We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel

Show Prices
#22 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,198: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel
 Click to rate
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for a weekend to see friends in York and go to the theatre checking in was really easy and quick food was good and the service in the lounge and excellent the room was comfortable and spacious and nothing is too much trouble for the helpful friendly staff we asked for them to arrange a taxi and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulvK3247HP
Hampshire
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We visited here for a short break and were pleased with our choice. From the moment of booking to end of our visit the staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. We asked for a quiet room and had one at the back. It was light airy and clean. We enjoyed the breakfast and bar meals. The public rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenHampshire
nottingham
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed at The Pavilion Hotel for two nights checking in on the 16th March. Check in was very efficient, we were allocated room 10 . Our room was large , comfortable very well equipped and decorated very tastefully . During our time at the hotel which is a short distance from the centre of York we used a combination...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drfoxy1966
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A very relaxing place to stay, car park to the rear. The rooms has with all best western hotel are different. The layout is very homely , warm and welcoming.... A place to chill.did not use the restaurant but appeared to be busy. Couple of pubs near by for Sky sports and pool.( locals are welcoming )just over a mile...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BMorriss
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is friendly and quaint. Good value overall and really great staff. The only problem was the noise - we were placed directly above a wedding and left tired. Apparently if you email ahead they can try and allocate quieter rooms which I would suggest. The hotel is fairly old though and noise can be heard generally throughout the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kel_London1
Irene C, Owner at BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kel - Many thanks for your review although I was disappointed that you were placed over the wedding celebrations. I do insist that all music stops at midnight so that all our guests can get a good night's sleep. I do hope that is what happened the night you stayed with us. I was glad to read that my...

Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently chose the York Pavilion Hotel for a 5 night visit to York. The hotel is in an ideal position, south of the city centre but within a 30 minute walk or a 5 minute bus ride (buses pass the hotel every 10 minutes). The hotel has ample free car parking, with unlimited on-street parking if necessary if there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
Irene C, Owner at BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Colin - Many thanks for your lovely email and I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that my team made you very welcome. It is difficult to get Chefs to understand - well-done and crisp - when it applies to bacon, it's just the way I love it but still after 30 years it doesn't...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. Well located with a lovely walk of around 30 minutes by the river into the town. Good food and friendly staff. Lots of nice homely touches all around the hotel. Excellent value for money and would definitely book again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnblue186460
Irene C, Owner at BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John - I was delighted to read your review and I was delighted that you had a great stay with us recently. Personally I agree with you - the best of both worlds, close to the fabulous City of York yet set in grounds and gardens on the outskirts! I was glad that my team made you very welcome....

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked to go for an afternoon tea for an early mother's day outing in January. There was an offer on £20 for two. There was six of us in our party; some with dietary requirements. I checked that the restaurant could accommodate us all and what they could offer us. This was all written down in the diary. On...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samira6569
Irene C, Owner at BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Samira - I was sorry that you didn't enjoy your afternoon tea with us earlier this year - I have checked the diary but cannot unfortunately find any reference to special requests. Our Chefs are very flexible and we offer six options for sandwiches so it was a shame none of them suited. A member of the restaurant team...

Scunthorpe
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel with friendly staff. Ample off road parking.Good location with city centre bus stop opposite.Unfortunately the breakfast was not up to standard with inferior quality sausage and undercooked mushrooms. However we would definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q3683TTjaneb
Irene C, Owner at BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane, Many thanks for your review and I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, although very disappointed that the quality of sausage and mushrooms wasn't good enough - I have spoken with Chef who apologies sincerely. When you come back next time I promise it will be perfect. I was so pleased that you enjoyed your...

Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently attended a wedding here. It is such a lovely and serene place. The reception was well put together and the staff were really helpful and polite. The food served throughout the event was delicious and there was a wide choice of drinks available. Overall a really lovely experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SSowden
Irene C, Owner at BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review and I was delighted that you enjoyed a Wedding Day here recently and that my team made you very welcome. Our Chefs were thrilled that you enjoyed the food throughout and we were so pleased that you had a really lovely experience! Many thanks for the great review - Kind regards Irene Cossins

396 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (167)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (201)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
King Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with King Size Bed (23)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)
Viewed
The Knoll Apartment (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
2.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
2.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel
6.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
4.0 km away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
1,026 reviews
2.4 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street, York YO10 4PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: RM393 - RM831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Orbitz, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HRS, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
east lothian
3 months ago
Rome, Italy
over a year ago
England, United Kingdom
England, United Kingdom

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there is no lift so if you have mobility problems ask for a ground floor room”
 of 5 bubbles paulvK3247HP, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“My room was at the back of the hotel and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles jhnewenterprise, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles cphook, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great .The Hotel also offers some outside lodges.”
 of 5 bubbles 436keithr, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Number 24 is a wet room type of bathroom. We had the same room twice, It is a quiet room toward the rear of the hotel on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles mikechalmers1947, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5