable and very convenient. Great English breakfast. Overall a great hotel only downside for me was a few small things in the room seemed a little dated - my towel had 2 small holes in it! Not something I would expect at a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simong90
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear simong90, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad you had a pleasant stay and found our location and property to be excellent and certainly enjoyed our great Hilton Breakfast with plenty of choices for everyone. Your comments in reference to the towels have been passed on to my...

442 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (299)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Other (131)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (105)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Family Room (23)
Viewed
Suite (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (10)
Viewed
Twin Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.7 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
939 reviews
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton York

Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: RM451 - RM1,079 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton York staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“king room overlooking city”
 of 5 bubbles johncW848SC, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a tower view”
 of 5 bubbles cmcManchester, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The room with the view of the tower is very good”
 of 5 bubbles robw317, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were on the first floor which was ideal”
 of 5 bubbles 491malcolmp, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“De-luxe twin or doubles on a high floor if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles ossiejolly, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay